We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for small children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mallorca Arabella Golf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Mallorca Arabella Golf Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Mallorca Arabella Golf Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer de la Vinagrella | Urbanization Son Vida, 07013 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not for small children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Wonderful friendly staff. Clean, spacious room (Junior Suite) with fabulous views over golf course. Room slightly dated but all freshly painted. Fabulous golf according to my husband and son. Beautiful pool area and lush garden. Unfortunately on one of the days at the pool a German woman complained about the noise two little boys were making in the pool and an English gent backed up her complaint. I must say I was so disappointed to see the life gaurd speak to the mother of the two boys. She promptly removed them from the pool and left. If the pool area is not somewhere small boys can have lots of fun and make some noise I dont know where is.The only other complaint I have is the same as the other reviewers - the food. Very, very poor and ridiculously expensive. Get a taxi to Palma!

Room Tip: We asked for late checkout and could not keep our own room so were moved to a small double - very, v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGGM, General Manager at Sheraton Mallorca Arabella Golf Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We regret your experience in the swimmingpool and that the food did not meet your expectations. It is important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve and maintain our standards.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future, we send you

sunny regards from Mallorca
Babette G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    38
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
21
59
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The Sheraton is in a good location set beautifully on the golf course. However, the hotel and its rooms are very old and outdated. We were in a room on the first floor and the room furniture were all stained from years of use. We also had alot of mosquitoes and small fruit flies in the room. Would definitely not recommend this hotel simply based on this.

Hotel reception staff tend to be a bit sexist and only addressed male members of our family. Which I found rather offensive. Other staff (F&B and houskeeping) were all good quality and helpful.

Hotel gym equipment was also very old and the gym itself is very small but well equipped.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGGM, General Manager at Sheraton Mallorca Arabella Golf Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We regret that your experience did not meet your expectations. Guest's feedback is very important for us and we will forward your comments to our team.

We hope you give us another opportunity and please feel free to contact us directly if you wish to comment anything else.

Best regards,
Babette G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Nice property with a surprisingly "small hotel" feel for a Sheration, particularly when relatively quiet as during our visit. Friendly and helpful staff, and for once very good previsit organisation of tee times, treatments etc. Clean and well cared for, although starting to show signs of wear and tear since last refurb. Great location for the 3.5 golf courses, all of which are well maintained and a decent challenge. The inclusive golf room rates are worth it if you plan to play daily. SPA and relaxation areas are nice, ask for a golfers massage from Anja. I would echo the comments that the service, atmosphere and price/quality in the restaurant currently don't live up to the rest of the hotel. In you are staying B&B, for the sake of 20minutes in a taxi, even factoring in the 20-25eur round trip fare to the city centre you can eat better (variety, quality, atmosphere) at Mallorca's top resataurants for the same or less money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGGM, General Manager at Sheraton Mallorca Arabella Golf Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for posting your nice comment on tripadvisor.

We feel sorry that the atmosphere and price/quality in our restaurants did not meet your expectations. Guest feedback is very important to us in order to continuously maintain and improve our standards.

We hope to welcome you soon again and send you
sunny regards from Mallorca,

Babette G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 via mobile

With its 3 excellent courses and convenient shuttle transfers this is a good choice for keen golfers. The caddy masters even clean your clubs. We were however very disappointed with the slow and unsatisfactory service at dinner in the Plat d'Or restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGGM, General Manager at Sheraton Mallorca Arabella Golf Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comment regarding your recent stay in our hotel. It is important for us to get feedback from our guests.

We regret that your experience in our restaurant Plat d'Or did not meet your expectations and will take your comments as an opportunity to improve our service.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Kind regards,
Babette G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Our group of 9 golfers spent a great golfing holiday in this golf resort at the end of October. Everything worked perfectly, including the transportations from and to the airport and the golfing tee-times. SPA in very nice as well as the rooms. Specially golf courses Son Quint and Son Muntaner were in good condition, despite of some heavy rain in previous days.
We also got good and very quick responses to all our e-mails before the trip. So special thanks to Ms Lakenmann! We can really recommend this place to all golfers. Olli P.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGGM, General Manager at Sheraton Mallorca Arabella Golf Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your nice comments on tripadvisor. We are very pleased that you had a good time in our hotel.

Guest's feedback is very important for us and we will certainly forward your comments to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your group again in the near future.

Best regards,
Babette G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband and I spent 10 nights here in August. We both enjoyed the hotel overall and would considering returning for weekend, but the service at the hotel was very inconsistent. Throughout our entire stay, Rafael (who works at the front desk) was the shining star at the hotel. He was always happy, attentive and willing to help us come up with restaurants to visit, places to see, etc. If everyone we encountered at the hotel were as enjoyable to deal with as he, I would suggest this hotel without reservation.

The main issue with this hotel is that there were not enough people working at any one time- this includes at the front desk, at the restaurant and merely needing a bellman to collect luggage. When we arrived on a Friday morning, nobody came outside to help with our bags. We finally hauled our bags and clubs inside when someone finally appeared. I understand that this is a small thing, but it is an underwhelming first impression to have. Check in was easy, and the hotel stored our bags for us until our room was ready. On the second afternoon of our trip, I went to the concierge to get some restaurant suggestions for the following evening (as many restaurants close on Sunday). She was less than enthused to help me and did her best to just tell me to come back tomorrow to deal with restaurant options. I learned that there really is no true 'concierge' at this property. One person from the front desk just sits at the Concierge desk for a couple of hours a day but doesn't necessarily have the knowledge of restaurants or information about Mallorca one would expect from a concierge. We are pretty self-sufficient travelers, and we had made most of our restaurant reservations before arriving. If I had actually expected the hotel to help me in doing any planning, I would have been unimpressed (this was also high season, and the property was fully booked). Our biggest aggravation came half way through the trip. We stayed on Cash and Points, so we had two reservations- one for the first 5 nights and one for the second. A woman at the front desk asked me to sign the information/contract for the second half of our trip, and the price was WAY off. We were paying USD60/night plus points. The paper given to me had our rate at 100+euros per night. I said that this was incorrect, but having it remedied proved to be a multi-day ordeal. One manager even tried to explain to my husband and me that we just didn't understand currency fluctuations and that the number was correct. We are Americans who live in London and travel to continental Europe on a monthly basis. Our lives are run by currency fluctuations, but nowhere in reality does USD60=100euro! This wound up being corrected on our final bill, but it took days and days for this to happen.

The pool was fantastic. The main pool is gigantic, and there is ample room between pairs of lounges. Each pair has an umbrella as well, which was very welcomed considering the August sun. Even at full occupancy the pool area never felt crowded, and there was no need to wake up early to reserve chairs. There was one poor woman at the pool serving everyone ordering drinks and food. She worked so hard to keep everyone happy but had a hard time keeping up with the orders. The pool restaurant is VERY slow and understaffed as well, but this just goes back to my original comment concerning a lack of personnel working at the property. As an aside, my husband and I went to the Luxury Collection property on out last afternoon. The service at the restaurant there was no better, and the pool was so crowded that it looked like something one would find on the deck of a cruise ship. I had been wondering if we made the wrong decision staying at the less posh resort, but after that experience I was very relieved that we chose the Sheraton instead.

My husband was thrilled with golf being included in the rate. He played all three courses. I only played the par-3 and then spent some time at the range. This resort is fantastic for anyone wanting to golf, and the shuttle service makes getting to and from the courses simple.

The rooms were nice. I felt that they had a very corporate feel to them- dark carpet, dark wood furniture and bathrooms in need some of updating. At the same time, they are nice and large and easily fit our clubs and bags. We didn't spend much time in the room, so the only thing I really cared about was the very comfortable bed.

The hotel has a car rental agency on the property. We rented a car for two days. The representatives were easy to deal with, and we were happy to pay the premium to deal with an on premises agency.

I don't mean to give a review that spends more time on my issues than on positive comments, but I feel it is important for the hotel to know that service is not its strong point. In addition, travelers who really want a luxury experience might not find what they are looking for here. For travelers who are a bit more relaxed and don't need very high-end service, most can be blissfully happy here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGGM, General Manager at Sheraton Mallorca Arabella Golf Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear guests ,
first of all we would like to thank you very much for taking your time and giving us this detailed comments about you stay in our hotel
It is very important for us to receive this feedback. This is the only way to be able to improve and will help us to get better in our service.
We appreciate very much all your comments and will take this as an opportunity to improve. We would be very happy welcoming you back once again .

Thank you very much again and sunny regards from Mallorca

Babette G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Arrived for 1 night in this hotel, when we were showed to our beautiful rooms. Nature around this hotel is stunning and views are great.

Nice and relaxing pool area.

Staff really official and never really happy, just correct.

Would not stay here for a long holiday as you really need a car, and there is nothing in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGGM, General Manager at Sheraton Mallorca Arabella Golf Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comment regarding your recent stay in our hotel.

It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve and maintain our standards.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Met vriendelijke groeten vanuit Mallorca,
Babette G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mallorca Arabella Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mallorca Arabella Golf Hotel

Address: Carrer de la Vinagrella | Urbanization Son Vida, 07013 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#14 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Mallorca Arabella Golf Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among Mediterranean style gardens and the fairways of the prestigious Son Vida golf course, the ArabellaSheraton Golf Hotel Son Vida provides extraordinary golf facilities in a setting of grandeur. Located near the ancient port city of Palma, this intimately charming hotel was designed in the style of a Spanish mansion and reflects authentic Mediterranean architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Mallorca Arabella Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabella Sheraton Son Vida
Sheraton Palma De Mallorca
Palma Sheraton
Sheraton Mallorca Arabella Golf Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mallorca Arabella Golf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.