We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Born

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Born to your Saves list
Hotel Born
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sant Jaume, 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Having had this hotel recommended to us, my boyfriend and I decided this was the hotel for us. There were no rooms left apart from a suite so we went with that, it wasn't exactly expensive either!
We had a HUGE room which was traditional and had two beautiful old windows opening up on to the courtyard. The most impressive part is of course the stairway when you enter the hotel and the reception with its arched ceiling. Our bed was a large four poster.
The staff really helped us out with directions, drinks and taxis and were very friendly.
The breakfast was a brilliant continental breakfast, the only thing wrong being that the milk was off one morning when put it, but it was instantly changed.

I wouldn't even look at other hotels if I return to Palma, the decor may be dated but it is traditional and really refreshing compared to modern, minimalistic hotels.
The location is also perfect for everything, shopping, sightseeing and restaurants & bars.

Room Tip: We had room 102 which was a suite and i would certainly request this one again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    135
    33
    18
    6
See reviews for
22
148
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Hi, Just got back from a 5 night break to Palma Mallorca. I must say what a find in staying at Hotel Born. It was situated at the top of Passieg de Born slightly up the alley to the right of C&A. The hotel was beautiful, and the staff where very helpful. There was a sweeping stair case that lead you to your room. We stayed in the Junior Suite which overlooked the courtyard. It was so peaceful, and easy to imagine how it was when it was a Palace.

The breakfast was Fab. There was a selection of cold meats and cheese, fruit, yogurt, pastries, and even the luxury of cava for a "bucks fizz" to start your day. It was centrally located to local tapas bars and sights you need, and there was a great cafe/bar called Cafe Bosch (or something like that) which is directly opposite C&A and the alley to the hotel, for your last night-cap. The young lad who was there to make your coffee in the morning was GREAT, very attentive, couldn't fault our stay, we would definately stay here again.

Thanks Barb X

Room Tip: The ones facing into the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed for three nights and used the Born as a base for our city break. The hotel is located in an alley just off the top of Passieg de Born which is a lovely busy tree lined boulevard. The whole building was very historic and appropriately furnished throughout. It was a perfect location for such a break.
Unfortunately, our room was overlooking the alley and therefore it was quite noisy day and night. If I stayed again I would insist on having a room at the back of the hotel all of which overlook a private courtyard. Otherwise the room was wonderful with an old fresco ceiling and large comfortable bed. It had a lobby with en suite facilities off.
The breakfast was buffet style continental and was served by a helpful waiter. There is no bar nor restaurant other than breakfast.
I booked direct via the hotels website and I paid £293 for bed and breakfast for the three nights. We would stay again but make sure we had a quieter room.

Room Tip: avoid rooms which overlook the alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Cannot really find much to fault about this hotel, but having said that we were lucky enough to have a first floor, courtyard-facing room and had no need for internet access, so no issue with stairs or wifi.
There is no hot food at breakfast but there were more than enough cold choices, such as fresh fruit, yogurts, pastries, bread of various types, ham, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, muesli, cornflakes, etc. Coffee is made to your individual requirements, and red and white wine plus champagne were also available, as well as at least 4 different fruit juices and different teas.Breakfast starts at 7 am until 10:30, but the basement breakfast room became crowded at about 8:30 and people were waiting for inside tables. There is space outside, but it means having to go up and down stairs every time you want to get something.
The only criticism I would have is that the walls are very thin between the rooms, and this could be annoying if you had noisy neighbours. The bed was comfortable and there were extra pillows and an extra blanket in the wardrobe.
The bathroom was spacious and clean, but take your own shamppo and shower gel as only soap is provided. Hair dryer ok.
The location is excellent, and this is why we chose the hotel primarily. We used the train and coach services to explore the island, and as they are both under one roof about 10 minutes walk away, it was ideal. Fares are really great value, and services are punctual. Pick up a timetable from Tourist Information. I would mention that the only way of getting directly to Castell Bellver is by taxi, or the Hop On Hop Off Tour Bus (number 50) There is no public bus which takes you right to the door, only the 46 but then you have quite a walk.
If you are a fit and independet traveller then I would recommend the Hotel Born, and there are plenty of bars, restaurants, and sights within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: If you have issues with carrying heavy luggage or have bad knees or mobility problems, you must ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This former palace really has the WoW factor, I booked this through Ryanair hotels and got a great deal double suite with champagne breakfast. Its a 50th birthday treat for my sister. The location is perfect with shops transport and sights litterally on your doorstep. The fourposter beds, huge sweeping staircase and genuine antique style decor were spectacular (see web site ), we felt really special and lucky to have discovered this little gem. Our room overlooked a section of the courtyard it was quiet, very spacious and clean. The staff were very friendly and in particular the recption gentleman went out of his way to offer directions for our onward journey and even printed out timetables for us. I will definately re-visit the hotel and feel it inspired our visit to Palma.

Room Tip: judging by others comments ask for courtyard facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Hotel Born is ideally sited for exploring the old town of Palma. It is a converted Ducal Mansion - a beautiful old building with a stunning entrance lobby and staircase. A terrific breakfast buffet is provided. An internet computer is available

On the down side, there is no lift. Our room was on the fourth (fifth for Americans) floor which involved climbing up and down 66 steps three or four times a day. Further still to the breakfast room which is in a semi-basemnent. This makes the place totally unsuitable for the disabled. The rooms are rather starkly and simply furnished. The shower head in our room was impossible to tighten in place - it slowly sank downwards. Although there is wifi available I was unable find anywhere in the building where I could get good reception

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel was centrally located and all sights are within walk-able reach. The reception staff spoke good English and were courteous. There were many restaurants and shops just down the street. The room was clean and bathroom was spacious.
To mention the cons, the rooms were dated and no lifts. Otherwise, I would suggest this hotel to anyone primarily for the location and the value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Born

Address: Sant Jaume, 3, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Born 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Born reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Born Palma De Mallorca, Majorca
Born Hotel Palma De Mallorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Born, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.