We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location,welcoming staff but expensive for what you get !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palau Sa Font

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palau Sa Font to your Saves list
Palau Sa Font
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apuntadores, 38, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain (La Llotja-Born)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
london and tunis
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good location,welcoming staff but expensive for what you get !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The lady at the reception was exceptionally useful and patient. She helped us as soon as we arrive to choose where to go to swim and where to eat. We was very well educated and classy and we therefore had confidence on her choices that end up being great !
Otherwise, the location is very very good but I personally believe that 186 euros is a lot for the room we had that was super basic with no view and quite small, also the bathroom was really really small and basic also we could barely flush as it wasn't working properly so we were not very happy with that.
If you can choose a better room or may be take a suite, at that price, then it would be worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    32
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
54
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Having sailed around Ibiza for a week, this was the perfect hotel to come back to. It is very close to the port and as soon as we walked through the door the reception was great. The staff were very helpful and allowed us to put all our bags in to one of the rooms that was already ready as we had arrived early. This is the third time that we have stayed in this hotel and every time the staff have been very friendly and super accommodating. The hotel does a great breakfast that was included in our rate. It lies on one of the main streets that you want to be on in Palma as there are some great little tapas bars around as well as its close to Hotel Puro which is pretty cool if you fancy laying out some cash. There is a great bar round the corner owned by english guy called Mark who is showing all the rugby and is doing a very reasonable breakfast. Unfortunately I cant remember the name, something like Jago. There is a plunge pool on the 1st floor of the hotel which is a real sun trap until about 4pm and is usually quiet mostly with only one or two guests out there, although that is enough. Cant recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I arrived very late after delays at airport and was received with a very warm welcome. Lovely hotel, converted to really high standards yet still keeping the original feel of the buliding. Really good sized "singe" room with a huge bathroom- great shower with "eco" products that put some of the big brands to shame. Great hairdryer -a must for us girls who travel light. Have I mentioned the plung pool,beach towels, sun terrance and the airy tower with fab views of La Seu Cathedral- a wonderful area to chill out before heading out to the nearby tapas bars and squares for a cocktail. Area feels secure when travelling solo. Two minuites walk to sea and marina views. Bus stop nearby to Palma's beaches - would I go back - definately.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I think if you are overcharging compared to your peer group to must have something special to offer - unfortunately no, the staff were mixed some helpful some very unhelpful and surly, namely the night porter when trying to get into the hotel at 10.30pm with everything completely locked up - greeted with "its ok I wasn't going to let you sleep on the street".
The room is very dated, cold, spartan, hostel like so pleased it was only one night.
I mentioned the peer group which I also stayed at, Hotel Tres which is in the same street and Swedish owned, in a word excellent - Staff, room, food, style, comfort, location and price.
Also in the same category but in a quieter area is Hotel Santa Clara which was very nice and is high up the Tripadvisor list, which just proves its very accurate and just feel Number 30 is a little to generous for Palau Sa Font.
Palma is great what a wonderful city.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

We spent two nights at Palau and found it to be what we seek when we travel - small, personal and well located. It is impeccably designed, clean and secure. The staff is remarkable and we felt like old friends. This is a criteria we use to determine places to which we will return.

Very fast wired internet connection (wireless is so random and often overloaded it is wise to carry a short Ethernet cable), powerful AC, updated and spacious bathroom, very quiet room, and again - friendly and fluent staff.

Highly recommended if you seek something other than a giant, impersonal cement bunker. As far as pricing - sure, you can spend less, and get less. Be my guest. we'll return here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We have just returned from 7 days at the Palau Sa Font and have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
We had 2 nights in a Large room which although was more than adequate with a very comfortable bed and great bathroom, 2 nights was enough.
However, we then had 5 nights in the Junior Suite which was fantastic and the private terrace wsas wonderful.
Yes all rooms are sparsly furnished and there are no "fancy" fixtures and fittings, but they have a lovely mediteranean feel to them with splashes of colour in the light fittings and chairs etc. The beds are extremely comfortable and the buffet breakfast is fantastic. Although close to the night life of Palma we had no problems with street noise day or night.
The staff are extremely helpfull and friendly, and the location is ideal for those who are looking forward to a night out on the town.
We will return to the Palau Sa Font as soon as we can.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Stayed here three days during Easter week at a rate of €185 a night. No doubt a premium was applied as this is a busy time but be under no illusions, your room is not something you would want to pay more than €80 for. A previous reviewer accurately described the spartan offerings that wait for you. The bare terrazzo floors are worthy of a youth hostel. No rug, cushion or armchair to soften the barrack like ambience. The bathroom in our 'superior double' was large enough and the shower powerful but everything is so unbelievably cheap - toilet paper that is more like tracing paper, a nasty plastic waste bin that Argos would be pleased to sell you for £4.50, and single liquid soap dispenser rather than the normal individually wrapped items most hotels above 3 stars provide. The paintwork was cracked and there is no safe on the room. The room was not properly cleaned and the sheets were not changed in three days.

All this you would live with happily if the price fairly reflected the level of comfort, but it doesn't.

And how can I not mention the 'artwork' adorning the door to each room. A word of advice to the proprietors - rather than waste your money on gimmicky bad art why not put in better doors and soundproofing so that your guests can actually stand a chance of getting some quiet rest.

But not all was bad, the bed was comfortable, the breakfast buffet is good, the staff very friendly and helpful and the location is convenient for the historic centre. But would I stay here again? Palma definitely as it's lovely, but this hotel, no way. Not at these prices.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Palau Sa Font? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palau Sa Font

Address: Apuntadores, 38, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca > La Llotja-Born
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#32 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palau Sa Font 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some have called us "Spanish Spartan", or minimalist. We wanted to achieve a cool, calm and collected feel to our rooms, because we believe cool doesn't mean cold. A no-fuss, quietly stylish environment where you'll be able to unwind and make the most of your time on the island. Because we love what we do, we're always pleased to see our regulars, and look forward to meeting new guests. Welcome to the Palau Sa Font. Update 2015: It was time for a change and we completely redid the majority of our bathrooms. We opted for a updated fresh style and made sure that the new toilet flushes work smoothly :-) (we had some issues with the old ones in the past). Also, we soundproofed the rooms that were particularly exposed to noise. Come and tell us what you think! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your Palau Sa Font reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palau Sa Font Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Palau Sa Font Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palau Sa Font, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.