We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UPDATED” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Azul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Azul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Gabriel Roca 7, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“UPDATED”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Fifth visit, like the location fairly impressed with updating but was in a very small room at the back and without a balcony, no bath. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice, not so keen on dinner menu. Staff throughout the hotel were faultless would certainly return.

Room Tip: Must have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    361
    97
    29
    19
See reviews for
91
393
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel was perfectly located for me. Only a lovely 15 minute walk to the old town and the inner city and nicely situated on the front of the port.We booked a premier sea view room with balcony. You could relax, sit out and look at the views on a the balcony as chairs and table provided.The room was very clean and modern.Beds comfortable although if you are a couple a I would suggest requesting your bed is a double/king and not two single beds pushed together.The hotel had just finished some construction which might explain why the ceiling tiles in our bathroom were loose and moving with the wind. I was concerned about this.The staff sent some workmen within 10 minutes to fix however, the job originally hadnt been finished which was slightly worrying! It didnt ruin our stay.The breakfast was good. I didnt go for dinner option as reviews were nt so good and I do prefer to sample the local restaurants when I go away.The terrace you can sun bathe on and there is a small pool which is ok and does the job.I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed with a group of friends travelling around the island. This was the best of four hotels we used. Good sized bedrooms, clean, modern bathrooms with good showers. Overlooking the harbour with great views. Pool on the sun terrace was a bonus. Sensible drinks prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Warning! Please use the safe when storing valuables. If you are not travelling with children make sure you do not have a room with interconnecting door. There are thieves around.

Update to hotel ok but done on the cheap, no full size mirror in cheaper rooms and the worst hairdryer i have ever come across!

Breakfast good and good position.

Room Tip: The rooms are very small unless you book a premium plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel. Last time we were in the old style rooms which were huge and comfortable. This time I was in one of the refurbished rooms which were beautiful and extremely comfortable. The shower room was large with modern suite. The only small criticism would be that there is no mirror in the room. I didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food but we used the coffee bar which serves lovely coffee and the staff were very friendly and the service was good. The location of the hotel is first class and is only a 5 to 10 minute walk to the centre and the shopping area. There is a bus stop near the hotel where the buses will take you along as far as Santa Ponsa and Port Pi for more shopping. A lovely hotel which I would recommend and will return.

Room Tip: A sea view would be an added bonus but choose a room higher up as your view could be blocked by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I visited the Costa Azul in April 2013 and spent four nights there. I've visited this hotel on at least 30 occasions over the last thirty years so obviously I'm rather fond of it! The hotel has almost completed a major refurbishment. When I was there the rooms on the first and second floors, the last to be refurbished, were due to be completed by the end of April so that all that remains to be completed is the pool bar on the third floor.

The standard of the refurbishment is excellent. The design of the bedrooms is super stylish as are the bathrooms. The quality of the food in the dining room has improved a little although there is less choice than before and this may be an issue for some people. Overall the hotel certainly deserves the four stars which it is now so proud to have.

The only downside for me, as a single traveler, is that the prices have risen considerably. My four night break in April cost me 290 euros. I think this was the last of the old "three star prices". When I tried to book the hotel for September this year, the cost for the same four night break is now 612 euros. That's a pretty hefty increase. I'm not convinced that gaining an extra star is worth a 110% increase in room rate!

However, I still regard the Costa Azul as an excellent hotel and if you want a hotel that is on the marina front then in my opinion this one has the best location. I probably will return to this hotel again but with the new prices I think it will only be once a year rather than twice a year as I had been doing recently.

Room Tip: If you want to get the best view of the marina and the cathedral then you are best to have a sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Costa Azul April/May for seven nights in room 501. Lovely hotel - minimilistic to an extreme. Our bedroom was large with enough cupboard space, modernistic bathroom with huge shower and a TV which actually had several English speaking channels. Best of all the beds - the most comfortable we've slept in for a long time. Each bed had three pillows of differing sizes and support. Large balcony overlooking the centre of the marina where we could watch the massive liners coming in and out. We were B&B and the breakfasts were good. Eggs and Bacon cooked to order. Don't know about the dinner service. Never actually saw many people using it. Not so keen on the dining room chairs - a most odd shape and made a disgusting noise when you moved them on the tiled floor. We used the small bar for coffee, which was good and inexpensive and which came with a couple of free pastries. The swimming pool was open, but the terrace and bar were still under renovation. The staff, all quite young, were friendly and happy to help regarding bus timetables, directions, connecting us to wifi, etc. Despite the hotel facing a six lane highway, we were mostly unaware of the noise inside. However, it is really bad on the streets walking down to the old town. We would use this hotel again and have already recommended it. If you don't know the area, get a good map. Find C&A's and that makes a focal point for exploring. Food can be pricey and a G&T can cost from €4 to €10. Plenty of Tapas available, particularly in the Placa Major where locals go. On Saturdays Placa Major has the market with street entertainers and the place buzzes. The buses are horrendous. Usually half to three-quarters of an hour late and the one-hour journey always takes much longer! Best place to visit is Port Andraxt - look for the Greek Restaurant Misos. Their moussaka is the best ever. My tip - go there and enjoy.

Room Tip: Fifth to eighth floor with a marine view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Azul

Address: Avenida Gabriel Roca 7, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#10 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Azul 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the hotels in Palma de Mallorca, the Costa Azul Hotel a unique hotel and invites you to immerse yourself in the heart of Palma de Mallorca through a one-of-a-kind place, imbued with colour, poetry and Mediterranean. A place where feelings predominate and where you are the protagonist of each moment.Different from all the hotels in Palma de Majorca through its philosophy, services and personal attention, the Costa Azul Hotel is privileged to be the hotel on Palma Bay with the best views: a picture-window onto the sea through which you can dive directly into the essence of this unique city.Whether you're travelling as a couple, with friends or on business, get ready to feel the Mediterranean's embrace in every nook of our hotel in Palma. Let its innovative design and spacious guest rooms leave you open-mouthed; make yourself at home throughout; and minute by minute, build the holiday of your dreams.In our hotel in Palma de Majorca you'll find the perfect inspiration for making the city yours, and feeling that almost magical surprise which travelling, discovering and experimenting gives you.Come and discover our hotel in Palma: there's a whole sea of sensations that we want to sail over with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Costa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Costa Azul Hotel
Costa Azul Hotel Palma
Hotel Costa Azul Palma De Mallorca, Majorca
Costa Azul Palma De Mallorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.