We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice shady square/park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Passeig des Born

Passeig des Born
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
34-971-722-092
Improve this listing
Visit Passeig des Born like an insider
$28*
and up
Activities: People-watching, Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A wide, tree-lined avenue full of bars, pubs and cafes: a good place to start your evening.
Kazan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Nice shady square/park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice shady square/park. Many cafes, little traffic nearby. Some Sphinx statues installed on both ends, fountains working.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    216
    53
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“SHADY OASIS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Don't quite understand some of the negative comments. This is a beautiful tree lined pedestrian boulevard in the cathedral district of the city. On a hot summers day it offers welcome shady relief to stroll or sit. You certainly don't have to pay there is plenty of free public seating but also plenty of cafes if so desired.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We visited October 2011. Just took city-sightseeing bus around Palma and then had walk through city - think looks lovely. NIce day!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“overated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

justa collection of posh shops you can find anywhere. some nice architecture in the older buildings though.
don't fall fo rthe overpriced bars in the middle go to the cheaper ones at the top

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Tree Lined Boulevard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stopped for a light lunch here at the end of July. It's a lovely boulevard for people watching and listening to the street musicians and nice and cool under the trees.

However, we ate at Caffe Vergnano, towards the top of the street and I wouldn't recommend it. The food was OK- overpriced, but you're paying for the atmosphere so I didn't mind that. The waitress was absolutely dreadful. We found a free table, sat down and then watched three other parties sit down and get served while we waited and waited and waited. I finally popped up to the waitress to ask for a menu and she snapped at me, "In a minute". I clearly annoyed her because she took our drinks orders and then vanished again. We waited and waited and waited again to order our food. By the time she finally bothered to come back to us (having had to again get her attention as she studiously ignored our table), the tables which had arrived after us already had their food! Fortunately the food arrived fairly quickly and we did enjoy sitting outside watching the world go by.

The female toilets were a bit nasty as well- one had a broken door and large warning sign on it and the other was pretty dirty.

Loved the street, not so much the cafe we chose!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passeig des Born also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Passeig des Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Passeig des Born, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.