We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basmati Restaurante Hindu

Basmati Restaurante Hindu
Calle Caro, 7, 07013 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
+34 971 71 03 87
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $43
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Shahin Awal, the owner and chef of Basmati restaurant, is an excellent ambassador for Indian food in Palma de Mallorca. For almost 20 years, diners in Palma de Mallorca, diners have enjoyed the flavours of India through Shahin?s cooking, whose success lies in dishes made from authentic family recipes. One of his specialities is Peshawar Nan, a bread made with dried fruits, honey, coconut and almonds. The restaurant is beautifully decorated, playing music that instantly transports you to India. The menu offers a wide variety of options both at lunchtime and in the evening.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We recently celebrated my sister-in-law's birthday here and had the most wonderful evening.Starting at the entrance with rose petals scattered on the steps we knew we were in for a delightful time.The welcome received from chef/owner Shaheen was warm and genuine,the decor is so pretty and the food delicious.This is a tasting menu so no decisions about who is having what!Shaheen explains each and every dish that is brought to the table and the food is all made with natural ingredients and is so,so delicious.In short,10 out of 10! P.S going back tonight!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    69
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food & Great Service !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile


Authentic Indian food made without using ready made sauces or cream and using the freshest produce available on the day.

It is a set menu €27.50 each and we went as a family of four (2 adults and 2 children) after reading great previous reviews on Tripadvisor.

We received a wonderful warm welcome from the owner with rose petals everywhere.....a nice touch.
As one of our children was just 9 years old and vegetarian, the owner made a special effort to bring some additional special dishes for him !!

He outlined the set menu and we enjoyed a great bottle of chilled house wine. It all sounded wonderful and indeed was delicious with great depth of flavours.

Food and wine is excellent as is the warm hospitality and Asian decor.

Well done for making it a wonderful special evening filled with great memories !

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Beware of opaque pricing ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a lovely looking restaurant - on a corner 2 blocks up from Santa Catalina market . When we walked in the waitress seated us, but took ages to ask us what we'd like to drink. The owner/chef (?) then explained the menu pricing ( including wine, water and coffee) and that the 4 courses were without choice - the starters were a pumpkin pakora and asparagus bhaji- all the food was good - when it came to the bill they had charged extra for sparking water ( they include tap water with set menu!) extra for a cortado and a cappuccino ( don't know what's included ? Nescafé ?!) and then 8% tax ( I have never seen a restaurant add tax on afterwards ) we left feeling ripped off for what was a nice (but expensive ) curry . BEWARE of the extras .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

My wife and I visited the lovely city of Palma for a short spring break. For us to have dinner twice in the same restaurant says it all. On both occasions we were greeted with a warm welcome and enjoyed wonderful meals. Given the excellent service, the tranquil ambience and the free flowing 'chilled' Carinena vino tinto, we had two memorable evenings.
Thank you!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balearics
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

An inspirational restaurant with attentive, efficient service and delicious, imaginative cuisine we are locals in Palma and have eaten at this restaurant many times and have never been disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basmati Restaurante Hindu also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Basmati Restaurante Hindu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basmati Restaurante Hindu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.