We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dalt Murada

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dalt Murada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dalt Murada
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle Almudaina 6-A, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain (Cort)   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked a superior room and a suite and were surprised at how big they were. Yes, there are a few minor decorative issues but the charm and character outweigh them. The paintings and furniture are family antiques and you feel that you have been transported back in time and that you are welcome to the grand family home. The hotel is tucked away down a narrow street which made it a quiet hotel to stay for being in the heart of the city. The staff were very accommodating and recommended a good itinerary. I would just say that the breakfast could be a little more exciting considering the rating of the hotel but otherwise we had a really pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The courtyard superior room was very private and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    49
    13
    15
    7
See reviews for
21
81
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We loved the Dalt Murada, it is in a quiet location close to the cathedral. It is traditionally Spanish with a lovely courtyard where breakfast is served. Our room was very comfortable with two large antique beds and lots of old fashioned paintings which make it very charming, unlike a faceless chain hotel. It was a pleasure to have a jacuzzi bath and the air conditioning was very effective. The staff were friendly and helpful, giving us restaurant recommendations and advice. The choice at breakfast could be better but considering the price we paid for our stay I think this is a great hotel and we would love to go back.

Room Tip: Our room facing the courtyard was very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSM
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

It's true a wonderful location it is,but comfort is not high on their list. Our room had paint peeling off the walls and ceilings as well as several brown damp patches. We were not given any information on arrival as to where we could get a coffee,what time breakfast was served,and generally did not feel very welcome. I would be careful when booking as it's not the cheapest either. Palma is a great,vibrant city and we will be going back,but not here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigmore, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I chose the Dalt Murada because it was reasonable in price, in a great location and in addition was quirky,typically Mallorcan and not a faceless hotel. It turned out to be a good decision, you can walk anywhere from here and it is right near the cathedral. You can catch a No 1 bus at the airport which drops you 10 min from the hotel. If you ask the hotel they will tell you which stop to get off at, it costs 2.50 euros each rather than 30 euros for a taxi. We picked up a rental car later to view the rest of the island as driving in those streets and parking would be tricky! The rooms are ok, they are certainly not boutique style but adequate with character, bathrooms again not state of the art but ok. There is a lovely little roof terrace overlooking the Cathedral to sit and watch the sun go down. The corridors are very atmospheric with antiques and paintings. Lots of places nearby to eat and have breakfast. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as we preferred to sit in a neraby square and watch the world go by!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the cathedral
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We really like this hotel, which is tucked away in a side street in the centre of Palma, not far from the cathedral. Even our taxi driver had trouble finding it, but he persisted till he did.

It's rather old-fashioned, filled with some impressive antique furniture, which adds to its charm for us. From our room we could see the top of the cathedral, and you get a better view of the cathedral from the roof terrace. Breakfast was good - cheeses, meats, pastries, fruit, yoghourt, juice and very strong coffee! If it's warm enough you can dine in the hidden courtyard, shaded by mature lime and lemon trees, and a huge hibiscus that reaches all the way up to the 2nd floor.

You couldn't ask for a better location, we were able to walk to most places, with plenty of tapas bars to choose from in the evening. It's near Placa Santa Eulalia, where we had a coffee one morning, admiring the church. Would definitely go back for a third visit.

Room Tip: We had room 203, which was huge, more of a suite, and overlooked the patio garden where you have bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The only real positive about this hotel from my experience was its position, being so central in Palma is a real benefit. Unfortunately the good aspects stop there.

Customer service was poor, we were checked in and shown to our room with minimal interaction, no information about the hotel or facilities i.e the roof terrace and no info about breakfast, times, price, where served etc.

We were 2 female travellers so had requested a twin room. Room 303 is not mentioned or photographed in any of the hotel literature as it is very small, the walls thin therefore making it rather noisy and poorly furnished.

I am aware that the hotel prides itself on characterful Mallorcan antiques etc but exposed wirses were evident behind the light fittings and there was no storage in the room. A cupboard had a hanging rail but no shelving and the bedside cabinets were just that,with 2 very small drawers -enough to hold a book and glass of water.

The bathroom didn't have the whirlpool bath that is mentioned in the literature, instead, a shower that didn't engage with the attachment on the wall. Admittedly though the bathroom appeared new although the toilet rocked when sat on but it was clean.
Amenitites -a mini bar, a safe to pay for by the day and a very neglected roof terrace -not like the pictures I guarantee!

We didn't have breakfast but looking at what was on offer, weren't missing out.

I realise it's all very well complaining about these things on the review website so we approached the chap at reception about the price we had paid for a very small room in the hotel. We were informed that that was the price in Palma in Summer and that the hotel was full.

All in all a very disappointing stay with what was billed as an excellent hotel.
We will not be returning!

Room Tip: Not room 303!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Not easy to find and don't attempt to bring a car anywhere near. However this means its right in the centre of Palma historic district. 100 yards from Paliament, 200 yards from Cathedral and Royal Palace. An old hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Room OK with a huge Jacuzzi! Breakfasts fine in old courtyard. Don't be afraid to use public transport.........buses are very cheap and user friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Dalt Murada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dalt Murada

Address: Calle Almudaina 6-A, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca > Cort
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dalt Murada 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Dalt Murada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dalt Murada Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dalt Murada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.