We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Born

Save Saved
You added Hotel Born to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Born
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sant Jaume, 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 64 hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Having stayed at Hotel Born a couple of years ago, we booked again, asking for the same Junior Suite as before (via The Other Majorca website) which we were allocated. Despite the fact it is at the top of the hotel, up four flights of stairs and I have dodgy knees, it was worth it!

The staff may appear to be a bit taciturn to some people but we have found them nothing but very helpful and friendly when approached and we like the fact, when we are there, we are able to come and go without interference or comment.

If/when we visit Palma in the future, we shall definitely stay at Hotel Born. It's central position is second to none.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    146
    35
    18
    5
See reviews for
18
129
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

If you are bored bored bored with samey blocks of purpose built hotels. Is it impossible to remember one from the other? We hate those places.
As a couple we much prefer to stay somewhere where we can absorb the history and charm and the vibe of the location. The Born was just our sort of place. Historic, memorable, romantic. We were delighted to find an ancient domed painted ceiling in our room and won't ever forget sleeping in the beautiful bed below.
I would suggest if you can afford it to book a superior room as one of the standards we viewed had very high windows which you could not see out of. It was top of our price range but we felt the extra cash for superior was well worth it.
Some folks could find the beds on the firm side but we loved them and slept well. Some may find there is a little noise but we loved waking up to the gentle buzz of the city. Ask for a courtyard facing room if you prefer to be quiet. We however loved looking into the ancient narrow street from our little balcony. It was wonderful to be so central and just step out into this amazing city. Plenty tapas and restauraunts to choose from in very easy walking distance.
Contrary to other reveiws we found the breakfast yummy and the staff very helpful with all our questions about where to find things and places, bus stops etc. All spoke English superbly.
We loved Palma, our new favourite city, got there on a Ryanair cheapie, stayed a week and only scratched the surface, we'll be back to the Born without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This is our 5th time to Palma and I have to say that this little gem of a hotel is the best overall hotel we've stayed in. Don't get me wrong we've stayed in plusher hotels but they have been significantly more expensive and generally been room only. Yes there's no lift but this is a city break so how much luggage will you actually have? The stairs aren't steep, it's only over 3 floors excluding a couple of off shot areas and there's always the staff to help.

On the subject of the staff - I've always found that when you are in a foreign country speaking to people who's native language isn't English, be patient, speak a little a slower and don't get frustrated. If you aren't then don't complain if the staff appear rude. People react to how they are treated!!!

This hotel typically is b&b and I have to say that as people have said on here the choice is good. It's not just the choice but the quality of the good is also fabulous.

The rooms are well appointed and as people have said being there out of season will be a little colder than normal however we didn't find it too much of a problem as the bedding is warm.

On the subject of noise in the rooms facing the "lane". The noise is generally people noise not traffic noise so again the solution - take ear plugs!

In essence this hotel is too good and in too good a location to explore Palma to allow little issues to put you off - resolve the issues before you go and enjoy your stay, the hotel and mostly the lovely city of Palma.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel Born is centrally located, in a beautiful old town street. All importing places of interest are easy to reach by feet (including restaurants, bars, cafe´s, retailers). We arrived by airplane at Palmas airport and took a taxi to the hotel. You´ll be dropped off ca. 50m away from the Hotel´s entrance but it´s no big deal to walk this distance. No elevator is available within the hotel, so carrying the bags to the 4th floor can be a cahllenge. The breakfast buffet is well equipped and there´s nothing to complain. A beautiful Tapa´s Bar is located 2 doors down and I highly recommend this bar.

Room Tip: room 403 is ideal (2 room suite) with 2 TV´s
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Oh what a disapointment. The surroundings as you would expect were great but otherwise I can only say the so called Hotel was run in my opion on the same level as a poorly run Hostel.
Some of the staff took all their time to speak to or to acknowledge you. The continental buffet breakfast, other than the coffee, left a lot to be desired. The rooms I would agree with other reviewers were comfortable, reasonably clean and well appointed including a bidet in the bathroom.
My stay being at a time, January, when as the evening draw in and it becomes colder the heating system was turned on at the early part of the evening for approximately one hour and then turned off leaving the high cealing room cold for the remainder of the evening. Not that we spent all our time in the room but it would have been nice to return to a warm room after an eveing on the town. I can only sumise that other guests were in a similar position coming down to breakfast wearing their outer clothing.
Overall I would never again stay at the Borne Hostel, sorry Hotel, or recommend anyone to do so. In respect I feel it could do with a visit from the 'Hotel Inspector'.

Room Tip: If having having read my review you decide to choose the Born I would advise a room on the First Flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Three nights in January in a near empty hotel may not be the best experience to judge a hotel, but we had a great time. Very quiet location in the heart of the city, 30 seconds from restaurants & bars, comfortable large rooms in a 16 century building. Buffet breakfast excellent. Only thing that stopped this being 5* were the staff. Probably bored, but less than friendly & welcoming. We'd definitely return.

Room Tip: First floor as no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Excellent location - can walk everywhere - shopping, restaurants and sights. As others have mentioned there is no lift - so not a great place for people with mobility issues. If I remember correctly it is 29 steps - to the first level. Loved the breakfast in the central courtyard restaurant!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Born

Address: Sant Jaume, 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Born 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Born reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Born Palma De Mallorca, Majorca
Born Hotel Palma De Mallorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Born, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.