We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Victoria

Save Saved
You added Gran Melia Victoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Melia Victoria
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Joan Miro 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 64 hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for 5 nights to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary.

It is easy to get to from the Airport, being a €3 ride on the No1 bus which stops right outside. It means entering the Hotel from the rear entrance (oddly on the main road) by climbing some steps and pressing the reception buzzer to let you in. Once you have your room key you can get in no problem.

The hotel is a lovely classy place in a great position opposite the marina. The room we had was a side view, room 606 which looked towards the port area. The room and bathroom were not huge, but the fixtures and fittings were in excellent order, and the bed was very comfortable. The only odd thing with the room was the electronic control of the nets and curtains. The room also had a small balcony.

The breakfast was included on our tariff, was great, whether you could justify the €29 charge per person if not included, I am not so sure. But there was plenty of choice and it was very nice sitting out on the terrace in the sunshine in the morning. We also had dinner 1 night, and although not very busy and quite pricy, the quality of food and service was excellent

The sun terrace was lovely with a sea water pool. Again the staff were excellent and very attentive. There is also a small indoor fresh water pool inside.

It is a fairly long stroll down the promenade into the town, but it only costs €1.50 to get the regular bus into town which stops right outside the hotel.

The only downside to the hotel is the 'Tito's nightclub' next door. On Friday, Saturday and Sunday night it is open from 23.00 to 06.00, and even with the doors closed you could here the noise from the club and the road to the front. I don't know what it was like in other areas of the hotel, but where we were, the noise was quite intrusive, just be aware.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed celebrating our stay at the Victoria. It is a lovely Hotel with great staff.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the nightclub next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all let me thank you for choosing Gran Melia Victoria as your destination in Palma de Mallorca during your recent holidays and also for taking the time to post your comments here on Tripadvisor.
We always value our guests opinions and try to maintain a high standard of quality and service. Wonderful to see that you enjoyed the pool srea and that our service was of a high quality.
We are known for our breakfast service and quality and thank you for commenting on them.
Just to inform you that the entrance area at the marina side is our back entrance. This is because years ago there was no road there and the sea came up towards where our pool area is now. That is why the main entrance area is on Joan Miro road.
We always welcome any type of comment so that we can always be on the look out what our clients need for a unforgettable experience here at the hotel.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back here among us.

Kind Regards,


Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    187
    57
    19
    8
See reviews for
75
314
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Junior Suite fifth floor sea view. An excellent hotel ticks all the boxes for quality, service, excellent staff and location. The reason for deducting a point is purely based on the supposed 'red level' upgrade which in my opinion is of no benefit whatsoever and grossly over priced for what it promises.
Otherwise I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Front see facing top two floors is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for choosing Gran Melia Victoria as your destinatio in Palma de Mallorca during your recent holidays and also for taking the time to post your comments here on Tripadvisor.
I am sorry that you feel dissapointed with the RedLevel benefits in our hotel. We thank you for all of your suggestions and take note of them.
We always value the opinions of our guests and try to maintain a high standard of quality and service.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back very soon here to Gran Melia Victoria.
Best Regards,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I love it when what you pay leads through to a great experience. This is a great hotel, laid back but formal enough. Excellent staff, wonderful location, best cocktail bar in Palma - looking out over the harbour and cathedral view. A joy,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all i would like to thank you for choosing Gran Melia Victoria as your destination here in Palma de Mallorca and also for posting your comments here on Tripadvisor.
We always strive to deliver quality service. We would also Iike to thank you for your positive comments about our service, rooms and our lovely terrace cocktail bar .
We always welcome any type of comment so that we can always be on the look out what our clients need for a unforgettable experience here at the hotel. We highly value the input of our guests.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back here among us.

Kind Regards,


Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights as part of a holiday package. Room & bathroom were of a fair size and the view was across some buildings and up to Castle Belver. We were offered an upgrade to a room on the other side of the hotel with a view across the marina towards the cathedral. We enjoyed this kind of view on a previous visit to Palma and it's certainly worth seeing at least once. The cd player in the room produced no sound and a replacement system was provided very quickly. The reception and restaurant staff were helpful and efficient. Breakfast was of a high standard with plenty of choice. Various hot egg variations were cooked on request. Breakfast could be taken either inside or on a large balcony area -- it was very pleasant to sit outside in the early morning sun and enjoy the view. We used the indoor pool which provided a pleasant experience. Hotel parking was charged at 17 euros per day and while it could be difficult to find parking near to the hotel, we parked for free in the area in front of the hotel --- always seemed to be spaces after 5pm -- early October. General furnishings seemed a bit dated but the hotel had charm and was very comfortable.

Room Tip: 5th floor plus for best cathedral views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for choosing Gran Melia Victoria as your destination in Palma de Mallorca during your recent holidays and also for taking the time to post your comments here on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our wonderful terrace and the views that it offers and that the breakfast was a good experience for you as well. It is our aim to make our guests feel pampered all the time.
It is always nice to get positive feedback from our guests.
We value our guests opinions and try to maintain a high standard of quality and service.
Hope to welcome you back to Gran Melia Victoria very soon.

Best regards,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This quite simply is 5 * Luxury at its best ! From location - you MUST upgrade to a sea/cathedral vew room ! - breakfast and friendliness of staff , I cannot fault this hotel in any way. And if you want further endorsement of how good this hotel is , the Spanish football team - current World and European champions - also stayed here at the same time as us.

Room Tip: Be sure to upgrade to a sea/cathedral view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. It is always wonderful to get such positive feedback here in Tripadvisor from our guests.
We always try our best to uphold the standard of service and friendliness here at Gran Melia Victoria.
Great to see that you felt well looked after even though we had the mad rush of the Spanish football team in the hotel. It is our aim to make all our guests feel like they are getting a VIP treatment every day.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a one night stay here on the way back to the UK after a bird watching trip in the center of Majorca. We booked the hotel on a special promotion from American Express so can't comment on value for money. What we can say is that the hotel staff were very helpful and professional. We were well looked after even though we arrived at the same time as the Spanish football team, who were playing a match in Majorca the following night.

This is a hotel where you really get the service you expect from a top class establishment. The room was perhaps not as great as some of the more modern establishments we've stayed in recently but it was clean, comfortable and everything worked.

All in all we'd describe this as a very good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all let me thank you for choosing Gran Melia Victoria as your destination in Palma de Mallorca during your recent holidays and also for making your comments known here on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased with your kind words and would like to thank you for taking the time making your positive feedback known. Even with the mad rush that followed the spanish national football team when you arrived, we are pleased that you felt well atended to. We always try to upkeep our high standard of service and friendliness.
Just to comment that we will be going through a reform period in the beginning of 2014 to upgrade many of our rooms.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future and always welcome any type of suggestions to make our service even better.

Kind regards,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

An excellent destination for a girls' or couples weekend away .
Luxurious rooms (with Clarins toiletries, a lovely surprise), excellent buffet breakfast which you can eat outside on the sunny terrace overlooking the marina, a pleasant (if slightly long - about 40 mins) stroll along the waterfront to the cathedral which is well worth a visit. The outside terrace is fantastic for relaxing with a drink before or after dinner (with large seated areas for small groups) and the pool is gorgeous with plenty of very comfortable sunbeds and attentive service from the pool bar and restaurant staff. There is even a nightclub in the basement (well soundproofed) if you need that sort of entertainment. The hotel is clean and very comfortable and the staff are helpful....all in all a great place for a few days of rest and relaxation. Room tip : the side sea view rooms are worth the extra money as the views towards the cathedral from the balcony are stunning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments about Gran Melia Victoria here on Tripadvisor.
We are thoroughly pleased to see that you and your friends had a wonderful stay with us. I can see that you made full use of your weekend in Palma by getting to know our hotel and also the surrounding areas.
Good to see that you enjoyed your rooms and that the cleanliness and service was up to standard. I will surely pass on your comment to our pool and restaurant staff.
It is always our aim to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable and we welcome any type of comment so that we can be on the lookout for what our guests need and want.
We sincerely hope to welcome you and your friends back amongst us in the near future.

Kind regards ,


Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gran Melia Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Victoria

Address: Avenida Joan Miro 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#3 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Victoria 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Gran Melia Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Victoria Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Gran Melia Hotel Victoria
Sol Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Palma Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Melia Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.