We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Olas Bistro

Las Olas Bistro
Can Fortuny, 5 | "Call" Jewish Quarter Entrance, Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
+34 971 21 49 05
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 1,448 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: 3 Course lunch-menu, can be 1 course or Tapas. Sefardi/ Asian & Local influence. Not a fast food Restaurant!
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Always interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We very much enjoy our visits to Las Olas, it's very atmospheric sitting outside for lunch or dinner. We've had some really interesting selections of food, the influences vary from Asian, Middle Eastern, to French & Spanish. Always very happy with the menu del dia which is great value at lunchtime. Look forward to returning next year, compliments to the chef, her flavours are great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    52
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
}���S��
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Eastern twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We love this quirky little place set in the back streets behind the cathdral. The blend of Eastern spices with lovely local produce, such as fish, is superb and full credit to the chef - she does an amazing job. If anything, our second visit was even better quality that the first and we were lucky to have a table outside, but you need to reserve at a weekend. Can't wait to return for those Thai salads, a bargain!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food in the Old Town of Palma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Have been many times and never disappointed.
Lovely freshly prepared food with lots of flavour,
Awesome Patatas Bravas!!!
Being Vegan means we do not have many restaurants to choose from in Palma. Evelyn always accommodates us with something tasty.
Many thanks from the bagel boys!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Pleasant Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Had a very relaxed and enjoyable outdoor lunch recently. The "menu del dia" was well prepared and good value. We found the owner very hospitable as well, and service was friendly and competent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, bad owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A good restaurant with honestly great food. However the owner, (not the chef) was not all that great. Slow service ( not the normal waiters fault, but again the owner), and worst of all the owner was offensive and insulting to the guests.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasolasbistro, Owner at Las Olas Bistro, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We have around 6500 guests that pass through Las Olas each year of which 40 bother and take the time to put something on the net of which (at this time of year when we are busy) 5 have so much venom and poison in their blood that they enjoy tremendously to try and crucify me or burn me at the stake. From your vantage point you had no idea what was happening in the kitchen and that there is only one person (my wife) preparing and serving dishes also you are not a mind reader and so have no idea that the waitress had her father in intensive care for the last week and to some degree dissturbed her and us since we are a team. I did notice that you had a problem smiling and didn't smile to your table or anyone the whole evening plus a problem with the words please and thankyou which didn't exist in your vocabulary, If we have 5 tables that enter at the same time and each table takes like you 25 minutes to order with one chef preparing dishes i will let you do the maths, i have to look after the 6495 clients who are satisfied, happy and understanding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Olas Bistro also viewed

 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Las Olas Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Olas Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.