We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tucana

Tucana
Calle Apuntadors 14, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain (La Llotja-Born)
971 72 44 28
Improve this listing
Ranked #191 of 1,452 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: La Llotja-Born
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Menu de diea, authentic tapas, we left full and happy from our 3 course meal, drinks and coffee included, €48 for all four of us!! Food is cooked fresh, spotless clean including loos, you can see the kitchen. Niggle if any wifi not up to much. Go you won't be disappointed, cool respite at lunch time promise.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    36
    7
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great value and good taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a lovely meal here. Good quality food which we enjoyed a lot. The tapas we shared as a starter was interesting and tasty and the main course was tasty too. The bill was reasonable too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We found ourselves in Palma for a couple of hours on a Sunday en route back to London and had a late lunch here. We walked around the old city, entering the maze of little streets opposite the Palau de l'Almudaina looking for somewhere to eat. Having seen the board outside Tucana advertising three courses and a drink for €12 (between 12.00-16.00), we clocked it and continued searching but decided it was the best on offer so came back.
It was a good call!
The first course consisted of three tapas - rosemary chicken with mixed salad, (3) olives and (4 or 5) slices of manchego cheese and (lots of) padrón peppers (tiny green peppers grilled and sprinkled with sea salt). These were the only tapas available on the lunch menu on that particular Sunday - there were a couple of other alternatives including anchovies. I imagine they would probably have been on offer during the week.
Main course was a choice of spaghetti - I chose asparagus and "fish" - which turned out to be three delicious fat shrimp. The asparagus spear was grilled. The pasta was generously coated in a very tasty dressing of butter and olive oil and sprinkled with parsley. My husband chose a tomato sauce with pork tenderloin. The (two) pork slices were tasty and the tomato sauce good, if a bit drippy.
Desert was a scoop of chocolate ice cream with a dollop of cream.
We both had a large glass of freshly squeezed orange juice. A bottle of mineral water (I think it was 500ml) was free.
We enjoyed the meal and it was just what we needed before the journey home on a budget airline that wasn't offering anything to eat. I wouldn't say the portions were huge, but they weren't mean and we felt the menu offered decent value for money. Other options we'd seen were not as generous.
Looking at what other people were eating - off the main menu rather than the lunch special - gave you the feeling that the standard was generally high.
The one waitress worked hard and was very friendly but overstretched - we had to wait rather a long time for our water and my husband noticed that our pasta was waiting for a bit before we were given it - I hope she would have had help when the restaurant was more crowded.
The atmosphere was slightly rustic; the background music decent and not too loud. For a no-frills, good-value lunch we'd certainly recommend it and hope you have as good an experience as we did.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A good find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Wandering Palm we came across Tucana by chance. Great atmosphere and the tapas was excellent. Good selection with fantastic moules and albondingas. Good wine choice too and very well priced.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“One of many Tapas Bars – Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Arrived at Tucana after wandering about old town Palma – no research just hit the place as there were a number of patrons evident. Deciding on just some Tapas and beers – we were neither disappointed nor amazed by the standard of fare. Service and food was good, atmosphere and venue as you would expect from this size of restaurant. Probably hit or miss depending on where seated as loads of options. It was a tad pricey with a 20euro/£20 premium over similar experiences elsewhere on the island. Expect paying for old town location tourism uplift etc.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tucana also viewed

 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Can Pastilla, Majorca
 

Been to Tucana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.