We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa to your Saves list
Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Miramar 8, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is an absolute diamond of a hotel! Only booked a long weekend trip just a week ago, we wanted a 5* hotel, quite, clean, close to centre of Old Town...we couldn't have been more thrilled with the décor, the award winning conversion of the 16th Century Palace of only 12 rooms including 5 suites...we enjoyed the extra space our Junior Suite gave us.. all named after composers...ours was Brahms..
The roof top terrace with splash pool giving the most peaceful..almost serene place to relax..and what an aspect to the Cathedral.. only 200yds away!!..Honesty bars..Mallorcan cake teas...all available .the staff were like family.. and we were only there for 3 days!!
We can not recommend this hotel highly enough...we will definitely go back with friends...PLEASE if you get the opportunity to visit Palma..stay here you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest

We really appreciate your comments; they encourage us to keep improving our services.

On behalf of hotel's staff, thank you very much for all this positive feedback. We are extremely glad you had a nice time with us. We hope to see you really soon!

Sincerely,
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    29
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
25
138
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Ca Sa Galesa was an amazing experience. The staff delivered impeccable service and the building itself was building, the rooms, the terrace overlooking the sea AND the cathedral - it was all a perfectly packaged experience and I only regret not having had time to stay longer. I travel frequently, almost weekly, and I love hotels but Ca Sa Galesa was beyond just a good hotel. Don't miss out!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest

We really appreciate your comments; they encourage us to keep improving our services.

On behalf of hotel's staff, thank you very much for the positive feedback.

We are extremely glad you had a nice time with us. We hope to see you really soon!

Sincerely,
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Having travelled all continents; few hotel experiences can compare with Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa in Palma. The limited size of the hotel and incredibly friendly staff make you feel truly special. The facilities are classy and the location fantastic. We give this hotel our warmest recommendation.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest

We really appreciate your comments; they encourage us to keep improving our services.

On behalf of hotel's staff, thank you very much for this positive feedback.

We are extremely glad you had a nice time with us. We hope to see you really soon!

Sincerely,
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCASHIRE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

From the moment we arrived the staff at this hotel were charming and helpful. The hotel was fully booked but it was so quiet we felt as though we had the place to ourselves. The underground pool was a lovely respite after a mornings sight seeing in the hot sunshine. The views from the terrace are spectacular. The room, Beethoven, could seriously do with a makeover as everything is dated and it is rather cluttered, however the location and wonderful staff more than make up for this. Would have no hesitation in reccomending this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest

We really appreciate your comments; they encourage us to keep improving our services.

On behalf of hotel's staff, thank you very much for this positive feedback.

We are extremely glad you had a nice time with us. We hope to see you really soon!

Sincerely,
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This small, intimate city-centre hotel is friendly, architecturally and historically interesting, and run by very helpful and friendly staff. Its location in the Old Town of Palma de Mallorca makes it an ideal base for discovering what the city has to offer - and it has much, from the Cathedral to the market to the art museum, all glued together with some high quality and stylish restaurants.

The Palacio Ca Sa Galesa is a restored 17th Century nobleman's house. It therefore does not come with a flat screen computer in every room, elevators that play specially composed music, uniformed doormen waiting to call taxis for you or indeed many of the other goodies that 5 star hotels around the world seem to think are necessary to attract the well-heeled traveller.

What it does provide is a charming, idiosyncratic layout, antique furnishings, original 20th Century artworks on the walls, a certain charm and a truly accommodating attitude on the part of the front office staff.

The hotel can arrange a limo transfer from the main airport just outside Palma (that, believe it or not, is the third busiest airport in the whole of Spain), and we took advantage of that option. It was nice to be whisked through the suburbs in an air-conditioned Mercedes van, sipping our chilled mineral water; but the journey time is less than twenty minutes and there seem to be plenty of taxis at the airport. The limo transfer I would say therefore is far from being a must. At €49 it is (just) on the right side of the value for money line, in my view.

The frontage of the hotel is a large wooden door on a narrow, delightful cobbled street. The Reception area is a small air-conditioned office on the Ground floor; and the rooms themselves are on the First and Second Floors.

Each room differs from its neighbour. All seem to be furnished to a high standard. The beds are comfortable (we stayed in two different rooms during our visit) although the mattresses are somewhat harder than those we are used to at home. There is an extensive pillow menu, at least one painting on the wall, satellite TV, well-appointed bathroom/shower, etc, etc in each room.

Our first room was Purcell. This is styled as a luxe suite by the hotel. It certainly had plenty of space and a central bathroom between the bedroom and lounge areas that I can only describe as "fin-de-siecle" in style. (Sorry, don't know the Spanish for this, or very much else actually.)

We moved to a smaller room (Sibelius) for the second part of our stay, and preferred this one partly because the bathroom layout was slightly more practical for husband-and-wife and also because Sibelius is at the rear of the hotel and therefore slightly quieter - it seems the rooms on the front can suffer a little from street noise.

In the morning you go down to the courtyard in order to visit a well-stocked breakfast room that provides English and German language newspapers and a more than adequate choice of things to eat and drink.

Post breakfast if you are not out exploring Palma you can visit a small spa area next to the breakfast room where massage and beauty treatments (as well as expert physiotherapy) can be booked and enjoyed; you can sit in an outdoor courtyard on the First Floor; you can enjoy the shared spaces such as the Library and Drawing Room; or you can head up to the Third Floor to the rooftop sun terrace.

Here there is an adequate number of loungers; a waterfall/shower you can use to cool off; four cabana-style tents (called Haimas) that you can rent for about €70 a day; and a bar area with drinks and quite substantial snacks (such as ciabatta sandwiches and so on).

The terrace is very relaxing and has a charming view over red tiled roofs (in one direction); out over the bay (in another) or, if you look to the right, one of the best views in Palma of the Cathedral.

The food service operates on an honesty system, using which you record your purchases on a pad a la mini-bar in many other hotels.

For one reason and another we spent about one and a half days snoozing in the Haimas. The rental price includes free snacks and drinks plus a bottle of Cava. There is also a flat screen TV but the range of English language channels was limited and anyway the sun was too bright for much TV watching. The Terrace on the whole is a relaxing place, and TV is not really essential in such a location.

If you wish you can take your spa treatment on the Terrace. You may or may not like the slight reduction in privacy, compared to a spa treatment room, that this entails; but receiving a treatment under the hot Mediterranean sun for my money was an unusual and enjoyable experience.

The hotel does not have a restaurant as such. If you wish to dine in you can take your pick from a range of locations around the building and your food will be brought to you. We did this for one evening and had a very well prepared Paella as recommended by the hotel staff.

The wine list is limited to say the least. The quality of the wines however is good.

The hotel has a very small gym equipped with cardiovascular machines but really it is too small to be of much use. There is an exercise pool in the basement including a water jet that provides swimming resistance. The pool is not large enough to let you swim lengths.

There are some free weights but not much room to use them - it is easier just to borrow the ones you need and take them to your room, where there is plenty of space for a workout.

The hotel offers free tea and cake in the Kitchen every afternoon - this reminded me of our stay at Mohonk Mountain House some years ago - and in the early evening you can help yourself to a glass of sherry.

The bar is well equipped drinks-wise and again you just record what you take using a pad and pencil. Overall the feeling very much is that you are staying in the house of a wealthy, generous host who has just had to nip out for an hour or so while you make yourself comfortable.

The staff in the hotel are extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful (as are the spa staff, who I think are brought in from beauty and wellness businesses in Palma). The Front Desk can book you tickets for anything on the island it seems and appears also to know the most fashionable restaurants in town. The restaurant recommendations really felt like "insider knowledge" - we got some great tables and consumed the highest standards of food and wine.

The hotel's location is ideal for visiting on foot most of what the centre of Palma has to offer.

So overall, this is a little jewel of a hotel the memory of which will remain vivid for a long time to come. The only things that stop the place from getting 5/5 from me are firstly the tiny size of the gym and pool area - and of course I accept that the hotel cannot create a larger footprint than that of the original house - the slightly limited wine choice at dinner, and little else really. One should not lightly give out a perfect score, but this place came pretty close; and we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: I suggest one of the rooms at the back, away from the street, if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest

We really appreciate your comments; they encourage us to keep improving our services.
Thanks for your extended description of our hotel, its facilities and its services. Actually, you have taken a very accurate picture of what Palacio Ca Sa Galesa is.

Regarding our small gym unfortunately we haven't more room to make it bigger, as you already pointed out. However, we’ve tried to make the most of it. We have equipped it with few, but high quality fitness machines.

We are extremely glad you had a nice time with us. We hope to see you really soon! We promise to work hard to get a 5 next time.

Sincerely,
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This our 3rd time here each time for a week in three different rooms all individual the staff are the best had a massage today on the terrace one of the best I've had. Travelled from Australia to be here.
This room we are in this time is the Gershwin it has its own private terrace
Will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest

We really appreciate your comments; they encourage us to keep improving our services.

We are extremely glad you had a nice time with us. We hope to see you really soon!

Sincerely,
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WREXHAM
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome and Patricia, especially made us feel at home. Nothing was any trouble to any of the staff. The hotel has been lovingly restored and maintained ; a credit to the owners. The decor and fine furnishings in the reception rooms made you feel as if you are living in that period of time . No cheap imitations here !The room we were in "Brahms" was quite spacious and had 2 windows overlooking the inner courtyard. Any food /snacks or drinks from the bar or terrace bar one helped themselves to and the hotel relied upon your honesty to write down what you had taken. very unusal ! We found the bed and bedding perfect and very comfortable.As far as breakfast there was a 3 tier pricing depending on what you wanted to eat. This to us was the only fault to mention.Considering the price paid per night is averaging 375 euros the extra cost of 25 euros per person for breakfast was a bit steep so we ate out nearby. However worth mentioning is the complimentary fruit, afternoon tea, chilled sherry and cake was a nice touch.The rooftop terrace has a splashpool and sunbed leisure area with a good view of the church and the sea. The indoor swimming pool was very tranquil , with subtle lighting ....but the water was just a bit too cool for my liking . If I was visiting Majorca again I would definately stay at the Palacio Ca Sa Galesa again

Room Tip: I believe Gershwin is very good as it has a terrace, Shubert was recommended to me by one of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We really appreciate your comments; they encourage us to keep improving our services. Also, on behalf of the hotel staff, we would like to thank you for all the positive references.

We will take note of your kind observations about breakfast. Everyday we offer 3 different styles: Express, Continental and Buffet. Each one has a different setting and price so they can all meet our guests’ diverse needs. We apologize in case we weren't able to bring this information to you while you stayed with us.

We are extremely glad you had a nice time with us and we hope to see you really soon!

Best regards,
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa

Address: C/ Miramar 8, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#18 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palacio Ca Sa Galesa is an iconic 5-stars boutique-hotel in the heart of Palma de Mallorca. It is located in an elegant XVI century palace which perfectly combines island's architecture with French, Italian and English style.This charming hotel has 12 rooms, all of them unique and different. The wonderful interiors of Palacio Ca Sa Galesa are smartly decorated with valuable works of art by great artists such as Miro, Calder or Bennasar. The hotel is equipped with comfortable lounges and meeting rooms, a library, a bar, a restaurant, a breakfast room, a quiet courtyard for relaxing and a spacious terrace for sunbathing. Hotel's excellent location allows guests enjoying some excellent views of Palma's bay and Cathedral.Palacio Ca Sa Galesa offers a wide variety of quality services including Wi-Fi Internet access, 24 hour room service, express check-in/out, air conditioning, heating, parking facilities, free bike rental and a new wellness area with gym, thermal bath circuit, heated indoor pool, sauna, Roman bath, Jacuzzi and health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Ca Sa Galesa Hotel
Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.