We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and very pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Majorica Hotel

Save Saved
You added Catalonia Majorica Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Garita 3, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
northern ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Friendly and very pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at this hotel. Fantastic views,excellent breakfasts and very friendly and helpful staff. Bedrooms and bathrooms are spotless and the beds are extremely comfortable. Pool area clean and there are ample sunbeds and parasols with outstanding views over the marina. All the staff are efficient and friendly, a special mention must go to Gabriel who was attentive,courteous and extremely proud of this hotel!
You do need to be aware of the vicinity of the hotel,although there is a funicular you do need to be prepared to walk up and down hill. We took the bus into Palma and walked back to the hotel....it is worth it and only takes about 45 minutes to an hour which will walk off the tapas!!
Although a little tired in places,what was really noticeable was the peace and quiet...no music in the lifts or the hotel...absolute bliss! Thank you to all the staff for a very relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view it will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    258
    95
    47
    17
See reviews for
68
286
18
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just returned from a 6 night break in Majorca and enjoyed every minute of our stay at the Catalonia Majorica Hotel. It's all been said already but just to highlight the important points, clean rooms, friendly staff, perfect views from balcony, very good food (stayed half board) and easily accessible to Palma City. The No 3 Bus will take you into the centre of Palma in about 20 mins, alternatively you can take a leisurely walk along the quay side which will get you there in 30/40 mins. A 10 minute walk in the opposite direction takes you to an excellent shopping centre at Porto Pi, absolutely huge and certainly on a scale with those shopping malls in Florida. I would highly recommend the hotel to those who want a city break or just somewhere for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Booking a Sea View room is essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff were welcoming (& showed great patience and professionalism) when dealing with some rude guests infront of me in reception. The bedroom was clean if extremely compact but I would recommend a room with a sea view as this made the stay.
The breakfast buffet had something for everyone with almost every choice covered and the evening meal was also reasonable and it was nice to see there were quite a few other solo travellers. The bar area was also pleasant to sit out on in the evening though be warned the prices were higher than expected and the bar food was disappointing. Again the view of the harbour made up for this!
The location of the hotel (only a short 20 minute walk from the centre) meant it was a little quieter and it is easy enough to take a bus or taxi if you do not want to walk. I did not feel so comfortable walking alone outside of the central streets at night but had no problems in daylight hours.

Room Tip: Book a seaview, also you may want to book away from the terrace bar if you want a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My sister and I spent 4 nights at this hotel and enjoyed excellent service, a clean room, fabulous views and the best breakfast choices I've had in a very long time. We were very particular (fussy in all honesty) about the kind of seaview we wanted, and the size of the room. The reception staff were great and gave us keys to look at a number of rooms with a seaview. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is on a steep hill overlooking Palma Bay, but the views make it worth while. The lift, from the hotel terrace to the main road, was working when we stayed and that did make life easier. If it hadn't been working, we would would have walked up and benefited from the exercise! The hotel is some 3 or so miles from the main tourist sites in Palma, but bus numbers 3 and 20 offer a regular service from the main road to the sites, and only takes 10-15 minutes. We would definitely stay again. Thanks again for a very enjoyable break.

Room Tip: Sea views from the top 2 floors are well away from the hotel terrace and pool below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just return from a 5 nights stay at this hotel. Don't listen to any negative reviews. Spotless clean,hotel with friendly helpfull staff. Good location great views. We didn't pay for sea view but room 518 had partial sea view which we really appreciated.Breakfast had something for everyone. Did not eat in the restaurant however price of buffet meal was a good price at 18 euros. Would return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shefford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at this hotel, we have stayed here many times before, and have never been disappointed. One of the cleanest hotels we have ever stayed in. All staff are very professional and friendly, we received a warm welcome from Christina on reception, where nothing was to much trouble. Alan, who manages the resturant and the bar, always does an excellent job, always makes sure he speaks to all the guests , and his staff in the resturant are equally excellent.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea view room, worth every euro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 19th to 21st May and found the staff very professional, friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 510 and the views were fantastic. We stayed half board and was very pleased with the variety of food. At breakfast a chef was on hand to cook a choice off egg dishes and bacon. The cold selection was also very extensive. The dinner was also very good with a chef cooking to order a choice of two meats and two types of fish. We lost our camera and thought we would just have to put it down to experience but just mentioned it to reception of the off chance.
To our surprise It had been handed in and a big thankyou to the honest person.
The hotel is on the outskirts of town in a quiet area. It is up a steep hill, but there is a funicular lift.
We enjoyed our stay very much and will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Majorica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Majorica Hotel

Address: C/ Garita 3, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#16 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#23 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Majorica Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalonia Majorica hotel is located in a privileged area on the maritime promenade of Palma Bay and just in front of Club del Mar. It is near the Porto Pi shopping centre and the Fundacio Joan Miro. The hotel, refurbished in 2000, combines an elegant style with modern features. It has a total of 168 rooms, all of them with beautiful views, and most of them also have a terrace. In the hotel you will find 3 swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Catalonia Majorica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Majorica Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Majorica Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.