We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Born

Save Saved
You added Hotel Born to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Born
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sant Jaume, 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Wirral
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Comfortable 2 to 3* hotel. Centrally located in a narrow street. There are no lifts so it was pretty hard going up to 3rd floor with suitcases! Rooms basic but comfortable. Good continental breakfast with great coffee prepared freshly by the barman.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    126
    32
    18
    5
See reviews for
21
138
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here end of April as part of a Palma city visit and loved it. I would call it a Marmite hotel you either find fault or like us absolutely love it. Oldie charm with some modern updates where required and yes you do have to walk up some stairs. Situated in a lovely narrow street with a couple of tapas bars, ideally situated for the cathedral or like us we took the wooden train to soller which is lovely , didnt bother with Sollers port on the tram.
Breakfast is buffet and OK but we didn't go there for that, we went for the charm and feel of this pre palace and enjoyed sitting in the picture-esc courtyard. Any info we need the staff were obliging, How do you tell if a place is lovely , well you go back and thats what we will do.

Room Tip: Over look the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York U.K.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our second visit to this Hotel and we enjoyed it just as much as the first time. It is in a 400 year old Moorish Palace and is located right in the heart of the city. We went in April 2013 and there was no noise externally nor internally. The hotel is furnished in the traditional Mallorcan style and whilst not 5 star is very comfortable. The breakfast comprises a full buffet suitable for all tastes and there is unlimited tea and coffee; my wife took afternoon tea in the courtyard and it was a pleasant and serene experience. We had a small suite on the first floor (Room 109) and we liked it a lot. A word of praise for the staff especially Antonio who advised on excellent Restaurants and trips on the local buses, certainly an enjoyable experience, but please do try to speak Spanish if you can it is only a courtesy and the staff really do appreciate it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Perfect location for enjoying the historic quarter of Palma and a good deal for a short stay.We paid 273 Euros for 3 nights incuding breakfast for the two of us.The hotel has charm and character - it is a former palace - and the courtyard is a very attractive feature.We had a twin bedded room (208) on the 2nd floor.Decent size and spotlessly clean.BUT the beds were not very comfortable -lumpy springs made for a less than perfect sleep!
Apart from that,no complaints.Very good buffet breakfast served in the basement or to eat out in the courtyard.On the whole I would recommend this 2 star hotel to anyone on a short break to Palma.Take the train up to Soller for a fabulous day out.

Room Tip: No lift so be prepared to carry luggage up stairs.Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard for a pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Having stayed at Hotel Born a couple of years ago, we booked again, asking for the same Junior Suite as before (via The Other Majorca website) which we were allocated. Despite the fact it is at the top of the hotel, up four flights of stairs and I have dodgy knees, it was worth it!

The staff may appear to be a bit taciturn to some people but we have found them nothing but very helpful and friendly when approached and we like the fact, when we are there, we are able to come and go without interference or comment.

If/when we visit Palma in the future, we shall definitely stay at Hotel Born. It's central position is second to none.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

If you are bored bored bored with samey blocks of purpose built hotels. Is it impossible to remember one from the other? We hate those places.
As a couple we much prefer to stay somewhere where we can absorb the history and charm and the vibe of the location. The Born was just our sort of place. Historic, memorable, romantic. We were delighted to find an ancient domed painted ceiling in our room and won't ever forget sleeping in the beautiful bed below.
I would suggest if you can afford it to book a superior room as one of the standards we viewed had very high windows which you could not see out of. It was top of our price range but we felt the extra cash for superior was well worth it.
Some folks could find the beds on the firm side but we loved them and slept well. Some may find there is a little noise but we loved waking up to the gentle buzz of the city. Ask for a courtyard facing room if you prefer to be quiet. We however loved looking into the ancient narrow street from our little balcony. It was wonderful to be so central and just step out into this amazing city. Plenty tapas and restauraunts to choose from in very easy walking distance.
Contrary to other reveiws we found the breakfast yummy and the staff very helpful with all our questions about where to find things and places, bus stops etc. All spoke English superbly.
We loved Palma, our new favourite city, got there on a Ryanair cheapie, stayed a week and only scratched the surface, we'll be back to the Born without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This is our 5th time to Palma and I have to say that this little gem of a hotel is the best overall hotel we've stayed in. Don't get me wrong we've stayed in plusher hotels but they have been significantly more expensive and generally been room only. Yes there's no lift but this is a city break so how much luggage will you actually have? The stairs aren't steep, it's only over 3 floors excluding a couple of off shot areas and there's always the staff to help.

On the subject of the staff - I've always found that when you are in a foreign country speaking to people who's native language isn't English, be patient, speak a little a slower and don't get frustrated. If you aren't then don't complain if the staff appear rude. People react to how they are treated!!!

This hotel typically is b&b and I have to say that as people have said on here the choice is good. It's not just the choice but the quality of the good is also fabulous.

The rooms are well appointed and as people have said being there out of season will be a little colder than normal however we didn't find it too much of a problem as the bedding is warm.

On the subject of noise in the rooms facing the "lane". The noise is generally people noise not traffic noise so again the solution - take ear plugs!

In essence this hotel is too good and in too good a location to explore Palma to allow little issues to put you off - resolve the issues before you go and enjoy your stay, the hotel and mostly the lovely city of Palma.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Born

Address: Sant Jaume, 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Born 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Born reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Born Palma De Mallorca, Majorca
Born Hotel Palma De Mallorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Born, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.