We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality, centrally located hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saratoga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saratoga to your Saves list
Hotel Saratoga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Mallorca 6, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“High quality, centrally located hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Due to the volcanic erruption, our flight was unable to land at Heathrow, like many others, and our airline accommodated us at this hotel for several nights.

Check in was swift and staff were very helpful and polite. Our room, a family suite, was very large and decorated in a modern, contemporary style. The bathroom was also well laid out and on the large side with a good choice of complimentary toiletries.

Breakfast was buffet style in the downstairs dining room and food was of a high quality. We ordered room service and food, although on the expensive side, was delivered promptly and was again of a high standard, delicious steak sandwich.

This hotel is excellently located for both sightseeing, with the Cathedral located approx 10 mins walk away, and for shopping in Palma. This is an ideal hotel for couples wanting a city break, not particularly for those with children.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    193
    74
    34
    13
See reviews for
39
187
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

This hotel is located on the western edge of the city centre, close to the inner ring road. It is immediately adjacent to an upmarket shoping street, but about 10 mins walk from the central plaza and it's surrounding streets. The hotel has spacious and well furnished public rooms and two sun terraces with outdoor pools - one on the ground floor and one on the roof. There is a nice "jazz club" on the 7th floor, with free admission to several live performances each week.

The "superior" room we stayed in had an east facing terrace - giving early morning sunshine and views over the ground floor pool, but the terrace was fully shaded after lunch. There were two three foot beds pushed together, with queen sized bedding on top. The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath with a powerful shower over it and was immaculately clean. Other useful facilities in the room included a safe, a fridge and a flat screen TV - although only two channels (BBC News and CNN) were in English. There was free WiFi in the room - but connection to the internet was not reliable.

There were two significant problems. Firstly, our room got uncomfortably hot at night (25 degrees according to my digital thermometer) and whilst the hotel has an "air conditioning system" in the rooms, we discovered that it was set centrally to "heating only mode" and pumped out very hot air - rather like a fan heater. When I complained about this, I was told that they only switch the system into cooling mode later in the year !!! Secondly, the ceilings, walls and doors offered very little sound proofing and we had to use ear plugs at night, so that we were not woken by other guests returning to their rooms at night or the cleaning staff banging doors in the morning. There were further, minor issues such as no tea or coffee making facilities in the room - and no room service until the bar opened at 10.30am. If you like a hot drink early in the morning and don't intend to spend €20 (each) for the buffet breakfast, remember to take a travel kettle with you.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We arrived early evening on the 1st April, we had booked a suite via their website and were expecting great things. We were given suite 401.

This has got to be the worst hotel room i have ever seen, a hideous YELLOW colour scheme with faux marble effect pillars. The room was tired, with marks on the walls, grotty carpets, rugs and threadbare sofas and bed spread and to say the room was a suite is to have been extremely generous, it had a separate sitting area at the end of the bed but, really wasn't very spacious.

We called reception and asked if they had another room, no questions were asked about why (which made me suspicious - had this happened before?). Testament to the staff, they were helpful and polite throughout and we were shown/given another room immediately.

The second room was directly above the other and looked to have been refitted recently, nothing was threadbare and grotty carpets and rugs had been replaced with vinyl tiles - slightly better! But still calling the room a suite was generous.

We both breathed a small sigh of relief and settled into a quiet night ahead of sightseeing etc the following day.

We knew about the jazz bar when we booked and hadn't minded, both of us like jazz very much and intended to spend time in the bar but the first night were tired and wanted some rest after traveling. Instead of quiet we quickly realised the bar was above our heads, in fact upon closer inspection the following day the drum kit and band were directly above our "suite" ... No sleep for us until the music stopped - midnight - not too bad.

But then the street noise started, the window very close to the side of our bed had no double glazing and was badly fitted offering no protection from the road/people/recycling noise at all.

Add this to the rock-hard bed and pillows and we were in for a long long night of noise, tossing/turning and generally not sleeping.

I have stayed in a number of city hotels, one in particular in Barcelona on Las Ramblas (Hotel 1898) ... the room was sound proofed, unless you opened the window you could not hear a thing!!

So, the room was noisey beyond belief and the bed was the most uncomfortable thing I have ever slept (tried to ... ) sleep in! I mean, surely these are 2 of the most important things to get right in a HOTEL! I am there to sleep and enjoy myself, I can't enjoy myself if i am sleep deprived.

On the plus side, I don't want to end sounding like a crabby so and so! The staff were great, friendly helpful and attentive and the service on the whole was what saved this expereince.

I will be going back to Palma, it is a beautiful city and I have an office based there but I won't be going back to Hotel Saratoga!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We have stayed in Palma regularly over the last few years and always stayed in one of the hotels on the seafront overlooking the Marina. Having passed the Saratoga each time on our way to the city centre thought we would make a change of location, The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the city centre, the old city area with cathedral and walks along the seafront and the marina.
On arrival we were greeted by very friendly reception staff. We were allocated a standard room, after declining a 10 euoros per night surcharge for a superior room, on the third floor overlooking the pool and sun terrace. The room was clean, good size and adequately furnished. There is also a small pool on the roof with good views over the city and some sun beds.
The breakfasts were served in a large dining room overlooking the ground floor pool and were okay but not a fantastic choice for a 4 star hotel. The hot food was never warm enough as it seemed to be left until the trays were empty. We did not have dinner in the hotel as we have a list of favourite restaurants we like to visit when in Palma. However the menu prices seemed rather expensive as did the lunchtime snacks from the 7th floor bar. The hotel has tiled floors throughout and we found the soundproofing of the walls to be rather poor so noise from corridors and adjacent rooms caused some disturbance. In conclusion we would probably not stay here again as definately prefer the seafront location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

it's in perfect location to walk around the main shopping streets of Palma and the old town. The staff were friendly but I don't understand why they still place people in rooms that have construction going on right above them. They eventually moved us after three phone calls. Also not a fan of getting two twin beds pushed together as "the one large bed" for a couple. Especially ones with separate bedding. The spa bath tub was the best. Perhaps it would've been a different experience if we booked a suite but we were in a normal room. I don't think we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Booked this hotel and flights with Travel Republic UK web site, excellent value for money. We had a junior suite and it was lovely, 5 star accommodation in a 4 star rated hotel. The hotel is situated bang in the centre of Palma, perfect for walking around no car needed! 5 mins to Cathedral, Palace and Marina and 2 mins to main shopping area.The designer shops have designer prices but it was nice to look. ( euro/pound exchange rate didn't help!) Hotel has a really good free Jazz club, we ate in the Jazz club restaurant and it was expensive and of poor quality, but the hotel breakfasts were excellent and we were offered a reduced rate of 10 euros p/p, usually 16 euros p/p. Can't fault the situation of hotel or standard of accommodation and the front desk staff were very attentive and helpful. I always thought of Majorca as a beach style holiday, but I would recommend this hotel and city for a city break destination.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gentofte, Denmark
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

I have rather mixed feelings about this hotel. It is definitely too expensive for what you get.

Especially breakfast is too expensive. EUR over 16 pr person pr day (also children) Breakfast was ok, but not over EUR 32 for one child and one adult. I did manage to negotiate the price to half price for my 5 year old, but then they added 7% tax. So I had to pay over EUR 24 pr day for breakfast one small child and one adult was way too much, for what we got. Only the first day there was apple juice, all other days only orange juice and water, and we don’t like orange juice. Nothing out of the ordinary at all.

I had requested a room on ground floor, with easy access to the pool, but was offered a room on the 4th floor. With out even seeing it, I asked for a room on the ground floor, and check-in staff changed it without any problem.

We ordered room service for dinner two times during our stay; this was really nice, freshly made, crispy fresh clean salad, fast and very smiling, kind service.

The mini bar wasn’t filled up, before I asked them to, as we had no more water.

Pool on ground floor was rather cold, even though we were there in the month of August, there is hardly any sun shine – the roof top pool is much warmer bur small and rather crowded when the weather is nice.

They also forgot to mention (or give a reduction in the price) there is construction work in the hotel, rather noisy every day, they did not start until after 10 am so we were not awaken by it, but still annoying to hear it.

Most annoying was check-out, hate when they try to charge too much to the bill – I was charged full price for breakfast (not ½ price as I was told they could do an exception when I checked-in) – and then I also found out tax was not included, so an extra 7 % was added to the already pricy bill. To make it even better he charged the bill in my local currency and not in EUR, at a very bad exchange rate, that just made they bill yet another EUR 15 more. Thanks a lot…!

We wanted to go to se a dolphin show the last day; I asked if reception would find out the show times (since we only had almost 4 hours before we had to go to the airport). Every hour of the day there is a show. We paid EUR 16 for a taxi, and found out there is one show 11 am we had missed and next show 4 pm (when we had to be at the airport), there are always only two shows a day! Was rather annoyed with the hotel, he sounded 100% sure. Yet another EUR 16 back to Palma – waist of time and money. When I told him when we picked up our luggage. He couldn’t care much less – and just insisted he had told all tourists that all year…!

Will definitely be going back to Palma, it’s very nice place – good location of the hotel. But think we will be looking for another hotel (or a lot better rate if I am going back to this hotel)

Hotel was very clean and in total it was fine, but too expensive especially when it including noisy maintenance every single day.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saratoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saratoga

Address: Paseo de Mallorca 6, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#24 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#25 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saratoga 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saratoga, in Palma (Majorca) was established in 1962 and has been recently refurbished. The Hotel Saratoga is situated in a central but quiet location in Palma (Majorca), near one of the most popular and prestigious commercial avenues of the city - Avenue Jaime III - close to the Paseo Maritimo promenade, the Cathedral and the Harbour. Built in a conventional style, the Hotel Saratoga has a fresh and comfortable atmosphere, a sober decor, and excellent facilities, equipment and service. The Hotel Saratoga disposes 187 luxury rooms and offers free wireless high speed internet throughout the whole hotel. There is a BLUE JAZZ CLUB with live Jazz Music and the presence of the best Jazz artists in Majorca. The Hotel Saratoga is highly recommended for Conventions and Business, tourism, Golf and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Saratoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Saratoga Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saratoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.