We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're an EU citizen visit on a Weds or Thurs afternoon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palau de l'Almudaina

Palau de l'Almudaina
Carrer del Palau Reial, s/n, Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
34-971-214-134
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Castles, Historic Sites, History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A royal palace has stood on this site since soon after the Arab conquest.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“If you're an EU citizen visit on a Weds or Thurs afternoon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The most important thing to note is that if you're an EU citizen you can visit for free on Wednesday and Thursday afternoons, as long as you have some ID (they did accept my EU medical card!). This is a good saving as otherwise the price is quite steep, although it does make a very pleasant hour wandering through the palace and seeing all the different rooms. You can also get some beautiful views over the bay from the terrace.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    62
    33
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Batley,
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lack of information, even with audio guide, but fascinating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

For visiting this and the cathedral would recommend parking in the underground car park on the main road into town at Parc De La Mar before the port. Not cheap but not ludicrously expensive (cost around 1.7 euros an hour) and saves you having to battle town centre traffic, step out next to the park with fabulous views and short walk to the cathedral and palace.
The palace is expensive at 9 euros and 4 euros for the audio guide which for my money did not give enough information - around 30 seconds for each room with minimum detail as to actual age of works of art or any insight into renovations over the centuries - still confused by history of building!
However what was there was impressive with chance to go onto the terrace with amazing views of the port and parts of the town. Some very good Flemish art pieces but poorly lit and found myself with nose almost on the canvas to make out details of painting!
Amazing ceilings of a style I had not seen before and a medieval fresco plus tapestries that deserve some study, the borders contained detailed portraits of various animals - better than the main subject for me!
Nice photo opportunities in the courtyard but be aware that as well as an official royal residence this is an army base.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Bit overpriced, but still a good place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Palma city is not blessed with many places to visit, so I felt I cannot be very choosy if I have to make the most of my time here. The ticket is slightly overpriced for what you get to see, but other than that, it is a nice small palace. Parts of it are in use so are not open to public, but those that are open, are nice to walk around. Officially, photography is not allowed inside.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not value for money for spaces open to visitors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Having tried to visit twice before and found the attraction closed the spaces that were open in August were comfortably walked around in 45 minutes. The palace is still actively used by the Mallorcian government and Royal Family hence the attractions appearing smaller on the inside. The split level main hall was intriguing in design and the attraction very well staffed. I still remain extremely impressed with the Palau's exterior presence, peaceful gardens and beautiful fountains in Avenue ' Antoni Maura.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

It was nice to have a look around, but it was not worth the price of 9 euros. We did not pay to get audio guides, maybe it would have been better with.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palau de l'Almudaina also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Palau de l'Almudaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palau de l'Almudaina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Palau de l'Almudaina to your Saves list