We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit to this idyllic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Born

Save Saved
You added Hotel Born to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Born
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sant Jaume, 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
london
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Third visit to this idyllic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Cannot sing the praises of this hotel too highly.

Third visit in ten years and standards, if anything, have improved in that time.

Staff very helpful.
No lift - but as this building is several hundred years old - its not surprising.

Ideally located, with fantastic courtyard, in which one can eat breakfast or just enjoy the tranquillity. You would never believe that you were 100 yards from a main road junction, and right behind C&A!

Rooms, whilst not the most modern you'll ever stay in, are clean, bright and airy - especially the 'junior suites' or 'superior rooms' depending upon which booking agent you use.

Breakfast is more than adequate and better than you get in hotels charging considerably higher room rates. Hope the owners don't read this, otherwise they may start charging more!

Room Tip: Go for a junior suite/superior room. The ones on the left of the courtyard (as you are looking into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    126
    31
    18
    5
See reviews for
21
137
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This little hotel more than lived up to the positive reviews here. It's a beautiful old style building, if you like old buildings, and I do, and the courtyard and bedroom was absolutely lovely. Good breakfast. Great location.
The stairway is stunning - but yes, a bit of a hike if hauling bags up flights of stairs is a difficulty for you.
Our only dissapointment was a strange electrical noise that kept us awake most of the night. We were in 201, a room with a courtyard view and a seperate sitting area, (lovely) - but I ended up sleeping on the couch to get a little further away from the noise.
A shame.
We'd checked in to late to bother hassling to change rooms, so we just put up with it.

Room Tip: Don't accept 201 without checking for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We really enjoyed staying two nights in this hotel recently. Elegant vaulted reception area and beautiful courtyard in which to have a leisurely breakfast. We had a very pleasant 3rd floor room overlooking the courtyard with a well appointed bathroom. The hotel is in a great central location but down a quiet side street. The staff were friendly and helpful. There are no lifts or porters to help with baggage so, if stairs are a problem, it would be better to go elsewhere. Otherwise, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Air con was a bit too noisy but other than that no complaints at all. Lovely building. Accommodation is more than adequate and represents good value for money. The location is ideal. So if you are more concerned with being right in the heart of the action, rather than having all the best facilities, then you can't go far wrong with this hotel. Staff were friendly and the continental breakfast in the courtyard is the perfect start to the day

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Born for 2 nights, Sunday 8th to Tuesday 10th July 2012. This was the start of a 7-night, 4-hotel self-drive tour of the island. This was my first trip to Mallorca but my wife had been twice as a teenager, quite a few years ago. We would certainly recommend the hotel to tourists, primarily for its excellent location in the old town.

We booked nearly 5 months in advance using Venere.com, which gave the best rate having searched using TripAdvisor. We booked a standard double room with breakfast on a flexible rate at a cost per night €85.32, with the cost being charged on arrival at the hotel.

Because we wouldn’t need a car for the first two days, we took a taxi from the airport to the hotel (€20, with tip). As I would have been driving, I was very glad we took the taxi – the hotel is in a very narrow one-way street, barely wide enough for cars to get down! We arrived about midday. As we expected, the room wasn’t ready but we were told it would be in about an hour. We were able to leave our luggage and go off and get our bearings.

The hotel is just off a square from where the lovely Passeig des Born, a wide avenue lined with plane trees, leads down to the cathedral, less than five minutes’ stroll away. We took the opportunity to have a nice, long cold drink at one of the cafes under the welcome shade of the trees.

We wandered back to the hotel and our room was ready for us as promised. The hotel is a restored 16 th century palace and the character had been retained (but the carpet up the impressive stair case has seen better days and should be replaced). We stayed in room 108. There was no view from the windows (see photos) but was very quiet. The room was large, clean and comfortable and had everything we needed, including efficient and reasonably quiet air conditioning. The TV had a good selection of English-language channels.

There is no bar at the hotel, but drinks can be ordered all day at reception – at very reasonable cost (e.g. ¼ bottle of a very pleasant, local Mallorcan white wine for €3, price list in your room). Drinks can be taken to your room or enjoyed in the lovely courtyard up to 11 pm at night.

Breakfast is buffet style, set out in the cellar but (weather permitting) can be eaten at tables in the courtyard. Overall it was good quality and you would be able to eat sufficient to keep you going for most of the day.

We had planned to spend Sunday sightseeing in Palma and the hotel is ideally placed for the cathedral. It’s also just 5 minutes or so walk to stop 2 (in Pl del Mercat) of the Palma City Sightseeing hop on hop off bus (see http://www.city-sightseeing.com/tours/spain/palma-de-mallorca.htm#tourlandingposition ). We bought a 24-hour ticket and one of the tour highlights is the Castell de Bellver, the restored castle high up on a hill with excellent views down to Palma. The next day we decided to spend the day taking the historic train to Soller and tram to Port de Soller. We caught the sightseeing bus to the station (stop 4) but it was a pleasant 10 minute stroll back from the station to the hotel in the evening. There are several restaurants and bars within walking distance.

Overall were very happy with the hotel, the main reason for staying here is its excellent location, in the old town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

A very enjoyable one nights stay. The hotel is very charming in a traditional style. Clean throughout. A large modern bathroom en suite to the bedroom. TV in room showing British programmes which is a plus. Breakfast is continental with a good selection to choose from. Enjoy your breakfast in the charming courtyard. Daytime receptionist had the charm of a lemon, but was made up for by the night receptionist. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findhorn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

There were 71 stairs to go up and down to our room, and no help even tho my partner has an injury and can't carry anything. The guy on reception just put his head down and ignored me. So very different to the wonderful experiences we had at Hotel Casal D'Arta (Arta) and Hostal los Pinos (Cala san Vincent). Basic room. Two out of the 3 days we were there the remains of someone's chips were on the main staircase.

Room Tip: if there is anyone in the courtyard, you can listen to their conversations. I'd recommend you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Born

Address: Sant Jaume, 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Born 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Born reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Born Palma De Mallorca, Majorca
Born Hotel Palma De Mallorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Born, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.