We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Azul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Azul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Gabriel Roca 7, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“It's all about the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel is extremely comfortable and the staff welcoming. The breakfast offerings are quite extensive and the quality of restaurant food is high. The hotel is located within comfortable walking distance of the old town, it's many shops and restaurants.

The best reason for staying here, however, is the view of the port , which is full of luxury yachts, and is a hive of activity from kayaking training to cruise liners, cargo vessels and ferries coming and going 24 hours a day. It's worth the extra expense for a room with a balcony that faces the port area. At night, the whole area is lit up and offers great photo opportunities.

The down side which others have mentioned, it the traffic noise if the doors are left open. Simple solution - close the doors to get a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony facing the port on the highest level possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    379
    101
    29
    20
See reviews for
94
419
36
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Would deffo stay here again.

Stayed on the 5th floor at the side, and had a partial sea view, room was bang on, Staff were really friendly, and attentive, can not fault the service at all.

Room was super clean, and fresh, shower was one of the best ive had in a hotel so far.

The manager, what a guy, funny, and hospitable.

Swimming Pool and Pool area are a nice touch.

Didnt eat here, but the food did look good!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel overall however, not value for money. staff are not customer focused especially on reception. Hotel offers no ironing facilities, we were offered 24 hr laundry service, no use to us as needed to iron shirts for dinner we were attending. Despite being told we could extend stay until 20.00 hrs on booking, when we asked on last day we were told 1800 was latest we could extend until. Lack of continuity not what you would expect from this hotel which on the face of it is of a high standard. Breakfast ok but be prepared to queue at busy periods for omelette making! Rooms ok we had a third floor sea view a bit close to pool area for comfort but all the same clean and modern. Don't expect a warm welcome more a business short stay type hotel, could be so much better with a bit more attention to detail and customer centric values built into staff training. Would I stay again, proberbly not but would not put others off either, just don't expect 4 star service and you will be fine.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night on 25 June 2014 for the last night of our holiday to be close to the airport. This is the 5th time I have stayed in this hotel, 3 times before the refurbishment and twice since. This is the first time I have been disappointed. The location of the hotel is fabulous. It was always great value for money, but when we stayed last year we were blown away by the refurbishment. We had a fabulous room, but the only problem was the noise from the road on the second floor, so this time we decided to request a room on a higher floor. When I made the reservation by telephone it was explained to me that floors 6 and 7 consisted of superior rooms, so I was happy to upgrade to achieve this, despite the fact that it cost almost 60 euros more than the previous year. So far, so good. Unfortunately, I received no email confirmation of my reservation, so I sent an email requesting one. Bizarrely, all I received back from the hotel was my original email asking for confirmation, so I had to chase it again. I finally received confirmation and wisely printed it out to take with me.

On arrival at the hotel, hot and tired after travelling across the island by bus, we were "greeted" at reception with no knowledge of our reservation. Finally, after some 10 minutes or so, our reservation was located, only for us to have been given a room on the 3rd floor. i explained that I had specifically requested a room on a higher floor. After much huffing and puffing (and another 20 minutes), we were finally allocated a room on the 7th floor, for which we had to pay an additional 10 euros. Frankly, the reception experience was appalling and it took over 30 minutes just to try and check in. I can't imagine what it would be like if a coach party turned up. We were thoroughly disappointed with this bad service, which we have never encountered at this hotel before.

The room was honestly the smallest I have ever stayed in at this hotel, only suitable for a business person staying overnight with hardly any luggage, not a couple returning from a fortnight's holiday. The light bulb on the balcony had been removed, reducing the enjoyment of sitting on the balcony at night to enjoy the view.

The breakfast service was very slow to start at 7.30, which was awkward for us with an early flight.

My overall opinion is that this beautiful hotel is resting on its laurels since the refurbishment and has let customer service slip, relying for good reviews on just the amenties and decor. So, more attention to detail, please! PS the beds are fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Spent 3 nights at the Azul. Very impressed with hotel. Room, staff and breakfast all excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic views over the harbour. Main road was noisy but not a problem at night with window closed and air con on. Will definitely make a return visit. Great time. Thanks everyone.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Have just returned from a three night stay at this beautiful hotel. Upgraded to a sea view room...wow!! what a view, well worth the extra money. Very convenient for the old town with lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Staff all very friendly and helpful always with a smile on their face. Room very clean with comfortable bed. Would certainly visit again and recommend.

Room Tip: sea view well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

A very clean modern hotel in a convenient location opposite the harbour and about 10 minutes walk from the old town. Great staff, fantastic breakfast, reasonable priced drinks, pool and sun terrace. Parking 5 euros a day only 2 minutes walk away. Room has a fantastic powerful walk in shower, tv with some English channels, free wi if in the the room, fridge with complementary drinks.

Room Tip: Front room with balcony on a higher floor overlooking the harbour. It's on a main road so not pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Azul

Address: Avenida Gabriel Roca 7, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#7 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#22 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Azul 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the hotels in Palma de Mallorca, the Costa Azul Hotel a unique hotel and invites you to immerse yourself in the heart of Palma de Mallorca through a one-of-a-kind place, imbued with colour, poetry and Mediterranean. A place where feelings predominate and where you are the protagonist of each moment.Different from all the hotels in Palma de Majorca through its philosophy, services and personal attention, the Costa Azul Hotel is privileged to be the hotel on Palma Bay with the best views: a picture-window onto the sea through which you can dive directly into the essence of this unique city.Whether you're travelling as a couple, with friends or on business, get ready to feel the Mediterranean's embrace in every nook of our hotel in Palma. Let its innovative design and spacious guest rooms leave you open-mouthed; make yourself at home throughout; and minute by minute, build the holiday of your dreams.In our hotel in Palma de Majorca you'll find the perfect inspiration for making the city yours, and feeling that almost magical surprise which travelling, discovering and experimenting gives you.Come and discover our hotel in Palma: there's a whole sea of sensations that we want to sail over with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Costa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Costa Azul Hotel
Costa Azul Hotel Palma
Hotel Costa Azul Palma De Mallorca, Majorca
Costa Azul Palma De Mallorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.