We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Born! Fabulous Location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Born

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Born to your Saves list
Hotel Born
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sant Jaume, 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always Born! Fabulous Location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I´ve been to Palma 8 times and have always stayed at the Hotel Born. Originally I got it recommended by someone working in the travelling business. Great tip. It´s an 1500-century house redone into an hotel. I love the atmosphere, the beautiful backyard where I have my breakfast every morning, and some of the big rooms are regal! I can lay in bed and feel the palmtree at my feet! It`s located in the middle of the old city and you just flow out into the lovely feel of Palma! Great for shopping and culture and cafes. I travel by my own, with my husband or with friends. It works for them all. Especially whén I travel on my own its great because I can walk everywhere and feel safe within a relatively small part of Palma. Born always make me happy . Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Cant remember room number, but the big room straight ahead on the top of the stairs is heaven. Its a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    132
    32
    18
    6
See reviews for
22
144
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hotel Born is not the hotel we chose to stay in to our regret!
It is classed as a two star and online pictures does not do it any justice.
We came across the hotel by accident and it looks beautiful, very clean, in the heart of the city. We spoke to a member of staff in the hotel and told us that hotels are graded two star because there is not spa included! Had we known this we would have book with no hesitation!
I want everyone to know this and to book.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here at the end of April for 6 nights. Hotel Born is located in a great area near Passeig Born/C & A within walking distance of bars, shops and restaurants. Very easy and reasonable transfer from the airport on the airport bus line 1 to Passeig Mallorca's 2nd stop for 2.50 euros. On arrival at the hotel, we were, unfortunately allocated a room on the 4th floor, once again a reminder to everyone: there is NO LIFT. Nice modern room/en-suite with separate TV sitting room area overlooking the courtyard. Great not to have anyone above but we soon realised that the walls on this floor were rather thin, as disturbed at unsociable hours by noise in next room. After 3 nights, at our request, the reception staff happily allowed us to change rooms, which suited our requirements better. We found the staff to be friendly, informative and helpful. Free Wi-Fi connection, reception/breakfast room areas only, not in guest rooms. Ask at reception for password details. Breakfast was really good with everything you could possibly need to sustain you for a few hours! The young man in the breakfast room cheerfully made guests fresh coffee and also refreshed the breakfast buffet regularly. If you wished to eat breakfast in the courtyard then you would have to manage a short flight of stone, steepish stairs with your tray etc. as there is no waiter/waitress service. If your room overlooks the courtyard please be aware that some guests have no idea how to manage shutters correctly so you may hear lots of banging at times. And if the weather is windy, the Palm Trees blow on to some bedroom windows.Some problems are caused by the guests and not the hotel. Hotel Born is a very old former palace and needs to be respected as such. If you need a lift or a modern hotel then don't book the Born If you want to stay in a former palace then choose the Born!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Comfortable 2 to 3* hotel. Centrally located in a narrow street. There are no lifts so it was pretty hard going up to 3rd floor with suitcases! Rooms basic but comfortable. Good continental breakfast with great coffee prepared freshly by the barman.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here end of April as part of a Palma city visit and loved it. I would call it a Marmite hotel you either find fault or like us absolutely love it. Oldie charm with some modern updates where required and yes you do have to walk up some stairs. Situated in a lovely narrow street with a couple of tapas bars, ideally situated for the cathedral or like us we took the wooden train to soller which is lovely , didnt bother with Sollers port on the tram.
Breakfast is buffet and OK but we didn't go there for that, we went for the charm and feel of this pre palace and enjoyed sitting in the picture-esc courtyard. Any info we need the staff were obliging, How do you tell if a place is lovely , well you go back and thats what we will do.

Room Tip: Over look the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York U.K.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our second visit to this Hotel and we enjoyed it just as much as the first time. It is in a 400 year old Moorish Palace and is located right in the heart of the city. We went in April 2013 and there was no noise externally nor internally. The hotel is furnished in the traditional Mallorcan style and whilst not 5 star is very comfortable. The breakfast comprises a full buffet suitable for all tastes and there is unlimited tea and coffee; my wife took afternoon tea in the courtyard and it was a pleasant and serene experience. We had a small suite on the first floor (Room 109) and we liked it a lot. A word of praise for the staff especially Antonio who advised on excellent Restaurants and trips on the local buses, certainly an enjoyable experience, but please do try to speak Spanish if you can it is only a courtesy and the staff really do appreciate it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Perfect location for enjoying the historic quarter of Palma and a good deal for a short stay.We paid 273 Euros for 3 nights incuding breakfast for the two of us.The hotel has charm and character - it is a former palace - and the courtyard is a very attractive feature.We had a twin bedded room (208) on the 2nd floor.Decent size and spotlessly clean.BUT the beds were not very comfortable -lumpy springs made for a less than perfect sleep!
Apart from that,no complaints.Very good buffet breakfast served in the basement or to eat out in the courtyard.On the whole I would recommend this 2 star hotel to anyone on a short break to Palma.Take the train up to Soller for a fabulous day out.

Room Tip: No lift so be prepared to carry luggage up stairs.Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard for a pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Born

Address: Sant Jaume, 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Born 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Born reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Born Palma De Mallorca, Majorca
Born Hotel Palma De Mallorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Born, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.