We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Would Love to Return to this Beautiful Hotel Overlooking the Sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer Raixa, 2 | Urbanización Son Vida, 07013 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I Would Love to Return to this Beautiful Hotel Overlooking the Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel felt grand. We stayed for a week in July 2013. We had upstairs room with a large balcony that we used for cocktails and coffee. The view from the restaurant/breakfast room was so very beautiful and we ate outside every morning we were there - wonderful! The breakfast was two large rooms of delicious food and a very friendly man at the omelette station that seemed to speak every language! The rooms in this hotel are not cookie cutter as in America and our friends rooms was also very nice but smaller than ours. The furnishings were all very nice throughout the hotel. We found all of the staff very friendly and helpful. A very good fitness room, inside and outside pool and lovely grounds. This hotel is on the hill outside of town, but we had a rental car and found it a quick drive to city center. Note that buildings in Spain are not always air conditioned and sometimes the hotel rooms are, but all the public spaces within are not, but all areas of this hotel were and provided the much needed comfort we wanted in hot July. I would love to return to Castillo Hotel !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ODCGM, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Ahyden,

thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay with us in July of last year.

We were delighted to read that you would love to return and we very much hope that you will soon have the opportunity - we would love to welcome you back here at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida. Thank you again for your encouraging words.

Kind regards,

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    91
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
82
242
13
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Castillo Hotel Son Vida is a very good hotel, and it should be - as it's not cheap. But, put that to one side for a moment. What really stands out is the service - everybody I dealt with, from the guy who brought me an iron (yes, there's not one in the room) to the concierge and room service, couldn't have been more friendly.

The hotel is built into the side of a steep hill, so strangely the lobby is at ground level and many of the rooms are below this level, looking out from the hill-side. The rooms are a good size and have an excellent bathroom which features an internal window with external views (sounds weird, it's not). The shower is great and with good quality toiletries. In-room wi-fi also very stable and quick. A small balcony with table/chairs completed the room nicely.

Around the hotel, the furnishings in bars and lounges are excellent quality. Outdoor areas vast and spotless, with far-reaching views. There are spa and golf facilities on-site but sadly for me, no time to use either.

Over-all this place delivers exactly what a high-end hotel should. Yes, it's expensive - but you get what you pay for and I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have more far-reaching views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ODCGM, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Seal2K,

thank your for sharing your positive feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us here at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.

Our associates work hard to deliver excellent service and I am sure that they will be very motivated by your encouraging comments. The hardware of a hotel is very important, but it is indeed the "software" that tends to make the difference. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back here at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.

Kind regards,

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I recently spent a week at the Castillo Son Vida, and probably had the best service I've ever had at any hotel. From the general manager, Ramon, who helped with the booking, to Pep at the front desk, Matthew the doorman, the concierge, the waiters in the restaurants and room service staff, we were treated like royalty.

The hotel is beautiful, rooms are of a good size (we stayed in a deluxe double) and views of Palma city, the cathedral and the bay are fantastic, especially from the terrace. When we checked in, Pep mentioned sights to check out in town, then went out of his way to print out some recommendations and had it delivered to us while we were having drinks in the bar. One day we had some problems with hot water, which we reported to the front desk. They sent a maintenance person to check it out immediately, then later delivered a note, a bottle of wine and some chocolates to us to as an apology for the inconvenience.

Another day, we ordered room service lunch, which arrived in 15 minutes. We were invited to a cocktail reception for guests one evening. The concierge helped us book a rental car, which was delivered to us at the hotel the following day. To return the car, we simply had to leave the keys at the front desk. During the entire week, the hotel staff seemed to go out of their way to ensure our needs were met. We asked for a late check out due to an evening flight, and the staff was incredibly accommodating. Pep even came to our room to personally review our account with us! I travel quite a bit for business and pleasure, and have never experienced such service and warmth at a hotel.

I would highly recommend the Hotel Son Vida, even if you don't golf. It is a great place to relax. With such a friendly and helpful staff, you won't want to leave the property. I would definitely stay there again on a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ODCGM, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Yvonne A,

thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us here at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.

I am delighted to read that is was our associates who made all the difference - thank you for your encouraging words.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida on your next visit to Mallorca.

Kind regards,

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiangmai
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

A castle was renovated and expanded to accommodate guests while the property is stands on top of a hill surrounded by golf courses. Excellent, warm and professional service can be expected...my compliments to the GM. Although I only stayed for a single night, my wish was to return for 3 nights and to play some golf. It got sad that a few month after my stay, I had to leave the country for New York City.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ODCGM, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Agkarajit,

thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor following you stay back in April last year.

We were particularly pleased to read your comments about the service you experienced from our associates and we very much hope that despite now living a little further away you will hopefully return some day to Mallorca and to the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a unique property, a renovated and expanded castle property high on a hill overlooking Palma. They call themselves Mallorca's balcony for good reason. The views are magnificent. My favorite memory from this last January are the mornings I sat and watched the sun rise over Palma from the windows of the hotel's restaurant. There is also a huge balcony outside (a little cold this early in the year) for evening cocktails for enjoying the evening lights. Speaking of breakfast, no one does an out of the world breakfast like the Spanish and I have been privileged to sample a few, but this is the best. Even though the hotel was hardly full in this off-season, the quality and diversity of offerings was unbelievable. I could, and maybe will, go back just to savor the quiet early mornings with a feast fit for any member of royalty.

The room was great with,needless to say,a great view. Terrific bathtub. Wonderful service from everyone.

The only downside is that this great location for views is away from the action. There is a municipal bus that goes downtown but it is about an hour and a half round trip. If you like golf, the view is enhanced by multiple local courses serviced by a hotel shuttle. There are other places closer to the beach. There are both in and outdoor pools.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ODCGM, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Texastravveler,

thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay with us in January.

Our aim is to make all our guests feel like royalty, therefore we were very happy to read that you felt like a princess in a fairy tale. Thank you again for your encouraging words, we very much hope to see you again sometime soon here at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.

Kind regards,

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilkley yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at this hotel once again in June 2013, for two weeks.

Once again we were not disappointed, from the very warm welcome from our fantastic, friendly and professional Tomas, aided by Mathew. These guys really make you feel welcome and you have just arrived.

Your luggage is magically delivered to your room, with the reception staff providing a speedy and proficient check-in.

We were allocated a room on the eighth floor, as requested, with the spectacular views down over Palma.

Without wishing to repeat myself, my wife and I had a wonderful time once again.

The food is great, the breakfasts are superb, with much choice, catering for all tastes.

We appreciate the overall experience and friendliness of Domingo, he provides a steady hand at the restaurant tiller, leads by example, works hard and makes the restaurant tick.

Domingo is ably assisted by his trusted waiters, who provide excellent service, with a smile, professional standards and friendly dispositions.

The hotel does not change, that is its major quality, the staff makes the hotel different.

Yes, the location is fantastic, Yes, the rooms are good, Yes, the golf is great, but above all else the staff are exceptional, please keep it up and we look forward to seeing you again later this year.

Ends:

Room Tip: Eighth floor with views over Palma.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ODCGM, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Olicanaboy,

thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.

I was particularly proud to read your comments about our associates - there are many nice hotels out there but it is indeed the associates that do make the difference. Thank you for your encouragement, I will be very happy to share your impressions with the entire team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon here at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.

Kind regards,

Oscar del Campo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Excellent hotel, great location with first class restaurants and service.
Very quiet and perfect for a get away. Location is ideal for both being away from Palma, but close to routes enabling easy exploration of the island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Carrer Raixa, 2 | Urbanización Son Vida, 07013 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#2 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castillo Hotel Son Vida is a turreted 13th century building in a characteristic Mallorcan country house style. The hotel is surrounded by Mediterranean gardens and the golf course Son Vida and two other golf courses; Son Muntaner and Son Quint are only two minutes away. It offers magnificent views over the city and the bay of Palma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.