We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing old-world charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Araxa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Araxa Hotel to your Saves list
Araxa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Pilar Juncosa 22, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Gatwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A relaxing old-world charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Based in a quiet leafy suburb just outside Palma city centre, this hotel is great for business people or romantic couples. It is not really a family/resort destination.

It is close to the waterfront (5 minutes walk) and the famous Palma cathedral (20 minutes walk) and there are loads of traditional Spanish restaurants just a few minutes away.

The pool is clean and the garden deceptively spacious and creatively well maintained. You can choose to dine at the inside restaurant or outside on the adjoining or pool terraces. Food was served all day and from what I observed and tried, the quality and presentation was 4 star at a minimum.

I absolutely cannot fault this hotel, clean, well appointed with all the usual facilities, friendly and with a old-world Spanish charm. Unsurprising when we figured out that it was run by three generations of the same family who all live on site.

Room Tip: Try to secure poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    69
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
38
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

we stayed there for three days during our visit to Palma and we never regret of staying there, although I thought that 3 stars hotel is a bit risky taking into consideration the 4stars hotels we stayed in Barcelona in the last visit, below the pros and cons:
Cons: The hotel is basic, away from the Marina for about 15 minutes walking. The pool is small and its damn cold so no water management in place.
Pros: calm, very clean and nice staff.

I do recommend it if you are a family seeking relaxation, while I don't recommend it for couples/individuals seeking fun and late hrs parties.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

In May 2013 I stayed here in a group of 10 women aged between 40 - 70 and initially our stay was very pleasant, clean large rooms, helpful staff, good breakfast, great gym etc. However, a theift occured in one of our party's rooms of some jewelery and perfume, although the room had not been broken into.

The lady concerned was obviously distressed and asked for help from reception to report this theift to the police. The man on reception did his best to call the police but kept saying that no one was answering the phone! After quite some time, he got another number from the mangager and got through and then gave us instructions to go to the police station to file a report. The manager however, was just not interested and packed her bag to leave for the day.

I asked to speak to her and pointed out her lack of interest and said I was surprised that she didnt want to be more helpful. She shouted back that her staff had definately not carried out the theft (something she could not possibly know for sure) and that I was accusing them, she shouted that we should all have our possessions in the safe (a good point except who puts perfume in a safe??). She also said could we prove that she had in fact got those items in her room in the first place (why would we lie??) and then put her hand in my face and said she was not going to talk to me anymore and left the building.

So, in summary, if you stay here, expect a good comfortable stay, with very helpful staff. Oh, all except the manageress. And please put all of your posessions in the safe if you dont want them to be stolen - which means taking very little indeed! In the unfortunate event of a theft, please expect for it to be your fault and if this manageress is on duty expect to be shouted at and it be all of your own stupid fault for daring to put your posessions in one of her rooms in the first place.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Araxa hotel is exactly as seen on the photographs and did not dissapoint in any way.Our room was overlooking the pool and garden area and was very well equipt,large bed,full bathroom(with bath )plenty of good quality towels and bedding (including a lightweight duvet which came in useful as it was a little chilly ).The breakfast was excelent with a good choice of hot and cold buffet,lovely pastries and plenty of choice in tea,coffee etc.All the staff were very pleasant especially the dining room staff who went out of their way to find us a table when there was a function on.A 3 course dinner was €16 and always offered a good variety of choice.The pool area and gardens are clean and sunbeds were always availiable,there is some noise from the local residents going about their daily bussiness but a holiday in a spanish city will never be quiet and having lived in Spain for many years we did not find it a problem .It only takes 10 to 15 mins walk to the paseo Maritimo and there are many eateries in the area to suit all tastes.All in all a perfect Hotel and a great base to discover Palma from .Should be more than 3*

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here in August 2012. We had a great stay here and although it is a 20 minute walk from the centre, it was great to walk off dinner and promenade into town. Also the open top bus comes close to the hotel so you can hop on and off off. Indeed, e walked to the castle and picked the tour bus up there.

The rooms are spacious and cool. Breakfast was excellent and we loved the freshness of the pool. The gardens surrounding the pool were well cared for and was an oasis of calm away from the centre.

Overall would recommend. My mum stayed here and recommended it to us. For the price you cannot got wrong.

Room Tip: Try to request a room overlooking the pool with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Best: Even the location is a bit far from the center of Palma, i like it because is very quite and private. The breakfast is good enough to be a 3 stars. Employees are professional. Is very clean and rooms are comfortables.
Worst: The pellows are really enoying. Rooms could be a bit noise.

Room Tip: Facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Bluntly, we would not normally have booked this Hotel. Without being a snob it is a three star and not that high in the list of hotels in the area. However it was booked with Airmiles and was the only realistic choice we had. We were very happily surprised. We took a taxi from the Airport and back. That took less than 20 minutes. The room was fine and clean, as was all the Hotel. The staff were all very pleasant. Yes you can get a bigger and better breakfast choice in a more expensive hotel, but there was still a good choice. There were the usual meats, eggs, cheese, tuna, some fruit, yoghurts, cereals and a variety of hot drinks, all self service. There are a couple of good restaurants nearby and the walk into town is only about 20 minutes and although we expected to use a taxi to at least come back to the hotel at night it was a very pleasant walk and we never did do that. We would both be very happy to go again. Remember that some complained about the poor Wi-Fi. We found this free Wi-Fi to be excellent in the Hotel. Only to be expected it was a little bit more difficult outside near the pool. Someone else complained the Reception Staff were surly. As stated above we found all the staff to be friiendly and helpful. The only complaint (and it is not really a complaint) is that pool was not heated. That certainly made for a bracing swim,but even I say if you want these little extras you will have to pay a lot more. Again we would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Araxa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Araxa Hotel

Address: C/ Pilar Juncosa 22, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#16 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#28 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Araxa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Araxa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Araxa Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Araxa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.