We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Can Cera Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Can Cera Hotel to your Saves list
Can Cera Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer Convent Sant Francesc, 8, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Can Cera is an old masion transofrmed into a 5* hotel last year in 2011. it is located in a nice quite area between two churches and close to the cathedral. I booked a junior suite (room number 5)for 4 days and i love everything about it. The design of the rooms, the perfect service, the beautiful common rooms, the super confortable bed and modern bathroom.
two points i think you should take note of:
1- the hotel is perfect for the day but far from all the action at night (a taxi can be arranged by the hotel, but the cab will add 2 euro since it has been requested rather than just picked up at the street)
2- Always keep the hotel card with you. None of the taxi drivers i used have heard of it (Maybe coz its a small and new hotel)
3- Dont book a room with breakfast. Eventhough it is not bad yet you dont have choices. only 3 selections of pastries, same goes for cheese and cold cuts. there are plenty of places around where you can have the same and for a cheaper cost.

Room Tip: Room number 5 is a junior suite. it overlooks the courtyard with a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    34
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
187
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed here for just one night to celebrate my mum's birthday. I thought I would splurge and book a Junior Suite to spoil her. The hotel is delightful, set on a narrow alley between two churches. It has been lovingly transformed from a family home to a comfortable hotel and manned by friendly staff.

Unfortunately when we checked in, and unbeknown to me, we were given a standard room. I didn't think it looked as large as the 40+ sqm that is said on the website, but as there was no other description to go by I just assumed we had been given one of the smaller suites.

We had a nice night but as we were checking out the next morning we walked past a room and as I peered inside it seemed considerably larger with masses of light flooding in. When we got to reception I asked if we were in a Junior Suite and the girl said no, just a standard room. Then she said "but we did have an empty Jr Suite last night". When I said that is what I had booked she quickly went to my file and saw I had indeed booked and paid in advance for a Jr Suite. She was helpful and said she would sort out a refund as soon as possible "but it was only 25 euro so doesn't really matter". I beg to differ! I thanked her very much for her help, we called a taxi and continued on our way.

Later that afternoon I got an email to say the refund would be processed on my credit card. That was appreciated but I was still so disappointed that we had been given the wrong room when it clearly said Junior Suite on the arrival forms and I had booked it as a treat for my mum on her birthday. While I appreciate the hotel acted quickly to get me a refund, I think it left a bit of a bad impression. Just a couple more minutes at check-in and we would have had the correct room type and most likely left the hotel in a far brighter mood.

Nevertheless the hotel is very quaint, the beds were comfortable and it's in a good location. Note that the bathroom is completely open to the bedroom so not great for sharing with friends! There is free wifi and a roof terrace (no shade) for a bit of sneaky sunbathing.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My Wife and I stayed there for a short break in May. The secret Courtyard with it's little restaurant in the corner was really quaint and made the whole place seem peaceful and tranquil. The staff there are fantastic and so helpful.

The rooms have been decorated and maintained to a very high standard and the furnishings are eclectic and very comfortable.

My Wife and I used the Spa facilities in the Hotel a lot and the Hotel proved to be a real oasis of comfort and tranquility.

We both loved our stay and would definitely go back there...if we can get in!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Really a very very nice place to stay. No complaints at all other than a noisy water pump outside the suite we stayed in. However the owner sent up champagne and promised to fix it. Highly recommended as far as we were concerned and will go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Hotel is amazing,

Clean spacious rustic, in the middle of the old town, the showers are amazing the quality of sleep is also amazing, very welcoming and helpful staff specially Benjamin. But the breakfast is a bit poor.

However all this get spoiled from the kitchen under your room window and the house keeping staff moving btls within the hotel.

It is not acceptable that at 7am you wake up on plates being moved or at 3pm while you need to rest.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A serene and shaded courtyard gives way to this lovely hotel situated in a great location in Palma Town; staff is friendly, helpful, and full of information about restaurants, bicycle rentals, things to do and see. Decor is discrete, tasteful and appropriate. This is a former residence; with a lovely rooftop deck for sunbathing, and common rooms for reading, internet, etc. Excellent restaurant, staff, bed, linens, appointments and bathrooms. Not inexpensive but a great value. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor was filled with light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

1 night stay and it really is a lovely building with only 12 bedrooms, so very intimate. Nice glass of cava on arrival as we checked in and very friendly front of house staff, who seem enthusiastic about the hotel and its history(over 300 years old and originally a merchants house).
Rooms are lovely and bright and airy, if a little minimalist, but this is entirely in keeping with the property. All amenities provided as you would expect from a modern hotel.
Did not dine there, but breakfast was nice with usual cold buffet choices and hot dishes to order.
The courtyard on entry is where you dine as well, and it is very charming and during the day, is much photographed by passing tourists - it is very pretty.
Only real issue I have is that the hotel, being in a narrow street, has any outside sound amplified at whatever hour. The street is quiet but any noise seemed to carry despite us being on 2nd floor, with all windows and shutters closed.
This is an unusual small hotel where staff try hard to make you have an enjoyable time. We did.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Can Cera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can Cera Hotel

Address: Carrer Convent Sant Francesc, 8, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#1 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Can Cera Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At over 700 years old, Can Cera has one of the longest histories in Palma. The building dates back to before 1232 when Jaume I conquered the island with Catalan and Aragonese troops. Located inside the ancient city walls close to the Cathedral, Can Cera is in the very heart of the Old City, between the Plaza de Santa Eulalia and the Plaza de San Francisco. Over the years, Can Cera’s many owners have made alterations to the original building. The most important of these were done in the 17th Century, when –as in many of the surrounding houses– Italian Renaissance architects inspired the creation of the celebrated patios, giving the houses their singularly attractive, yet austere, character. Inside, the house is significant and rich with well-proportioned rooms, high ceilings of sculptured plasterwork, balconies and above all, palatial adornments. Today, Can Cera, has been thoroughly renovated and equipped as a first class Hotel. The traditional Majorcan patio, with its majestic arches, exuberant Kentia and other lush plants, leads to the Reception area and the Can Cera Restaurant. A marble stairway leads up to a surprising space: a comfortable and welcoming Home with its original layout intact. Period furniture and contemporary paintings abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Can Cera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Can Cera Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Can Cera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.