We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed opinion” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Palas Atenea

Save Saved
You added Melia Palas Atenea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Palas Atenea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 64 hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mixed opinion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

ok, when we booked there wasn't an option to select a marina view room but we placed it on our preferences/notes to the hotel. When we checked in we were taken to our room by friendly concierge but first impressions were it stank of smoke, the yellow painted walls were greying/black and overall the room lacked a shine. Our water glasses hadn't been cleaned from the previous occupants, bed sheets were stained and there was a used razor stored between the grills on the outside balcony light...if you are in 644 see if its still there! Also a grotty view of flats behind the hotel however nice view of Castle!
We hen went doen to reception and asked if there were any other rooms available, to which we were told the hotel was full; whilst we were mulling our options over another room suddenly became available....it was smaller with a smaller bed and torn carpet! Was this a tactic to make us be grateful for 644??
So, we just got on with it.
I will agree that the breakfast is one of the best - lots of choice.
Pool area bit grubby and could do with a makeover; althogh I see from previosu posts the hotel are saying they are refurbing in Dec....however they are still charging the same prices!!!
It was my husband;s birthday whilst we were there and a bottle of cava was sent to our room as courtesy...nice touch but really does not make up for such disappointment.
Also, curiously a lone "lady" resides at the bar most evenings drinking only water.... was this just a coincidence or did we make a really big mistake choosing tis hotel??!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    310
    92
    32
    24
See reviews for
86
319
20
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed for a few days in October. Great base for Palma with good facilities. Rooms are a good size and the staff are efficient and pleasant. Breakfasts are great. Visited the Tapas Bar and was given a warm welcome and plenty of sound advice on what dishes to choose and a great couple of glasses of Rioja Crianza. Excellent value. Will use this as my base for future Palma visits if they keep the room prices sensible. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raquel m, GUEST EXPERIENCE at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for taking a moment of your time to let us know your personal evaluation of the Hotel Meliá Palas Atenea.

It is very important for us to know your opinions about the different aspects of our hotel because the principal commitment of MELIÁ HOTELS INTERNATIONAL is the satisfaction of our guests. Your comments will help us identify areas in which we can improve the quality standards in our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again to Meliá Palas Atenea.

Yours sincerely,

Raquel Martos
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is set on the promanade, with amazing views over the Bay, including the cathedral. Both in the day time, and at night the view was amazing. The rooms are clean and well furnished, although not in the luxury catagory and have a balcony. We had a side sea view, looking towards the port, with afternoon sun, as requested, and it was relaxing to sit at night and watch the cruise ships leave the port. The breakfast does live up to its billing, with a huge choice, and all fresh and looked after, and there is an option to sit outside, or inside. The pool is of a good size, but the sun is there in the morning, and moves later in the day, so sunbath until lunch time, the head off into the city. There is a good bus service that takes you into the town, or out to Illetas, with its lovely beaches, and if you want to just stroll into town, it is a pleasant walk, with great views, along the promanade. In the evening there is a good choice of restaurants and bars to suit different tastes and budgets.
This was a good choice, for location and amenities, and I hope to be back in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: pay to have a side sea view room or higher, as you would miss the views, and some of the lead in roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raquel m, GUEST EXPERIENCE at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for taking a moment of your time to let us know your personal evaluation of the Hotel Meliá Palas Atenea.

It is very important for us to know your opinions about the different aspects of our hotel because the principal commitment of MELIÁ HOTELS INTERNATIONAL is the satisfaction of our guests. Your comments will help us identify areas in which we can improve the quality standards in our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again to Meliá Palas Atenea.

Yours sincerely,

Raquel Martos
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here to attend a recent wedding. The rooms are, as others have said, in desperate need of up-dating. It felt like a faded 1970's pleasure palace which could do with at the very least a deep clean. Breakfast is expensive - but if you join the rewards club (for free) you get breakfast for half price. This made it a good deal and we enjoyed a fine spread in the mornings (but it wasn't the best breakfast of our stay). Chocolate and churros turned out to be nutella and churros - hardly the same. However, there was plenty of variety so it was worth the money in my opinion.
Sadly my main gripe was with the location...we were facing the back of the hotel (we could see Bellver Castle, not the harbour). It was a good, brisk, 20-25 minute walk to the cathedral/centre. The number 1 bus on the sea-front is not particularly frequent either. There was also a lot of noise outside our room (cars revving/teenage high-jinks) late on Friday night which left me wondering exactly when the Fast & The Furious was going to start filiming the latest installment. The surrounding area doesn't feel exactly salubrious either and I was glad to be a few floors up as the patio door didn't strike me as being terribly secure. The TV also didn't work throughout our stay (no signal apparently) but the wifi worked a dream throughout (apart from on the breakfast patio). Not a bad hotel (service was pretty near excellent throughout) but I wouldn't return as I'd want somewhere in central Palma.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I have just spent a prolonged weekend in Palma, staying at the Melia Palas Atanea.
The hotel is situated around 1,5 km. from Palma center, a nice walk along the sea front or alternatively take the bus (no 1) close to the hotel. The same bus took us from and to the airport (thanks to advice from other Tripadvisor users). Price one way to airport 2,5 €, price one way to Placa Espanya 1,5 €.
We found the hotel location great and probably had one of the best rooms of the hotel (519, superior room, sea view) with a big terrace overlooking the habour and the town including panoramic view of the cathedral.
Staff was friendly, breakfast was excellent. We visited the Yhi Spa once, just using the pool/jacuzzi and sauna. It was an OK experience too.
Due to previous hotel recommendations I expected room wi-fi to be charged separately, but apparently it was in our case included in the price of our room.
I can definitely recommend staying at the Melia Palas Atanea, but think that our nice experience for a large part depended on our room location - high up and facing the habour. Had we had a room on the back or the side of the hotel, the views would have been quite crappy...
NB: Due to night clubs in the basement and close surroundings some noise can be expected during the night/early morning. Not a real problem in our room, though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raquel m, GUEST EXPERIENCE at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for taking a moment of your time to let us know your personal evaluation of the Hotel Meliá Palas Atenea.

It is very important for us to know your opinions about the different aspects of our hotel because the principal commitment of MELIÁ HOTELS INTERNATIONAL is the satisfaction of our guests. Your comments will help us identify areas in which we can improve the quality standards in our services.

Thank you very much for your cooperation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again to Meliá Palas Atenea.

Yours sincerely,

Raquel Martos
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
173 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel was in excellent condition and in a superb location. Prompt courteous service. Magnificent views of the surrounding mountains. Convenient access to the port/beach of Port de Soller. With the new tunnel and roads on the island great access to Palma and other major cities/villages. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raquel m, GUEST EXPERIENCE at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for taking a moment of your time to let us know your personal evaluation of the Hotel Meliá Palas Atenea.

It is very important for us to know your opinions about the different aspects of our hotel because the principal commitment of MELIÁ HOTELS INTERNATIONAL is the satisfaction of our guests. Your comments will help us identify areas in which we can improve the quality standards in our services.

Thank you very much for your cooperation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again to Meliá Palas Atenea.

Yours sincerely,

Raquel Martos
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have reviewed this hotel previously a few years ago. I have visited on and off for the last 25 years so I have some fairly detailed knowledge.This has always been my number one hotel choice in Palma.
I stayed for 4 nights in March this year and identified a number of areas where standards have fallen or facilities withdrawn.
Firstly the hotel is way overdue for a refurbishment especially in the bedrooms, where maintenance is becoming an issue. The inner door in my room did not shut completely and the internal door furniture had simply been removed rather than being replaced. Also the catch on the balcony doors did not shut properly. The blackout blinds behind the curtains were cracked and had holes in them and need to be renewed.
For me the greatest disappointment was that the lobby bar which has always been a feature of this hotel was closed throughout my stay (it used to be open from noon every day) and there was no sign of the pianist who used to play in the lobby 6 nights a week. Whereas drinks are available from the adjoining seafront bar and restaurant, the atmosphere was nothing like it used to be in the lobby bar.
Despite there being a large number of staff and the hotel being very quiet, I noticed an empty coffee cup, a glass and a bottle were not cleared from a table on the outside terrace for 3 whole days.
The breakfast buffet remains wonderful, in fact the best I know anywhere, but even there, the omelette chef was no longer in evidence and omelettes and fried eggs etc needed to be ordered from the kitchen.
I still class the hotel as very good but, as a regular visitor, I have to say it is not as good as it once was and if standards continue to fall I think I will look for somewhere different to stay on my occasional visits to Palma.
Obviously Spain has suffered more than most from the economic downturn but I am not convinced that cutting facilities and delaying refurbishment will help to maintain the status of this hotel. It really needs to be taken up market and restored to how it was 15 years ago.

Room Tip: Always pay the extra for a front room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raquel m, GUEST EXPERIENCE at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for taking a moment of your time to let us know your personal evaluation of the Hotel Meliá Palas Atenea.

It is very important for us to know your opinions about the different aspects of our hotel because the principal commitment of MELIÁ HOTELS INTERNATIONAL is the satisfaction of our guests. Your comments will help us identify areas in which we can improve the quality standards in our services.

I would like to inform you that in the month of December we will begin a reform to the rooms and the lobby-hall to improve the image of our Melia Palas Atenea hotel.

Thank you very much for your cooperation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again to Meliá Palas Atenea.

Yours sincerely,

Raquel Martos
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Palas Atenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Palas Atenea

Address: Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#10 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Palas Atenea 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Melia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Melia Palas Atenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palas Atenea Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Melia Palma De Mallorca
Melia Hotel Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Palas Atenea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.