We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 5 night pick-me-up.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Palas Atenea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Palas Atenea to your Saves list
Melia Palas Atenea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off for MeliáRewards
Ranked #35 of 67 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent 5 night pick-me-up.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

Fine large Hotel on waterfront overlooking harbour also with balcony view of cathedral. Balcony en suite room worth the extra. Hotel and Service excellent. Staff courteous and friendly with good English. Breakfast outstanding with remarkable choice. Myself recovering from operation and my wife were made most welcome and comfortable.
Absolutely no complaint, only praise. Good local restaurants available with safe walking along waterfront. Taxis also well controlled and reasonable price, although costs generally were high for food etc.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    397
    109
    43
    34
See reviews for
125
410
27
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

We liked this hotel and it was fine for a weekend City Break. The hotel is located 2 km from the city centre but we enjoyed the 20 minute walk along the prom and marina into the town. There's also a regular bus service or a taxi rank right outside the main entrance of the hotel. To us the decor was simply typical Spanish city hotel, it certainly wasn't shabby as some people have said. The breakfasts were very good and the staff friendly.
There's a terrace pool area on the first floor looking out over the marina with the cathedral in the background.
The one and only piece of advice we'd give is to make sure you get a room on the west side of the hotel (away from the night club). Yes there was a lot of noise until 6 o'clock in the morning! We contacted Melia booking directly before we arrived and we're given a room away from the night club and didn't experience too much of a problem.
We would stay here again, Palma is a fantastic city and the hotel does get a lot of undeserved criticism.

  • Liked — Location & breakfasts!
  • Disliked — Night club
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

We found this to be a lovely grand hotel with mainly friendly staff offering good service. Rooms and bathrooms are quite large and very clean. Not great views from every room but the situation is excellent, right on the harbour in the centre of Palma. The pool area is small but there are always loungers and towels available and again this overlooks the harbour. Treatments in the Spa are excellent but not cheap. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it.

  • Liked — Grand entrance foyer and central location
  • Disliked — View from room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

avoid avoid avoid unless you are big fun off 80's deco it's impossible to comunicate with restaurant staff in english not even with the restaurant manager !!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

Having read the reviews we were looking forward to our stay here. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very nice.

But...the hotel is undoubtedly very dated, it really desperately needs an overhaul. There are buttons in the headboard that in about 1978 gave you a selection of music (a la Butlins) but now didn't and the air conditioning controls in the same panel didn't work, but that was because the real control panel was by the door! We did get ITV, of the few UK channels on the TV, but the signal kept breaking up, so we watched one of the numerous German channels. The beds were ok, but the rooms themselves were very tired looking.

We were given a room on the third floor, and the first night we were woken up at about 2am and then kept awake till about 6am by the club underneath the hotel and the (very loud) revellers in the street. The view from the room was a little disappointing, having paid for sea/cathedral view, we could certainly see the harbour, but the catherdral was almost hidden from view by the yacht masts.

We asked for, and were given, a different room for our next 2 nights - but on the 4th floor (and on the right hand side of the hotel as you look at it). The view of the cathedral was a bit better, being higher, and the noise was greatly improved except for one persistant reveller who insisted on singing olay olayolayolay for about 30 minutes at 3am!! It transpired that the patio door to the balcony didn't close properly so wasn't as sound proofed as it could have been.

We didn't use the hotel restaurants or the pool, but there were plenty of towels available and it looked clean. Drinks were hideously expensive, even for a city hotel, I didn't pay so much for a drink in a 5 star Central London hotel recently.

This isn't about the hotel, but Palma does seem to have a bit of an issue with young people and street drinking at night. After dark the place becomes a completely different animal. We caught the 8am airport bus from just outside the hotel, and the mess was amazing - almost as bad as the aftermath at Reading Festival!!

  • Liked — Close to cultural sights, restaurants.
  • Disliked — Dated, tired decor, and smell!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

We stayed for six nights (from Wednesday to Tuesday).
The hotel was a decent 4 star. The breakfast was all that others had built it up to be; a great choice, good quality and excellent service in a bright and spacious dining room.
Our room was a decent size with good 4-star facilities. But it was at the back and the double glazing was not very effective. On the Thursday and Friday nights we were woken up several times by excessive external noise as the clubs emptied. A room at the front may have avoided this problem (at an extra 30 euros a night). And the view from the front of the hotel is probably worth that anyway.
A nice touch was the complimentary bottle of Cava waiting for us when we returned to our room on my birthday.

  • Liked — The whole breakfast experience.
  • Disliked — Noise from emptying nightclubs.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

Stayed there for a long weekend with 8 friends, found the hotel okay! a bit quite and not really busy! attention to all!!! the spa was a joke! we all wanted a massage and were spending quite a bit of money there, i found that we could not use the spa after our massage..."shocking, as when you got to a spa and pay for a treatment the jacuzzi ect is there for you to use free without an extra cost!!! but the yhi spa said that we all had to pay an extra £15 each to sit in the Jacuzzi for just for 1 hour and then we had to leave! what kind of spa is that??? i had a pedicure which cost me 25E but they didn't soak my feet in nice warm soapy water...no they didn't yet have the foot spas in stock so the used a wet towel to clean my feet!!! i wouldn't of paid but they took your money upfront! that spa made my whole experience in that hotel crap as the reason i went there in the 1st place is because of the spa! so if you go there don't go for the spa, besides that the hotel is okay clean, big rooms.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Palas Atenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Palas Atenea

Address: Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#23 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#29 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Palas Atenea 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Melia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Palas Atenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palas Atenea Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Melia Palma De Mallorca
Melia Hotel Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Palas Atenea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.