We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, real 5 star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Victoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Melia Victoria to your Saves list
Gran Melia Victoria
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Joan Miro 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent service, real 5 star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The service was excellent, staff continually addressing me by name. We went for my wife's birthday and the cleaning staff must have noticed the birthday card in the room as the hotel had left a bottle of sparkling wine on ice for us when we returned to the hotel. We upgraded our room which was worth every euro. We had booked half board and the dinner excellent, particularly the lobster, prawn and squid risotto as a starter. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The number 1 bus from and to the airport stops outside the hotel, 5 euros each way for a couple. Che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear client,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    223
    72
    24
    10
See reviews for
98
381
30
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had booked for weeken into the Palas Atenea. However, they decided to close for our period. The Booking Agent offerd us a full cancellationor transfer to theVictoria for the same price. Well, ***** for the price of **** was simply too good to miss. Superb rooms, fabulous facilities and the Service was every inch ***** I will certainly return, even if I have to pay Full Price !!!

Room Tip: We had a Sea View Room and overlooked the Marina opposite and the Cathedral in the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear client,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Gran Meliá Victoria for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Gran Meliá Victoria.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ongar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

just returned from a lovely week in palma first time in majorca and picked this hotel by chance staff were a fantastic group not one member could be faulted all week stayed in premier front view room views amazing room large and always well maintained . the only downside was that air conditioning had gone over to heating as the hotel classes it as winter but daytime temp was 70c so slept with balcony door open and noise from nearby disco was annoying but overhaul a relaxing pleasant week would come back again and firmly recommend

Room Tip: premier front sea view of bay and cathederal worth extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was the most expensive hotel of our 2 weeks in Spain and turned out being the worst service. The arrival started well at the reception and the upgrade room was as requested. I was dissapointed to see the spa and indoor pool closed. Being in October, most bars were closed (Tito is right beside). On our first night, the staff never cleaned the room and we had to complain to get it serviced. We had the tag all day on the door asking for cleaning. They came and changed the towels and asked if that was ok (sheets, vacuum, bathroom anyone?). The second night was even worse, we came back to our room, UNLOCKED. No staff in sight and they left the room door opened all day after cleaning it. Anyone could have robbed us, and its a miracle it didnt happen. I complained numerous time about this unacceptable careless service.

Room Tip: Avoid until they fix their cleaning staff problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting the Gran Meliá Victoria for your vacation, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express our sincerest apologies. At Gran Meliá Victoria, we continuously strive to meet your needs and desires; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We hope to take the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is one of the hotels that tour guides specifically point out along the way since it is 1 of only about 2 4 or 5 star hotels on the Island supposedly. We stayed at this hotel for a week at the end of October and were glad that we rented a car at the last minute when we arrived. While the hotel is VERY nice with elegant furnishings, it is not in the greatest area. Yes, it does sit at the port looking at the water, but if there were pictures out the other side of the hotel, you probably wouldn't book it. Much of the street that the hotel is located (Avenida Joan Miro) has fallen terribly into the recession of Spain. There are many vacancies, and strip clubs are a many as you walk on that side of the hotel.
The staff of the hotel is VERY helpful, especially the one lady that worked on the morning we arrived. She gave us WONDERFUL suggestions from where to eat to where to park. (Even though their website says parking is free, it is not! Park in the spots at the port for free and there are stairs to a key card entrance that takes you up to the pool situated next to the gourmet ice cream stand that never seems to close!).
The best suggestion I found on the web was to sign up for their frequent stay card, called "mas." With this card you get 2 for 1 breakfast every morning in the dining room overlooking the water! I think it usually costs something like 32 euros each without the card, and it is one of the BEST breakfasts you'll ever have (pastries, fresh made eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, coffee, OJ, and even champagne for mimosas!).
Overall, it was a wonderful place to stay, but I would opt to stay in one of the small towns on the Northwest side of the island(like Deia or Soller) if I go back, purely because of the shady-ness of the other side of the hotel.

Room Tip: I'm not sure which rooms would be the best, but I know that I would have been very upset if I ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear client,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Gran Meliá Victoria for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Gran Meliá Victoria.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,


Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for one weekend & arrived not knowing what to expect as we were just passing through Palma & decided to stay for the weekend. What can I say other than fabulous. We had a magnificent room over looking the bay. The staff were excellent as was the food & service. The only complaint we has was there was a night club to the right of the hotel in the adjoining hotel & boy was it loud & even when the music stopped we had to endure the clients leaving and they were almost as noisy as the music!
We didnt let it spoil our stay but make sure to ask for a room away from the hotel to the right.
The pool are was lovely, the restaurant was excellent & the location is superb.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,


Thank you very much for your encouraging comments which are greatly appreciated by our entire Team. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your weekend escape and had a restful time in our facilities. In terms of the noise from the nearby disco, we are sorry that you experienced this situation and we can assure you that we are doing our best to reduce these types of incidences.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The room we were allocated was fine: it had all the facilities I would expect but the third of the room near the window was difficult to access due to a 24 inch square pillar in the middle of the room: honestly that is just bad architects nothing to do with the hotel staff. The decor was okay but the wallpaper was beginning to lift on the edges in Room 152.

A room upgrade was pushed but that was a city view (and you will see why I didnt take that later); This hotel address is in the 'old tourist' part of town (from the 70's) which now houses the night club district - and to a certain extent the areas immediatelty outside the hotel reflects that. We weren't troubled by any noise until the bins were emptied in the morning! Even though we were there over the halloween evening. The next nearest business to the 'front' door of the hotel is a thaimassage parlour. I didn't check out the range of services. Was this the city view they were offering?

The ayuntamiento make sure that the pavements at the seafront side are cleaned early enough for most people not to notice. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and even has a smell of wealth.


As someone else said the staff are ever helpful - and the gin selection in the bar is pretty good (and I don't drink gin!) - we never went for breakfast but at 29Euro pp so now they offer a 2 for 1 deal but we still preferred to get out. Even on the quayside breakfast was great....

The 'back' door of the hotel drops you right on the Paseo Marítimo. Some taxi drivers now drop visitors off at the back door but reception is not well signed from there.

All in all we liked it, a lot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your comments which are greatly appreciated.
We would like to inform you that we offer a great variety of rooms and if you didn’t find yourself comfortable in the one you occupied during the recent visit, we would gladly assist you while choosing a more suitable for you during your next visit.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stayed with us and that you were satisfied with the service provided. The location of Gran Meliá Victoria is a privileged one because of its position at the front line of the sea and its proximity to the old part of the city. Nevertheless, the surroundings on the other side of the hotel are external factors that we cannot change.

We hope to welcome you back in the future, so you can enjoy and experience all the positive parts of our Hotel and Mallorca itself.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Melia Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Victoria

Address: Avenida Joan Miro 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Victoria 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Melia, Escapio, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Melia Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Victoria Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Gran Melia Hotel Victoria
Sol Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Palma Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Melia Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.