We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the reviews!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Parada del Mar

La Parada del Mar
Av.Joan Miro 244 Marivent | 07015, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
+34 971 59 27 06
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,349 restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: This is a original and delicius restaurant seafood
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

What can we say! This is a fantastic place - a bit plainer than your average restaurant but what amazing fish. It's all about the fish. You look at the fish you want in the chiller, pick it, sit down and wait for your number to be called so you can go collect your meal. They really only do fish and salad and that's it. Drinks too of course. It's so very simple but better for it. We loved the concept and they don't apoloigse for it; neither should they. The staff are some of the friendliest and helpful we met in Palma and they helped make it a great night - we had quite a laugh. We had to get a taxi to and from but it was the most reasonably priced meal we had in the city and so we didn't care! It was still very good value for money. We were sat enjoying our meal listing all of our friends who would love this type of restaurant and we will be rushing back here on our next visit to Palma for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    181
    96
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Best meal of our holiday. You go up to the counter and choose your fish from the display and type of salad . Then take a no to your table and wait to be called. Staff very friendly and food delicious. We had grilled squid and seabass. All cooked perfectly. First restaurant we have been to where they haven't charged for bread. Wine also inexpensive. Very reasonably priced. So much better than the touristy restaurants in puerto portals. Definitely worth a visit
Bar next door also good for a drink

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great concept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We love fish and shellfish and visited La Parada both in Santa Ponsa and in Cala Mayor. Compared to La Paradetta in Barcelona, which we were told was the model for the two Paradas on Mallorca, the selection of fish and shellfish was smaller and less interesting although we were in the middle of the high season. We hit a good night in Santa Ponsa - only us and one more table gave us a chance to talk to the nice guy behind the counter. In Cala Mayor we hit a bad night. Lots of people, and we had to wait for our food for more than an hour like everybody else. The owner excused very much and gave us the wine on the house - a nice touch. We hope that the kitchen is on track now. Love the concept of picking out your live seafood and having it cooked fast and simple.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I ended up at La Parada del Mar by a coincident as I just happen to pass by. Nothing is better than having a fantastic restaurang experience without any pre knowledge or expactations. La Parada del Mar provided just that. Excellent, Many Thanks!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Seafood heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

What can I say? The place is heaven for a seafood lover and an excellent quirky experience. Staff are lovely, food is even better and the big bonus is the price. Very reasonable for what you get.

If you live in Majorca (I am jealous) or on holiday please visit. My only shame is that my Spanish is poor when the kitchen calls your number and you have to collect your food. This is one of the things that make the place special!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parada del Mar also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to La Parada del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Parada del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.