We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, amazing views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Majorica Hotel

Save Saved
You added Catalonia Majorica Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Garita 3, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff were welcoming (& showed great patience and professionalism) when dealing with some rude guests infront of me in reception. The bedroom was clean if extremely compact but I would recommend a room with a sea view as this made the stay.
The breakfast buffet had something for everyone with almost every choice covered and the evening meal was also reasonable and it was nice to see there were quite a few other solo travellers. The bar area was also pleasant to sit out on in the evening though be warned the prices were higher than expected and the bar food was disappointing. Again the view of the harbour made up for this!
The location of the hotel (only a short 20 minute walk from the centre) meant it was a little quieter and it is easy enough to take a bus or taxi if you do not want to walk. I did not feel so comfortable walking alone outside of the central streets at night but had no problems in daylight hours.

Room Tip: Book a seaview, also you may want to book away from the terrace bar if you want a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    242
    85
    43
    13
See reviews for
57
237
17
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My sister and I spent 4 nights at this hotel and enjoyed excellent service, a clean room, fabulous views and the best breakfast choices I've had in a very long time. We were very particular (fussy in all honesty) about the kind of seaview we wanted, and the size of the room. The reception staff were great and gave us keys to look at a number of rooms with a seaview. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is on a steep hill overlooking Palma Bay, but the views make it worth while. The lift, from the hotel terrace to the main road, was working when we stayed and that did make life easier. If it hadn't been working, we would would have walked up and benefited from the exercise! The hotel is some 3 or so miles from the main tourist sites in Palma, but bus numbers 3 and 20 offer a regular service from the main road to the sites, and only takes 10-15 minutes. We would definitely stay again. Thanks again for a very enjoyable break.

Room Tip: Sea views from the top 2 floors are well away from the hotel terrace and pool below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just return from a 5 nights stay at this hotel. Don't listen to any negative reviews. Spotless clean,hotel with friendly helpfull staff. Good location great views. We didn't pay for sea view but room 518 had partial sea view which we really appreciated.Breakfast had something for everyone. Did not eat in the restaurant however price of buffet meal was a good price at 18 euros. Would return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shefford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at this hotel, we have stayed here many times before, and have never been disappointed. One of the cleanest hotels we have ever stayed in. All staff are very professional and friendly, we received a warm welcome from Christina on reception, where nothing was to much trouble. Alan, who manages the resturant and the bar, always does an excellent job, always makes sure he speaks to all the guests , and his staff in the resturant are equally excellent.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea view room, worth every euro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 19th to 21st May and found the staff very professional, friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 510 and the views were fantastic. We stayed half board and was very pleased with the variety of food. At breakfast a chef was on hand to cook a choice off egg dishes and bacon. The cold selection was also very extensive. The dinner was also very good with a chef cooking to order a choice of two meats and two types of fish. We lost our camera and thought we would just have to put it down to experience but just mentioned it to reception of the off chance.
To our surprise It had been handed in and a big thankyou to the honest person.
The hotel is on the outskirts of town in a quiet area. It is up a steep hill, but there is a funicular lift.
We enjoyed our stay very much and will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunlavin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have just returned from a 7 night stay at this hotel. A short taxi ride from the airport, the reception staff were both welcoming and helpful. The safe was €20 which was returned to me on my departure. I was offered a sea view at a cost of €15 per day, I wasn't worried about a sea view, the views from the pool restaurant and bar area were spectacular. The breakfast was fantastic with a wide choice available. I made use of the fitness room jacuzzi and indoor pool. There is a shopping centre not far from the hotel. It was a good walk into the centre but it really is beautiful to walk along the marina, the hotel will call a taxi for you and they are literally only a few minutes. I cannot praise the staff enough they were so friendly the facilities were really good and the atmosphere was relaxing. I would highly recommend a visit and will be returning.

Room Tip: I had a room that looked at a wall of a building this did not bother me as I wasnt there to sit in m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 day break, on a B&B Basis.
From landing at the airport, the transfer and then a welcoming smile at the reception was only the start of our stay. Our room (219) was ready before midday and, it was no problem to be checked in right away and efficiently. The reception staff were first class. We paid 20 euros for the safe, this was duly returned on our departure - Yes, a FREE safe. Our room on the 2nd floor had a breathtaking view across the sun terrace and over Palma Bay with it's every changing view as the Cruise Liners came and went we lost count asto how many we saw. Our room was exceptionally clean, wonderful big comfy beds and even spare pillows. A good size minibar - maybe Tea and Coffee facilities would have been nice. The bathroom well fitted and again spotless - brilliant shower!
Breakfast again spotless venue, plenty of choice, fantastic bacon and eggs cooked to order and yes, really polite and friendly staff. We did eat in one night 18 euro for as much as you wanted, very very good value - try the Entrecote Steak, cooked to order - Delicious.
Did'nt use the pool but the area was again spotless and the choice of very comfortable sunbeds was good - the pool was used, it is just that we chose not to on this holiday but, we will when we return.
The use of the funicular down to the road was good however, the walk up the hill is not that bad!
Barstaff really friendly and were always willing to advise and have a chat with you - without neglecting their responsibilities.
Departure, again was swift and pleasant eventhough we were very reluctant to leave!
Thankyou to all the Staff we met during our stay!
A good New shopping centre is 5 mins walk away and the main town 20mins stroll down the promanade in the opposite direction.
We will return and we will recommend - Thankyou

Room Tip: Full Sea Views have the best views from floor 1 to the top (7 I think), we did over hear someone say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catalonia Majorica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Majorica Hotel

Also Known As:
Catalonia Majorica
Catalonia Majorica Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca
Address: C/ Garita 3, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#16 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Majorica Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalonia Majorica hotel is located in a privileged area on the maritime promenade of Palma Bay and just in front of Club del Mar. It is near the Porto Pi shopping centre and the Fundacio Joan Miro. The hotel, refurbished in 2000, combines an elegant style with modern features. It has a total of 168 rooms, all of them with beautiful views, and most of them also have a terrace. In the hotel you will find 3 swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Catalonia Majorica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Majorica Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.