We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colon Palma

Save Saved
You added Hotel Colon Palma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colon Palma
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 de Desembre, 07003 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Amic Hotel Colon) (Bons Aires)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
beirut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cheap and excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Large and great room for low price...the hotel is low in the star rating due to the lack of aneminities, but has a great and spacious room...

Away from the noise in Mallorca, so you can enjoy a great night's sleep...

Small shower but not bad...

Reception is great, and thanks to Gosia, the Polish girl there, she was really helpful and went out of her way several times to help me, especially when i needed to rent a car at 8 AM in the morning since it was my last day in Mallorca...

I really recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a good location, a great room, and a small budget to pay...and will be my choice if i go back to Mallorca in the future...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    53
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
42
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just spent a couple of days in palma, Bed was memory foam, very comfy, room was spacious and the entire hotel was the cleanest i have ever experienced. not far off placa espanja, which had buses and trains going to the rest of the island. We had to wait a little bit to check in because we arrived very early and check in is at 12 but we were offered a place to put our luggage. Walls seemed to be a little thin as we could hear anyone that were near us, but wasn't much of a problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very pleasant small hotel, convenient to all tourist attractions. We found it hard to find as it has a very small sign outside, it is on a corner opposite a restaurant (which serves a very nice breakfast) but they could really do with a proper sign. Rooms are small but spotless and quiet, staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in May 2013. Central location - easy walk to old town, railway station and cathedral. Clean and recently refurbished. Rooms are quite small and the safes didn't work in either of our rooms. Staff friendly and helpful. A little noisy on the lower floors on the front of the building from the road but not enough to disturb sleep.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Hotel Colon in March, choosing it based on TripAdvisor reviews. While initially worried about it being a 1-star hotel, I was pleasantly surprised. The location is particularly good if one is coming into the city, or exploring Mallorca by bus/train, as the station is about a 10 minute walk. The hotel itself is very basic, but clean and well kept. The rooms are small, and have tiny bathrooms, but I even had a small terrace in mine. There are no amenities to speak of in the hotel, hence its 1-star rating. But the staff are friendly and very accommodating. There are some restauarnts nearby, but there are all fairly basic, and seem to be frequented by locals. The heart of Palma is about a 20-minute walk, so not too far for most people. What was great for me, is the number of small bakeries in the immediate neighbourhood, with great pies and pastries. Overall, I was extremely happy with my choice, and would gladly return the next time I am in Palma.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Pro: perfect location, nice staff, very clean, good beds. Location is near a busy street but I slept on a side that I didn't hear anything.
Contra: no breakfast but nice places near by, a little bit noisy but only from people at the hall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weymouth
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We found this hotel on the internet and decided to stay here because it is relatively cheap and the location seemed to be right for us. When holidaying we don't need somewhere with a swimming pool or other recreation facilities because we just don't use them -- all we want is somewhere comfortable to base ourselves.

Our room was on the first floor, right above the reception area. The traffic noise might upset some people, but we've lived on a main road for years and tend not to notice it. Keep the windows closed and the glazing, along with good blackout curtains keeps the noise out. The room was small, but not so small that it was uncomfortable (no smaller than many other places that we have stayed). The bathroom facilities were compact, but adequate for our needs (shower, washbasin and toilet). Gel dispensers were provided by the basin and in the shower.

Reception gave us the WiFi access details and this worked well (this was free to use). There was an air-conditioning/heating unit, but we didn't need to use it.

It was just a ten minute walk down the road to get to the train and bus station situated opposite the Placa D'Espanya (you can only see the old station buildings from ground level because all the new station facilities have been moved underground).

The number 1 local bus that gets one to and from the airport also stops in the Placa D'Espanya, so transport to and from the airport is really easy -- a bus every 15 minutes during the daytime. It's about a 15 minute trip to the airport and the bus fare is just €2.50 each.

Walk through the centre of the city and it will take about 25 minutes to arrive at the cathedral and harbour front.

Cafe's and bars abound in the area, so finding somewhere to eat doesn't pose a problem. We don't normally make recommendations, but we ate mostly at the Cafe 1916 in the Placa D'Espanya.

Staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful. The room was kept clean, as were the public areas of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colon Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colon Palma

Address: 31 de Desembre, 07003 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Amic Hotel Colon)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca > Bons Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Colon Palma 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in Palma de Mallorca center near the Plaza de España Hotel Colon Palma is very well connected to everywhere in the island. Ideal for independent travellers that wishes to discover the city and book directly to the Hotel. English speaking Staff and very helpful. Totally refurbished in 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Hotel Colon Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Palma Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colon Palma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.