We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel for a city break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saratoga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saratoga to your Saves list
Hotel Saratoga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Mallorca 6, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel for a city break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Booked this hotel and flights with Travel Republic UK web site, excellent value for money. We had a junior suite and it was lovely, 5 star accommodation in a 4 star rated hotel. The hotel is situated bang in the centre of Palma, perfect for walking around no car needed! 5 mins to Cathedral, Palace and Marina and 2 mins to main shopping area.The designer shops have designer prices but it was nice to look. ( euro/pound exchange rate didn't help!) Hotel has a really good free Jazz club, we ate in the Jazz club restaurant and it was expensive and of poor quality, but the hotel breakfasts were excellent and we were offered a reduced rate of 10 euros p/p, usually 16 euros p/p. Can't fault the situation of hotel or standard of accommodation and the front desk staff were very attentive and helpful. I always thought of Majorca as a beach style holiday, but I would recommend this hotel and city for a city break destination.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    193
    74
    34
    13
See reviews for
39
187
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gentofte, Denmark
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

I have rather mixed feelings about this hotel. It is definitely too expensive for what you get.

Especially breakfast is too expensive. EUR over 16 pr person pr day (also children) Breakfast was ok, but not over EUR 32 for one child and one adult. I did manage to negotiate the price to half price for my 5 year old, but then they added 7% tax. So I had to pay over EUR 24 pr day for breakfast one small child and one adult was way too much, for what we got. Only the first day there was apple juice, all other days only orange juice and water, and we don’t like orange juice. Nothing out of the ordinary at all.

I had requested a room on ground floor, with easy access to the pool, but was offered a room on the 4th floor. With out even seeing it, I asked for a room on the ground floor, and check-in staff changed it without any problem.

We ordered room service for dinner two times during our stay; this was really nice, freshly made, crispy fresh clean salad, fast and very smiling, kind service.

The mini bar wasn’t filled up, before I asked them to, as we had no more water.

Pool on ground floor was rather cold, even though we were there in the month of August, there is hardly any sun shine – the roof top pool is much warmer bur small and rather crowded when the weather is nice.

They also forgot to mention (or give a reduction in the price) there is construction work in the hotel, rather noisy every day, they did not start until after 10 am so we were not awaken by it, but still annoying to hear it.

Most annoying was check-out, hate when they try to charge too much to the bill – I was charged full price for breakfast (not ½ price as I was told they could do an exception when I checked-in) – and then I also found out tax was not included, so an extra 7 % was added to the already pricy bill. To make it even better he charged the bill in my local currency and not in EUR, at a very bad exchange rate, that just made they bill yet another EUR 15 more. Thanks a lot…!

We wanted to go to se a dolphin show the last day; I asked if reception would find out the show times (since we only had almost 4 hours before we had to go to the airport). Every hour of the day there is a show. We paid EUR 16 for a taxi, and found out there is one show 11 am we had missed and next show 4 pm (when we had to be at the airport), there are always only two shows a day! Was rather annoyed with the hotel, he sounded 100% sure. Yet another EUR 16 back to Palma – waist of time and money. When I told him when we picked up our luggage. He couldn’t care much less – and just insisted he had told all tourists that all year…!

Will definitely be going back to Palma, it’s very nice place – good location of the hotel. But think we will be looking for another hotel (or a lot better rate if I am going back to this hotel)

Hotel was very clean and in total it was fine, but too expensive especially when it including noisy maintenance every single day.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaga spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

This is a business hotel rather than a tourist hotel. The one thing that we did´nt like is that the rooms are oriented to get the full sun in the morning one side and the afternoon the other side which is OK for sun worshipers but it was too hot to use the terrace until after sundown. sun shades would be helpful..
It is centrally located ideal for walking touring. Has two reasonable pools, the one on the roof being small but with great views of the city.
The staff were very knowledgeable and helpful although a little slow on reception when only one was available.Bar staff slow service but pleasant.Great buffet breakfast.
Broadband free on the ground floor but expensive on the first floor!!
We stayed 10 days with 2 adult children from the US and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

Stayed for 12 days. The Hotel itself is clean & well maintained, it has a nice sheltered pool area although the pool itself is quite small. It is in an excellent location, close to all ameneties, the type of hotel you would like to go back to except the staff are down right rude, particularly in reception. on arrival we were greeted with the words "passport & credit card" could not get a drink in the pool area, after waiting 30mins from ordering we were told by reception that they were too busy, so had to get dressed & go to the local supermarket.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

This was our first trip to Mallorca and we chose Palma as a city break for a Bank Holiday weekend and a surprise for my Partner's birthday. We ended up at the Saratoga after a Travel Agent mix up led to our other hotel being cancelled at the last minute. Luckily, although more traditional in style to the boutique hotel we had originally booked, the Saratoga was a really good hotel. The location is perfect for lots of places to go in Palma - we could easily walk to the Cathedral, the shops, the Old Town with it's many and varied restaurants, the Marina, and it's just next to Es Baluard, the modern art museum. The best bit about the Saratoga is the roof terrace which had a very welcome pool and loungers, as the weather was hotter than expected, with terrific views. The Jazz Club was very busy both nights we were in it and the music was of extremely high professional quality, even on the Jam Night.
All staff we met were extremely attentive and friendly. The only meal we had in the hotel was breakfast and the choice and quality were excellent, catering for healthy choice and "full cooked breakfast" - an added bonus was sitting out in the sunny courtyard to eat breakfast.
We had a Junior Suite which was extremely spacious with modern decor, massive TV, MP3 player, etc and a very comfortable and large bed. We had a balcony which overlooked the courtyard so it was very quiet.
We would definitely go back there on our next trip to Palma - which will hopefully be soon!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

I've stayed in the Saratoga dozens of times when on business in Palma and would have no hesitation in returning again.

Although not particularly stylish the rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff pleasant.

The Jazz Bar has a nice terrace and great views and the food and service are excellent.

Not sure it would be my top choice for a holiday, but the internet access makes it a great choice for business.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

This is a great hotel if you want to explore Palma de Mallorca and the rest of the island. It is close to the bustling city and only 20 minutes walk to the railwaystations and the busstation.
It is clear that this is a city-hotel. It is not only frequented by tourists but also by businesspeople. Don't expect animation or lively pool activity. There is a pool on te ground floor but it doesn't get much sunshine and you can't sit next to it to sunbath. There is also a very small pool on the top floor with a couple of lounges.
The breakfast buffet is good. The coffee is from machines but drinkable.
Don't reserve halfboard. The food in the restaurant is not refined and you seem to be eating the same every night even though there's something else on the menu. There is only choice out of two first, second and dessert courses. You could go à la carte, but would have to pay extra for this. Service was OK most of the time but once I thought Manuel from Barcelona was serving... He know nothing!
The room was nice and modern. The cleaning was not always adequate (bath not properly cleaned, no new towel, bed linnen with little holes in).
All in all I liked the hotel because of the location, but I wouldn't sstay here again.

  • Liked — the location n
  • Disliked — food at diner
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saratoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saratoga

Address: Paseo de Mallorca 6, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#24 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#25 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saratoga 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saratoga, in Palma (Majorca) was established in 1962 and has been recently refurbished. The Hotel Saratoga is situated in a central but quiet location in Palma (Majorca), near one of the most popular and prestigious commercial avenues of the city - Avenue Jaime III - close to the Paseo Maritimo promenade, the Cathedral and the Harbour. Built in a conventional style, the Hotel Saratoga has a fresh and comfortable atmosphere, a sober decor, and excellent facilities, equipment and service. The Hotel Saratoga disposes 187 luxury rooms and offers free wireless high speed internet throughout the whole hotel. There is a BLUE JAZZ CLUB with live Jazz Music and the presence of the best Jazz artists in Majorca. The Hotel Saratoga is highly recommended for Conventions and Business, tourism, Golf and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Saratoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Saratoga Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saratoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.