We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exclusive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Palas Atenea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Palas Atenea to your Saves list
Melia Palas Atenea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% discount
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Exclusive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Great rooms, great service, great food! Location is nice but be carefull where you have the windows (better not with the sea view even though it's a pity) as there is a night club right next to it and it's really noisy sometimes!

Room Tip: Location is nice but be carefull where you have the windows (better not with the sea view even thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    407
    113
    43
    35
See reviews for
129
419
28
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thézan, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed Fri-Mon. The hotel was very quiet being out of season, but the staff were polite and friendly and the public areas impressive.

We were not so lucky with our first room though, having thought we had booked a sea view via Olotels only to find on checking in that it was a standard room at the back of the hotel with a view over apartments, building site, someone's washing line, pub, and a scruffy car park. The room was tired, tiles falling off the balcony wall, the screw from the balcony door handle falling out so we couldn't open the door safely, leaky shower, and the seal on the balcony windows virtually non-existant (we could hear the all-night party in the car park below, and got no sleep), although the bed was big and comfortable. We didn't feel that this was a 4*room, more like a 2/3*.

We saw the receptionist the next morning, who immediately offered us an upgrade FOC to a sea room. The contrast was significant and the view, stunning. We sat out on the balcony all the time we were in the room, and the sunset and sunrise were beautiful. Definitely book a sea view, otherwise you will be very disappointed.

We got the No1 bus from the airport, 2.50€ each way, and the stop was only 5 minutes from the hotel. Also only 20minutes walk along the promenade to the cathedral, and 20 minutes uphill behind the hotel to Belver castle. We found all the sites very cheap to visit: 4€ cathedral, 2.70€ Belver castle, 2€ Arab baths. Fantastic value for money. Everyone was friendly, and it was easy to get around - we walked everywhere.

Plenty of choice of restaurants- tapas, italian, chinese, indian, grills, everything you could want. We had a great meal at the Italian just near the hotel, and also at the Indian restaurant (2nd Indian restaurant close to the hotel as you walk into town).

Room Tip: Book a sea view otherwise you may be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Both of these Hotels are owned my Melia and the standard of service in both is excellent.
They are both well located on the Paseo Maritimo a 100 yards apart and about 15 minutes from the airport. Both have Premium rooms with fantastic views over the Bay of Palma and the Cathedral.

Parking. The Victoria has its own free exterior and interior parking, whilst the Atenea has some spaces in an underground car park two doors away and charge 12 Euros day.

The rooms are about the same size at both of the Hotels.

Furnishings in the Victoria are more luxurious including slippers, dressing gown and an array of toiletries. The furnishings in the Atenea a little are more worn and there is little in the way of toiletries.

The beds are harder in the Atenea, but they are not uncomfortable.

They both have an extensive continental breakfast buffet with fresh fruit etc. If are looking for an English breakfast with bacon and eggs, then it is the Atenea for you. The Victoria offers an omelette cooked to your taste.

The sound proofing between rooms is better in the Victoria.

Street noise. When the revellers come out of Tito’s at 3.30 on Saturday morning, nothing can keep out the noise, but it is less noisy at the Atenea.

Both Hotels are excellently located for walking along the paseo to see the yachts or to walk into the centre of Palma.

Both have good swimming pools.

The bar at the Atenea is probably cheaper too than the Victoria. The Atenea’s barman pours a very large 103 brandy for 4.50 Euros.

Overall the Victoria has the edge, but it costs more.

Room Tip: Premium rooms give a wonderful view of the Bay of Palam
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed at the Melia Palas Atenea for a few days over Christmas. We have stayed there four times over the past few years to visit family who live locally. The hotel is very quiet, due to lack of occupancy, over Christmas but a great base to visit family and explore Palma.

Hotel is kept in excellent condition. Old fashioned with plenty of marble and wood features. Not suitable for children in the Summer, due to lack of entertainment and distance to any beach. Excellent as a base for a city break in Palma, quite easy to explore the island by public transport. Car parking anywhere in Palma is a nightmare.

Marina/cathedral view rooms are more expensive but a must for the stunning view alone. It is about 20 minutes walk to the cathedral and the old town. In the other direction 20 minutes to the Ponte Pi shopping mall with a Carrefour supermarket. Buses available on the Paseo Maritimo outside the hotel. Taxi to Plaza de Espana 6 Euro, taxis readily available, a trip to Soller on the train is a must. Plaza de Espana is opposite the station and close to the large department store El Corte Ingles, recommended.

Buffet breakfast is very good, maybe not quite as good as a few years ago. The A La Carte restaurant, attached to the hotel, is excellent for a snack at lunchtime, albeit rather on the pricey side. For an evening meal the selection is not so good. There are a couple of Italian restaurants within five minutes walk which we prefer. Good choice of restaurants in the old town.

Always enjoyed our short breaks in this hotel, but prefer to stay in places like Puerto Pollensa for a longer family holiday.

Room Tip: Sea view room for a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Best European weekend trip so far!!
We arrived in Majorca at 9am on Saturday morning and went straight to The Melia Palas Atanea, where we were greeted straight away by concierge and given early access to our room.
I recommend requesting an ocean-side room, where you'll get a stunning view of the boats in the marina and plenty of sunshine on your own balcony.
the location is fab, we walked out of the hotel and were in the heart of the cafe's and gelaterias, bike hire shops and right across the road from the waterside path which is perfect for cycling, rollerblading or walking into town away from the main footpath & traffic. At night the cafe strip comes alive and we had our choice of bars, pubs and cocktail bars.
This is one of the best value for money hotels we've stayed in, we booked through laterooms and paid £120 for our Saturday night stay, including a buffet breakfast for two.
The breakfast is the most impressive hotel buffet breakfast I've had in Europe; everything from freshly baked pastries and fresh fruit & yoghurt cups, an entire cheese & meats section, and a chef on hand to cook an omelette / poached egg / anything else you might want on request! Even better is the view from the terrace; you can actually sit poolside under sunshades and eat breakfast while looking out across the Marina - couldn't ask for a better breakfast experience.
On check-out we were able to leave our luggage safely stored for the day; we also were given a free map of Palma and the staff were very courteous and pleasant.
The whole experience was excellent, we plan on staying here again next year and I would recommend anyone wanting to stay in Palma to do the same!
We travelled in October and the weather was gorgeous, we were in t-shirts the whole weekend. Two days in Majorca felt like a long summer holiday. Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I stayed at Melia as part of a conference, and was impressed by the food and level of service from what is a comparatively reasonably priced hotel. We were all put up in large rooms with balconies.

As part of the arranging group for the conference, we were happy with the technical support lended us by the staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I was there on August and I was very sattisfied. Nice hotel, Great room with sea view and a small but very nice balcony. The staff was very polite and helpful and their english was great (unlike spanish people). The only downsides were that the pool was always crowded and the breakfast quality was not to the higher standards, although it had great variety. The Internet charge is very expensive too, but this is common in Spain. It is very close to Palma nightlife and sightseeing, but you need a car to reach a beach.

Room Tip: Get a Seafront view room. It is worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Palas Atenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Palas Atenea

Address: Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#14 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#23 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#31 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Palas Atenea 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Melia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Melia Palas Atenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palas Atenea Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Melia Palma De Mallorca
Melia Hotel Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Palas Atenea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.