We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferrocarril de Soller

Ferrocarril de Soller
Placa d'Espanya, 2, Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
902 364711
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$78*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A seventeen-mile scenic train ride through the Spanish countryside between Palma and Soller.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was a fantastic day out altho you dont have to spend that long if you dont have the time. THe old fashioned coaches with all the wood detailing are fab and you get to stop for a photo opportunity on the way overlooking some of the prettiest views in Mallorca. Soller is a very quaint town with many bars and restaurants. Life is just so much simplier there. Cant wait to visit again

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,094
    668
    197
    49
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The good and the bad...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I think it's really important to maintain the history of places so I loved the idea of this trip. The train ride will take you back in time while enjoying the beautiful, untouched countryside. My husband and I enjoyed our trip on the train to Soller and my boys would have loved it as I think most children would. However, if you have any back issues I would advise against it as it can get very bumpy and discomforting at times. Also, we were there in late May and unless you line up an hour beforehand you can't get on the next train back to Palma. We stood in line a good half hour before hand only to find out that the train was already full with people packed in and standing, having to wait until the trains scheduled departure time. I can't imagine what it's like in high season with the heat! That being said, loved exploring this little mountain town but I recommend a train ride in and another means out (we took a taxi).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, E Sussex
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A train with a difference”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The train trip on the old Soller train is an experience!
It is a wooden train and the windows let in much needed fresh air on hot days. The route is through small villages, farms and gorges

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seller train & tram”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

An excellent and varied experience. Old fashioned rail travel thro' varied landscape ... Orange & olive groves, mountains and then the sea. Great for families but also a romantic interlude for couples ! Highly recommended .... An unusual experience.
One negative .... Pick your restaurant carefully in Porto Soller

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We did the train and tram trip on a very hot day in June and it worked out really well. The train was very cool with big windows to view the countryside and was immaculately maintained. There are a few long tunnels through mountains which my son thought were great. We took the tram to the port and had lunch and headed back. My only regret was not spending longer there - we caught the late morning train and headed back about 4ish as the next train was at 6 and was the last one that day. The train journey takes about an hour and the tram about half an hour each way. I would guess the final 6 pm train back would be packed as the tram and train heading back looked v.busy. Soller had lovely looking places to eat and shop and the port had a beautiful beach as well as plenty of shops and places to eat.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferrocarril de Soller also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Ferrocarril de Soller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferrocarril de Soller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.