We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A birthday treat in Palma's Old Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Can Cera Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Can Cera Hotel to your Saves list
Can Cera Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer Convent Sant Francesc, 8, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Mallorca
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A birthday treat in Palma's Old Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hotel Can Cera was once a family home - a traditional Mallorcan palacio, which the owners converted into a boutique hotel of considerable charm and interest. I'd dined here once, so I was very pleased to have the chance to stay over for the night of my birthday, after dinner out in Mallorca's capital.

We arrived to a very warm welcome from Carlos, on reception, who is probably the most charming and welcoming member of reception staff I've met; having, in the past, worked in hotel PR, I have met a LOT of receptionists. Carlos is a real asset to this hotel.

We'd booked a deluxe room but were upgraded to a junior suite (room 4), which was a lovely surprise. Carlos took us to the room, after giving us a brief tour of the facilities - which include several rooms decorated with antiques and old paintings, where you can sit on a sofa and lose yourself in one of the many interesting books around the place. There's also a small spa and guests can have private use of this for one hour. Sadly, we didn't get around to doing so, but will be sure to take advantage of this next time we stay. There's also a small roof terrace, equipped with deck chairs, where you can gaze out over the rooftops of the Old Town.

Our room was very peaceful and spacious, with an enormous and extremely comfortable bed. We appreciated the free room safe (large enough for a laptop), and minibar containing free bottles of water. Sisal matting on the floor was kinder on the tootsies than the bare tiles often found in Spanish hotels, although the usual hotel flip-flop-type slippers were provided, along with bathrobes.

Our bathroom was the hotel's largest, with a decent-sized bath, and two separate cubicles within it for the shower, and loo and bidet. These cubicles both have clear glass doors, which might not appeal to the shy guest whose partner is using the bathroom at the same time! I liked the French Damana toiletries provided. Heated towel rail appreciated too.

One of the highlights of this small hotel is its excellent location, a short walk away from the city's magnificent Gothic cathedral, and the main shopping area. It's worth turning right out of the hotel door during your visit to explore the narrow lanes of the fascinating Old Town.

For breakfast, we had planned to have coffee and pastries in one of the city's many cafes, but because the hotel had been kind enough to upgrade us - and given that we had eaten out the previous night - we decided to have breakfast at the hotel. The choice was reasonable and of good quality, but breakfast here is - I feel - a little expensive, compared to what can be found elsewhere in the city.

The hotel has free Wi-Fi, although we didn't use it.

I'm looking forward to staying here again - and trying the new sister hotel (also a conversion of a beautiful old Mallorcan palacio, but with a sea view) when it opens next spring.

Room Tip: Room number four (a junior suite) has the hotel's largest bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    44
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
236
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were very impressed by this hotel.It is of great architectural interest and was so different to anywhere else we have stayed. The location is excellent, being within walking distance of lots of attractions,bars and restaurants. The staff were very helpful and the whole hotel was pristine. Our bathroom was spacious and stylish with a great bath and shower. There is a small roof terrace that has views straight from a James Bond film.

Room Tip: Room 4 is spacious and stylish but can be a bit dark and there is some noise from the lobby below. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Having read all the reviews here, most of which were superlative, perhaps we were expecting too much.

Hotel Can Cera is certainly housed in a beautiful building and has just 12 rooms. It does however have a 5 star rating and when compared to some of the other 5 star hotels in Majorca, it is lacking in several respects.

In the room it would be nice to have a comfortable chair to sit in, not the hard dining type chairs they provided. For this reason it was not possible to sit, relax, or watch television, unless you were to lie on the bed. It was only possible to read a book during the day, as there were no lights in the room bright enough to be able to read at night. This is a common failing as hotels try to reduce their energy bills, but one expects more from a 5 star hotel. Perhaps they expect you to sit in a more comfortable chair in their huge and very attractive lounge on the first floor. To watch television, perhaps you are expected to go to the third floor television lounge. For us, we would prefer to be able to relax in our room.

It is certainly very quiet at night, except for the two nearby clocks which chime through the night. To be fair, they are not loud and they do mean you know the time if you wake up during the night.

Being such a small hotel one cannot expect a huge buffet breakfast and there is just a limited choice. To charge you 17 Euros for this and extra for anything cooked is a bit mean. You do have a choice of cafes within a very short walk, but we prefer to eat in the hotel.

They do try to provide an interesting menu for lunch and dinner, with food attractively presented. It does have the downside that placing hot food on a cold piece of slate for visual effect means it quickly becomes cold. In spite of this, if you are staying for a few days it is worth trying their Tasting Menu at 30 Euros. We are told the menu changes daily and certainly the menu we had provided an interesting, well cooked and presented meal, but not always hot.

The position of the Hotel has to be its major attraction. In the old town, with its stunning architecture and a short walk to the Cathedral in one direction and a maze of pedestrianised shopping streets in the other direction. If you are looking for inexpensive leather goods and clothing, as well as more expensive designer labels, you have a tremendous choice. You also have a wide range of cafes and restaurants just a short walk away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful, yet understated hotels in Mallorca and certainly in Palma. It is very quietly situated in a cobbled street but within a moments walk you reach a main square in Palma. The staff at the hotel are delightful, offer great service and are prepared to go out of their way to help, such as keeping the restaurant open for late arrivals.
The hotel has a beautiful courtyard and people like to wander past and take photos, just of the courtyard. We had room 3, the Can Cera Suite. It was simply lovely; a huge room with a private terrrace and an enormous sitting room. A bottle of Cava was awaiting us. There is also a small rooftop terrace.
We stayed for 3 nights and we loved it. Couldn't recommend this hotel more highly.

Room Tip: Room 3 was fantastic but they all look similar quality although a little smaller than room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel in September 2012. The location is perfect, right in the centre of the old town. We stayed in room 1 which was very large and comfortable. The bed was lovely with very nice linens. The bathroom was huge, and super modern with separate rooms for the toilet/bidet and shower areas. The window looked out onto a narrow area between buildings and sometimes in the morning you could hear people talking and what seemed like kitchen noises. We were greeted with a glass of cava (Spanish champagne) upon arrival and then given a quick tour of the hotel's ammenities. The staff were excellent and very helpful. We spent some time both days on the rooftop deck, a wonderful little area with comfy chairs and interesting views. I had left my purse slung over the back of a chair up on the rooftop deck and a couple of hours later when I realized I had done that I was very panicky. The staff had it safely tucked away at the front desk and it was such a relief. Thank you so much. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arona, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

An old style hotel with perfect location. Excellent staff, really helpful and polite. The parking in town is a nightmare so if you are renting a car don't forget to reserve a space in their private garage. Excellent big bed with nice pillows. If you have had a holiday before in Spain you will value this esoecially. Went here on a business trip and only read reviews in trip Advisor today. I stayed in room 8 and the noise wasn't to noticable though I am used to back ground hubbub.

Only one tiny, tiny, tiny complaint. Ants. To be more precise, termites. Harmless, but never the less, in abundant amounts. We bought some pastries (as one does in Palma Mallorca) and even though they were in a large plastic bag, the little buggers went to town!

Don't be put off. Just don't take any food to your room, which was spotless on arrival. Really, anyone who has read any of my other reviews will see that I am not easily placated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My Husband and I have just returned from three nights at this simply fantastic hotel. It was a treat for his "big" birthday.
We were upgraded on arrival and given a complimentary bottle of cava.
The room was fabulous, the bathroom was a wet room plus separate bath. The bed was huge and very comfortable with gorgeous linen.
I have never stayed anywhere where, without exception, every member of staff was outstanding. They were all polite, helpful, efficient and friendly. Cannot speak highly enough of this absolute jewel of a hotel.
It's not the cheapest in Palma, but I cannot believe there is anywhere better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palma de Mallorca
0.1 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 69 in Palma de Mallorca
5.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
3.4 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#4 of 69 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#16 of 69 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#5 of 69 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa
Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa
#20 of 69 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
0.6 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#13 of 69 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can Cera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can Cera Hotel

Address: Carrer Convent Sant Francesc, 8, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#1 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Can Cera Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At over 700 years old, Can Cera has one of the longest histories in Palma. The building dates back to before 1232 when Jaume I conquered the island with Catalan and Aragonese troops. Located inside the ancient city walls close to the Cathedral, Can Cera is in the very heart of the Old City, between the Plaza de Santa Eulalia and the Plaza de San Francisco. Over the years, Can Cera’s many owners have made alterations to the original building. The most important of these were done in the 17th Century, when –as in many of the surrounding houses– Italian Renaissance architects inspired the creation of the celebrated patios, giving the houses their singularly attractive, yet austere, character. Inside, the house is significant and rich with well-proportioned rooms, high ceilings of sculptured plasterwork, balconies and above all, palatial adornments. Today, Can Cera, has been thoroughly renovated and equipped as a first class Hotel. The traditional Majorcan patio, with its majestic arches, exuberant Kentia and other lush plants, leads to the Reception area and the Can Cera Restaurant. A marble stairway leads up to a surprising space: a comfortable and welcoming Home with its original layout intact. Period furniture and contemporary paintings abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Splendia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Can Cera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Can Cera Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Can Cera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.