We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like coming home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Victoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Melia Victoria to your Saves list
Gran Melia Victoria
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Joan Miro 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Like coming home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We've been to the Victoria many times over many years and it really does feel like coming home. Some of the staff have also been there for years which says something (good) about Melia as an employer.
The hotel is somewhat 'grand' and old-fashioned but in a good way. Service standards are very high, staff are very friendly, helpful and courteous and the hotel is comfortable, quiet and very clean. Rooms are very comfortable with hitech controls for curtains and media. Might be a bit off-putting for technophobes. Beds are excellent. Very calming atmosphere throughout the hotel.
There is direct access to the Paseo Maritimo (promenade) and it's about a 30 min stroll into Palma centre. The area behind the hotel (actually the front of the hotel) is a bit run down; there is a small supermarket there.
Will we go back to the Victoria? Definitely! Any negatives? It's expensive (but you get what you pay for).

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Full- or side-sea view, high up to get the best views of the Cathedral and port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly i would like to thank you for your kind words about our hotel and that after many years of returning you still feel like you are at home.
As you know, here in Gran Melia Victoria we strive to uphold a level of service and friendliness, our guests should really feel that they are being treated in the best way possible.
We always try to engage our guests and find out what are their preferences. This way we can be always sure that they feel like they are ¨coming home¨.

Thank you so much for posting your comments here on Tripadvisor and we hope to welcome you back very soon here with us.

Kind Regards

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    223
    72
    24
    10
See reviews for
98
380
30
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is a 5 star hotel by older european standards. It is fairly worn down, but still FAB. The location is superb right on the Palma harbour front and it is WELL worth paying for a room with a balcony and view of the harbour. Could spend hours there in the sun/shade looking at the boats, ferries, containerships sailing through. Beautiful. The pool area worked very well for us. Main pool was ice cold in May but we liked it :- ) Indoor pool is ok, but not more than ok. Sauna was not turned on whilst we were there, even when we asked for it. Service was good besides the sauna issue. We had great service by the pool and ate outside the hotel since there are so many aexcellent restaurants. We used tripadvisor mobile that guides you to the place you want with a small compass while you're walking. Pretty clever :- )

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony and seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all let me thank you for choosing Gran Melia Victoria as your destination here in Palma de Mallorca during your recent holidays and also for making your comments known here on Tripadvisor.

We are thoroughly pleased with your kind words and would like to thank you for taking the time making your positive feedback known. We always try to upkeep our high standard of service and friendliness. I am also pleased to see that you felt comfortable and enjoyed our pool area. It is our aim to make our guests feel like here with us it could be there home away from home and it is simply our pleasure to attend them with a smile.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future and always welcome any type of suggestions to make our service even better.

Kind regards

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The melia Victoria is an outstanding 5star hotel in every respect and in a wonderful location overlooking the harbour and 5 minutes to centre of Palma.

We were with 4 other friends and we always stay in 5 star hotels but some do not

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of the hotel service and installations.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our second trip to the Sol Melia Victoria and it was another fantastic stay. The staff and the hotel facilities are excellent, enjoying breakfast on the terrace overlooking the marina and cathedral is a wonderful way to start the day. Breakfast has a very good choice of english, continental with gorgeous fresh salmon, cheeses and spanish meats.
The pool area is very well attended, although I would allow for the towels to be made available earlier than 1000, if people want them a 5 star hotel should make them available.
The reception area has the most comfortable sofas whilst stepping out onto the outside terrace there is lovely white furniture under large umbrellas which you can take in the wonderful views.
Room tip, the bedrooms under the restaurant are noisy from tables and chairs moving for breakfast, so if you want a lay in perhaps avoid these rooms.
In summary, a fantastic hotel, very well appointed, great choice for breakfast, lovely friendly staff and a chance to relax from the busy lives majority of people have, ideal for couples.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms directly under the restaurant to avoid noise from tables and chairs being moved duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we must say that it is fantastic to hear that you genuinely enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. Your comments are appreciated by our entire Team and they reconfirm that our “value for price” offer is adequate.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Gran Meliá Victoria in a not too distant future.

Kind Regards and thank you very very much,


Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for wedding anniversary. Had room at the front with panoramic views, bottle of cava in room, sipped of balcony.

It's a long way from town, but buses stop outside.

Breakfast 5 star. Didn't eat in restaurant. excellent staff.

Used pool, a little cold but weather was hot!

Took a trip to Soller on old train. Recommend this trip.

Only problem we could see, in high season there is a nightclub under the hotel. Not sure how noisy this would be.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for choosing Gran Melia Victoria as your destination here in Palma de Mallorca during your recent holidays and also for taking the time to post your comments here on Tripadvisor.
We always value our guests opinions and try to maintain a high standard of quality and service. We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay here with us.
Great that you enjoyed our fantastic views with a bottle of cava!
We sincerely hope to welcome you back very soon here to Gran Melia Victoria.

Best Regards,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Not at all pleased with this hotel.

The staff were very offhand and took over 25 minutes to check us in. They then insisted on payment before releasing room keys...a very unusual procedure!

We had paid and secured the booking online, so they had credit card details already, and we had booked double rooms online at €185 per room (we had 3 rooms). The booking appeared to have gone through at 3 single rooms at this rate and we were pointedly told it would be another €45 per room to change to a double.

This would then be €230 per room in what I would class as a hotel lacking in customer service.

Never staying here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Public Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all i would like to thank you for choosing Gran Melia Victoria as your destination here in Palma de Mallorca and also for posting your comments here on Tripadvisor.
I am sorry that you feel dissapointed in your experience here with us. We always strive to deliver quality service.
I thank you for your comments and we take note of all your suggestions. We always welcome any type of comment so that we can always be on the look out what our clients need for a unforgettable experience here at the hotel. We highly value the input of our guests.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back here among us.

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 day stay at this magnificent hotel, the staff are so friendly, the room was superb and had a sea view overlooking the marina with the Cathedral in view aswell,( I would recommend that you booked this sea view room ) on arrival you are greeted with champagne and strawberries and check-in is flawless, the pool area is well set out and the pool attendant is very helpful. The décor inside the hotel is absolutely superb and in the car park is a 1936 vintage Rolls Royce awesome!! The breakfast is very good and has british cereals cornflakes, rice krispies etc. a full English is also on offer so it certainly appeased us. We had evening meal on the first night it was ok but the menu was not to our choice. The drinks are expensive but what do you expect at a 5* hotel. It has a fitness centre by the pool and when we had breakfast sitting outside on the terrace it was magnificent with great views of the area. This is a truly superb hotel for couples and we have booked again for a stay in September that says enough about the Victoria.

Room Tip: Always book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guest,


Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Melia Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Victoria

Address: Avenida Joan Miro 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Victoria 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Melia, Escapio, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Melia Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Victoria Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Gran Melia Hotel Victoria
Sol Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Palma Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Melia Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.