We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate service but food was a let down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Contraste

Restaurante Contraste
Calle de Federico Garcia Lorca 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
+34 871 573 659
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 1,452 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Price range: $15 - $43
Cuisines: Mediterranean, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
387 reviews 387 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“First rate service but food was a let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Contraste is not in the best of locations being slightly out of town and just off the run down Joan Miro avenida. It is surpringly nice inside and has a very interesting menu which offered much hope but unfortunately the quality of food was a let down and portion sizes far too big. The plates were nicely presented but the food lacked finesse.The best thing about this place was the service from a young russian man who did everything to make us happy including a 10% reduction in the bill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    16
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top tapas ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this place, when toque was fully booked....as its very close.

We ate early evening, and had a 3 month old baby with us ( not to eat ! )

The gentleman that served us was very friendly and helpful

We had the 16 euro offer : black pudding fritters, tempura cod balls, Greek salad, and chicken coquettes

All of them were delicious and really substantial ...

We'd highly recommend this place and intend to go back to sample some more

The couple next to us had a steak that looked fab, so will be ordering that next !

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh on SEa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Arty food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Dined here with my husband and two friends. Service and ambience good but oh! dear the food.
Husband ordered Sea Bass: two pieces of fish the size of your index and middle finger hidden under a mess of al dente vegetables. No one enjoyed their meals and I can't even remember what we had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONTRASTE, Propietario at Restaurante Contraste, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Good afternoon. First of all we would like to apologize for your bad experience in our restaurant, and thank you for your criticism in order to improve ourselves. In his critique mentioned seabass dish, possibly it is: "Wild sea bass, muslin ball celery, sautéed pak choy and vegetables in saffron clouds" and among the pictures published on this website could also see the photo of this dish, it is one of the favorite dishes of our customers. Regarding fish rations are between 150g-190g which is usual for fish. Also to tell you if you had commented during dinner dissatisfaction with the food, it WOULD HAVE changed at the moment, without any problem.
Sincerely Restaurant CONTRAST
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top Spanish/international cuisine in modern and stylish setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Just along the road from the Victoria, this restaurant is excellent. The food, from the freebie starter to the pudding, is tasty, interesting and beautifully presented. The service is good and friendly and we spent a very pleasant evening there. Don't let the outside put you off. Once inside, you'll love it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Modern delicacies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Ate here one evening and was over the moon at the quality of the Tapas, especially the fish and giant prawns. Lovely decor and good staff. A perfect place for business or family meals together.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Contraste also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Restaurante Contraste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Contraste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.