We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Majorcan Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basmati Restaurante Hindu

Basmati Restaurante Hindu
Calle Caro, 7, 07013 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
+34 971 71 03 87
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $43
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Shahin Awal, the owner and chef of Basmati restaurant, is an excellent ambassador for Indian food in Palma de Mallorca. For almost 20 years, diners in Palma de Mallorca, diners have enjoyed the flavours of India through Shahin?s cooking, whose success lies in dishes made from authentic family recipes. One of his specialities is Peshawar Nan, a bread made with dried fruits, honey, coconut and almonds. The restaurant is beautifully decorated, playing music that instantly transports you to India. The menu offers a wide variety of options both at lunchtime and in the evening.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A true Majorcan Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Visited Basmati again yesterday for a lunchtime birthday celebration and had a wonderful experience. We have dined at Basmati a few times over the years and love the new restaurant, the settings now fit the hospitality and quality of food, they are all fantastic!! The hosts are very friendly, welcoming and make the whole experience so enjoyable. The food is first class and it is so lovely to try so many dishes you have never tried before, the kitchen produces the best! My highlight dish yesterday was a beautiful venison curry, mmmm, The free red wine is very enjoyable but you can ask for a wine menu if you fancy something of your own choosing. For 30e per person we enjoyed a starter, grill, main course, sweet, tea/ coffee and liqueur, and of course the free flowing wine. We will be back in Majorca in March and our first stop will be Basmati. Treat yourself to a wonderful decadent holiday treat at such a reasonable price, with such welcoming hosts, you won't find better on Majorca!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    69
    23
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Great Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were only in Mallorca for two nights, so we wanted to make sure that we made the best of our dining experiences. Luckily, this restaurant did not disappoint! The chef was very attentive, taking time to come to our table to understand what types of flavors / spiced we liked / disliked and then tailoring his suggestions based on our answers to these questions.

The food was excellent! We had four courses - each as good or better than the last.

All in all, this was a fantastic dining experience. I would recommend it to all looking for a good place to eat in Mallorca!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vercelli, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“basmati and indu?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I do not know the genuine hindu cooking, so no chanche to express my opinion. The restaurant had a good ambience, the chef had just a testing menu, free interpreded. What I can say is that the food was good, not to spicy but tasty. But do hindu people drink red wine at lunch? Unfortunately almost ethnic restaurant loose their identity, when abroad.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahin A, Propietario at Basmati Restaurante Hindu, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
"i do not know the genuine hindu cooking". Well, why did you wright a review in tripadvisor? If you say that "the food was good", why you only give us 3 stars?

You are talking about the wine. We have a restaurant. People who come to dine at our restaurant is of multiple religions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“The best Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Do you like herbs and suprising flavors? Then Basmati is your restaurant. It's true, one cann't eat a la carte, but the menu's are great and have a lot to offer. We had the full, five courses menu (27,50€) . Five times small portions but of a great quality. And with flavors we have hitherto never experienced in Indian restaurants. The combination of price and quality is astonishing!
Good service and a owner who takes the time to explain the dishes. The ambiance of the restaurant is tradional en pleasant. We can recommend it to anyone who dares to deviate from the familiar path.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The food was absolutely fabulous. It is a set price of 27€ per person for 4-5 courses plus wine included. I eat at Indian restaurants in every country we visit and this is by far the best. This evening they had naan filled with dried fruits and honey. It was so good, I couldn't get enough of it. Every course had multiple dishes with lots of variety so you could taste everything. Definitely recommend this restaurant - loved it!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basmati Restaurante Hindu also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Basmati Restaurante Hindu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basmati Restaurante Hindu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.