We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Azul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Azul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Gabriel Roca 7, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August and enjoyed our first visit to Palma. We asked for a sea view on 5th floor or above (which we got!), and it was great. Room not over big, but good balcony and the view over the marina and towards the cathedrai lit up at night was fantastic.
We had dinner in the restaurant by the pool area on the 2nd night, and it was delicious - with very good service. The glass roof was closed because they were worried it might rain, but we had a table by the large windows overlooking the marina, and had our coffee outside on the terrace. Didn't like the look of the main dining room on the ground floor very much.
Hotel very convenient to walk into the centre of Palma, or to catch a bus (bus stop directly opposite the hotel).

Room Tip: choose sea view room on 5th floor or above to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    385
    101
    29
    20
See reviews for
95
426
36
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have just returned from a week staying at this Hotel by the harbour, and what a great location. Not only for the view of the Cathedral, but also the walk into town when I ate too much breakfast. No fighting for a sun lounger, nice pool to take a cool down and just the place to chill out and relax. The breakfast buffet I could not fault, maybe too much choice and wanted to try everything, no I was good. The rooms are simple, clean, and a great shower. My only comment is that they should factor in a kettle with tea, etc into the room rate. Was cross with myself for not taking a kettle from home with me. 5 Euro a day I thought was expensive. Good all round place to stay.

Room Tip: On the front harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed for a week in August and were very happy with the hotel. Sea view rooms are essential and have a great view over the marina and the port. Go for the highest floor possible!! Rooms are good but not the biggest, however the balcony adds to it. The pool area and sun terrace is great with nice snacks and drinks available. The staff in this area were very pleasant to deal with. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice, omlettes etc cooked to order were very good also. Whole we were there the 2nd floor was being totally renovated so those on the floor above probably would have had lots of noise to endure during the day. Not a problem for us though. The only downside was the receptionist on arrival was a bit disinterested....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel Costa Azul is great for someone who wants to stay in a clean, modern hotel on the most central avenue of Palma de Mallorca but to avoiding the noise of the party goers, all without spending a huge sum of money.

If you are traveling with a car, this hotel provides parking for a few euros per day and the lot is right next door. This is important because looking for parking could be a long quest in Palma. Another perk is a sun deck and the pool. There is a small beach not even a mile away, but no one goes to Palma for its beach - there are a lot of way better places of that on Mallorca, so the pool and other amenities are nice to have.

Lastly, both of the rooms we have rented were on different floors and they both had water-facing balconies. In fact, it looks like most of the rooms do. And the view is very nice. Rooms are clean and new. Note large, but definitely comfortable. This hotel is well suited for someone who is looking for a reasonable deal without compromising quality.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just had a week here as a couple in their 60s, and we were delighted with everything the hotel had to offer. The sea view room was superb- clean, very well lit, and spacious. Breakfast excellent, staff helpful and friendly, but had to pay extra for a kettle in the bedroom, which was our only small complaint. The pool area is very clean and well maintained, with gorgeous views over the marina.
Would definitely recommend, and can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Arrived at the hotel around 11:00am said the room would be ready around 13:30. Checked we had a sea view as paid for, which we did, requested a room on or above the 4th floor, the very pleasant young lady at the desk said the only room available was on the 3rd floor but we could maybe change the next day. When we came back to check in she had managed to change our room to the 5th floor (501) which was brilliant.(sorry I didn't get her name but she checked us in on Monday 26 August 2013.) Entering the hotel you can see how much thought and effort has gone into the refurbishment and when we entered our room it had a real WOW factor, my husband had never seen me get excited about a bathroom before! As previously said the rooms are quite small but for a short stay ideal, when we were in the room we spent most of the time on the balcony anyway looking at the fabulous view.
Breakfast excellent with a vast choice and chef cooking bacon and eggs every morning. Used the bar (do a very nice Dry Martini) but didn't use the restaurant, because of the position of the hotel they are loads of places to eat and all very good. Swimming pool very small but good poolside facilities. I can't rate this hotel enough and would recommend anyone going to Palma for a short break to check this out.

Room Tip: Choose room above the 3rd floor, floors 4 to 8 are set back from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here just recently and enjoyed our stay very much.

We had a small problem with a room but this was sorted out very efficiently and quickly and we were offered an upgrade of a meal in the pool restaurant. Food was fabulous in pool restaurant. Highly recommended.

Only suggestion I would say is ask for a sea view because the first room we had wasnt and it made all the difference on whether we would go back again or not. I would only go back for a sea view. That is me being picky apart from that very good all round holiday and loved the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Azul

Address: Avenida Gabriel Roca 7, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#8 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#21 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Azul 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the hotels in Palma de Mallorca, the Costa Azul Hotel a unique hotel and invites you to immerse yourself in the heart of Palma de Mallorca through a one-of-a-kind place, imbued with colour, poetry and Mediterranean. A place where feelings predominate and where you are the protagonist of each moment.Different from all the hotels in Palma de Majorca through its philosophy, services and personal attention, the Costa Azul Hotel is privileged to be the hotel on Palma Bay with the best views: a picture-window onto the sea through which you can dive directly into the essence of this unique city.Whether you're travelling as a couple, with friends or on business, get ready to feel the Mediterranean's embrace in every nook of our hotel in Palma. Let its innovative design and spacious guest rooms leave you open-mouthed; make yourself at home throughout; and minute by minute, build the holiday of your dreams.In our hotel in Palma de Majorca you'll find the perfect inspiration for making the city yours, and feeling that almost magical surprise which travelling, discovering and experimenting gives you.Come and discover our hotel in Palma: there's a whole sea of sensations that we want to sail over with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Costa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Costa Azul Hotel
Costa Azul Hotel Palma
Hotel Costa Azul Palma De Mallorca, Majorca
Costa Azul Palma De Mallorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.