We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont think twice its alright” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Born

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Born to your Saves list
Hotel Born
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sant Jaume, 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“dont think twice its alright”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

In the heart of town.
Wonderful room on first floor overlooking courtyard .
Very typical and romantic.
Some good places to eat and drink straight down n turn right on alpuntadores. Also El Corte is just down the road on right
T

Room Tip: We stayed on first floor,lovely building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    132
    32
    18
    6
See reviews for
22
144
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a beautiful property located in the middle of historic Palma and walking distance to major sights. The location alone makes up for the worn hallway carpets, plastic plant décor and lack of elevators and other amenities. We had a third floor room with a nice courtyard view. The window shutters are designed to not close completely and we had no drapes to block outside light from filtering through the thin curtains, so we hung an extra blanket to darken the room. There was a small TV in a sitting area that could not be watched from the beds and there was no Wi-Fi in the room, but plenty of free signal in the lobby, breakfast room and terrace. The service was OK and the complimentary breakfast excellent. We really want to like this property more, but will stay somewhere else with room Wi-Fi, elevators and room safes if we return to Palma.

Room Tip: Bring blinders for better sleep. There are no elevators, no room safe boxes and no Wi-Fi in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I recently spent the weekend at the Born Hotel, having a little Autumn break with a female friend. The hotel is an old merchant's palace and reception is situated in the rather grand entrance hall, whilst there are lots of tables and chairs in the interior courtyard for having breakfast and sitting in the sun. Our bedroom was on the third floor, up quite a few steps, so this is not a hotel for those with limited mobility, but we were quite happy. The room was large, and the bathroom was clean. My bed linen was also very clean and the bed reasonably comfortable - I am very spoilt with my mattress at home so it's unfair to comment - as long as it's clean, I am happy. A simple buffet breakfast is served in a lower ground floor bar area, but you can take it outside if you like. I stay in a lot of hotels, often on business, and the Born Hotel has bags more character - it is not a faceless four-star - but a three-star with real warmth. All the staff were charming and helpful. Hotel Born is situated down an extremely quiet street, right next to the fantastic shopping area of Palma, but it was so quiet, we had an excellent night's sleep.

We recommend the local bar just up the road, called La Mirona - it's tiny, a cross-between a deli and a wine bar. We also visited, almost opposite the hotel, another bar, which is neither named nor signposted, which is extremely expensive, but it's where the smart set go - worth it for a very dry martini!

Room Tip: Rooms facing into the courtyard will, inevitably, suffer from hearing people scraping iron chairs ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Beautiful old palace hotel with a great location in the center of the old town. There was no elevator, but to us it was not a problem. We loved the buffet breakfast, and the ambiance of the interior patio. Located in a quiet street. We would definitely stay in this hotel in a future trip to Palma, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night in this beautiful old palace in the very hearth of Palma de Mallorca. Plenty of charm, large double bed and functional bathroom. A fantastic deal in this city. The breakfast offer (buffet) was fine, no frills but wonderful patio where to take it when warm enough.
The only minus were VERY loud maids|Room service arguing loudly from 7.30am-8am and suddenly started to clean corridors so early and decided to park everything front of our door... Impossible to sleep late...
Overall a very good hotel but that did sudden wake up mitigated the whole experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed for one night at the end of Aug, we had four nights in Puerto of pollensa, one in Palma and six in Cala Bona. The hotel was beautiful, the staff were very friendly, we had a room on the third floor overlooking the side street,very quiet at night, we slept like logs. We walked from the main bus station and stopped for lunch in a side street cafe. We walked to Belver castle, which was quite hard work as it was up lots of steps after the marina, it was also about 88 degrees! the castle was worth the visit, the tourist bus also stops there. We also went to the cathedral, The Ramblas and the whole of the centre of Palma. In the evening we went to a restaurant called the caveman, very nice. I had a seafood dish with the biggest prawns I've ever seen! The breakfast was brilliant, the coffee was lovely and sitting in the courtyard was wonderful. We had a great time.

Room Tip: We had a street room, it was quiet, even in Aug!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Took a while to find the hotel but when we did it was perfect. Up a lovely alleyway - quiet off the main drag but central for the city sights. Lovely authentic Spanish surroundings, no frills but perfect tranquility, lovely bedroom and the most magnificent breakfast in a very pretty courtyard. Highly recommend for a weekend break!

Room Tip: Overlooking the courtyard would be lovely but very noisy first thing in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Born

Address: Sant Jaume, 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Born 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Born reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Born Palma De Mallorca, Majorca
Born Hotel Palma De Mallorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Born, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.