We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away sleepless noisy nights cheap beds and 2 stars if” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Azul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Azul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Gabriel Roca 7, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Montreux
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“stay away sleepless noisy nights cheap beds and 2 stars if”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

under permament construction everything is falling apart pictures are fake the worst place i ever seen and honestly ruined our vacation.....food bad,service bad...parking a desaster, even in their so called garage dirty floors in room black and beds in one week never with new linen its falling apart and the staff is absolutely not able to do anything all they want is charge your credit card its a absolute tourist gap

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    361
    97
    29
    19
See reviews for
91
393
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have stayed at the Costa Azul twice before when it was a 3 star hotel, we were pleased with it then, but now after the upgrade to 4 star it is absolutely brilliant.
We had a sea view room on the 4th floor, great views of everything going on out to sea plus a fantastic view of the Cathederal.
A very warm welcome at reception even though it was 10.30 at night, quick check in and off to our room, in the fridge was a complimentary bottle of water & a carton of orange.
The beds are very comfortable with 3 different sizes of pillows per person, keep the balcony door shut and the air con comes on, we set ours to a nice cool temperature, this gave us peaceful nights with no traffic noise at all. There was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but we hired a kettle and cups together with tea, coffee, milk, sugar all replenished daily at the very reasonable rate of 5 euros per day.
The bathroom is out of this world, the most fantastic walk in shower, enough room for a family.
On to the dining room, all meals are a leisurely affair, for breakfast and dinner we were able to get a window side table. At breakfast the usual choice of breads, cerials, cold meats, cheeses, cakes & buns etc plus fried, ommelette,scrambled eggs together with bacon all cooked by the young chef,s to your liking, help yourself to toast and coffee or have a pot full of coffee brought to the table. Dinner consisted of really appetizing choices at the buffet, thankfully of a mediterainian nature rather than the fast food junk that is usually on the buffet, on top of this there was always a meat dish & fish dish being show cooked by a chef and to a high standard. The wine list was very affordable, we were there for 14 nights, taking dinner each evening and we were able to work through the wine list with some very pleasant Majorcan wines, we had a bottle each evening.
All of the staff were very friendly, the manager came through the dining room each evening, having a chat with people as he walked around. A mention must be made of the Cuban Lady behind the bar and the young guy behind the bar, they were extra friendly, we were made to feel that we were VIP's, two great people.
Renovations were still ongoing, but the ony thing we heard was a bit of banging when using the lift.
Whenever we are in Palma again the Cost Azul will be top of our list.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A beautiful room and a great location. The only frustration is the Wi-Fi system, that doesn't remember you if you have been out, and drops connection often. Then a long username and password needs to be re-entered, and this is only valid for a short time. If you have an Apple product, as one of my devices was, you need to be specifically connected to the system. This all takes time and patience to resolve.

Room Tip: Make sure you book and have confirmed a full frontal sea-facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Wonderful, clean,comfortable and modern hotel with spectacular views. Pay for a sea view and you will be rewarded with one of this city's finest panoramas. Include breakfast with your deal, and a huge variety of food awaits....bacon & eggs cooked to order, delicious fresh bread & pastries, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, meats, cheeses and a good selection of juices, tea and coffee. Staff encountered throughout the hotel are happy, helpful and professional. Hotel modernisation is almost complete, although we encountered minor disruption during our stay, in that work around the pool & jacuzzi area meant our balcony wasn't as private as it should have been. The hotel is located only a 5-10 minute walk from all that Palma has to offer, and for lovers of good Italian food would highly recommend Appia Antica on C/Anibal in Santa Catalina. Excellent, reasonably priced pasta & pizzas made with a passionate and assured touch which is unfortunately lacking in many Italian restaurants in England. Pepe, the chef/patron is a charming & engaging character who will do all he can to ensure your visit is an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Choose a room on level 3 or above & definitely have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Costa Azul for 3 Nights in June and the whole experience was First Class. The very quick Check-In was a good start and it only improved from there when we realised we had been given an Up Graded Sea View Room, and what a room. Bright and spacious with a Sitting area overlooking the Marina on the Paseo. Breakfast was excellent with a Chef making fresh Omelettes, fried or scrambled eggs. The Buffet choice went on for ever. We do not normally eat in Hotels for Evening Dinner but with the 1930 Restaurant Mediteranee closing we decided to eat 1 night in the Hotel. Again the Buffet was extensive and First Class. The Menu at E22 came complete with a Gin & Tonic and a large glass of Quality Rioja. A further Bottle was only E12. And the Chef was on duty again the cook Chicken, Beef or Sea Brem Fillets on his Griddle. It that wasn't enough, the Chef then served our Table. Could we ask for any more ? Just Perfect. The refurbishment has obviously worked very well. Roger Dean. Bramhall, Cheshire.

Room Tip: If you have to pay for a Sea View I would reccommend the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Location on seafront, close to centre is ideal. However, our view of cathedral from second floor room was obliterated, renovation works were continuing despite assurance they would be completed by our holiday, room was not ready by 2.00pm on arrival day as promised, considerable traffic noise, pool was tiny, and dinner menu was unimaginative. On the positive side room size was excellent and very clean. Breakfast was also extensive, though there was a long wait for 'show cook' omlettes etc. Staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on third floor level or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This lovely hotel has superb views over the harbour. I would really recommend a sea view. Fabulous modern room, beds so comfy, room clean and on trend. The staff couldn't do enough for you and were so professional, attentive and pleasant from bar to reception to cleaners. I couldn't fault one aspect of this hotel and that's saying a lot for me! I have travelled lots over the years and sampled many different types of hotels and accommodation but this little gem would take a bit of beating.

Room Tip: Sea view room worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Azul

Address: Avenida Gabriel Roca 7, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#10 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Azul 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the hotels in Palma de Mallorca, the Costa Azul Hotel a unique hotel and invites you to immerse yourself in the heart of Palma de Mallorca through a one-of-a-kind place, imbued with colour, poetry and Mediterranean. A place where feelings predominate and where you are the protagonist of each moment.Different from all the hotels in Palma de Majorca through its philosophy, services and personal attention, the Costa Azul Hotel is privileged to be the hotel on Palma Bay with the best views: a picture-window onto the sea through which you can dive directly into the essence of this unique city.Whether you're travelling as a couple, with friends or on business, get ready to feel the Mediterranean's embrace in every nook of our hotel in Palma. Let its innovative design and spacious guest rooms leave you open-mouthed; make yourself at home throughout; and minute by minute, build the holiday of your dreams.In our hotel in Palma de Majorca you'll find the perfect inspiration for making the city yours, and feeling that almost magical surprise which travelling, discovering and experimenting gives you.Come and discover our hotel in Palma: there's a whole sea of sensations that we want to sail over with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Costa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Costa Azul Hotel
Costa Azul Hotel Palma
Hotel Costa Azul Palma De Mallorca, Majorca
Costa Azul Palma De Mallorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.