We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but rooms need improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Apuntadores

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Apuntadores to your Saves list
Hostal Apuntadores
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Apuntadores, 8, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location but rooms need improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Hostal Apuntadores has both pros and cons. Pros are: Location is right in the middle of downtown, 2 mins walk from the Cathedral so couldn't be any better if you want to be in the center of Palma. The terrace has amazing views to the cathedral so is the perfect place to enjoy breakfast or even a beer. Service was OK. However, the room quality is very poor. We got room 33 and it was very dark, bulky tiny beds and the fridge didn't work. Besides, there was water leaking from the ceiling and falling into my bed so it got all wet. Fortunately I didn't spend too much time sleeping because a wet bed is unacceptable. I reported the problem to the reception and they promised to take a look, but the next night it was again wet. Pretty bad.

Room Tip: Avoid room 33. It has a leak in the ceiling and beds get wet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apuntadores, Owner at Hostal Apuntadores, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Oh dear, we did let you down. The leak in 33 was fixed very quickly but of course that didn´t help you. Many apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    61
    23
    18
    13
See reviews for
8
64
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

During the fall of 2011 my wife and I stayed several nights at Hostal Apuntadoras in Palma de Mallorca. The hotel provided clean basic lodging at a very fair price. The location near the old city, cafes, shops, and small squares is excellent. All you'll want to see is within reasonable walking range of the hotel. The desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. The real treat with this hotel is its rooftop patio. Near sunset grab a bottle of wine some cheese and other snacks and head to the top of the building. The nighttime view toward the cathedral is magnificent! I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our low floor room faced the street, and that did provide some late night noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apuntadores, Owner at Hostal Apuntadores, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
You really can´t beat sunset on the terrace can you? I recommend that those on a budget shop in the nearby supermarket and enjoy the Mediterranean evenings in fine style for just a few euros.
Thanks for sharing your esperiences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

You are not booking in to a Hilton - and you're paying Hilton prices. What you are getting is great value for money - If you need a bed, a shower and be 30 seconds from heaps of Tapas bars, restaurants and the hub of the city, then this is for you. The people are very friendly and speak great English - this may be due to the English owner and the English staff.
Roof Terrace is stunning and views even more so.
Yes, the room decor may be a bit dated, but hey! so am I.
Definitely will stay again

Room Tip: Avoid 6th floor rooms if weather is not good - furniture on roof terrace moves around a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apuntadores, Owner at Hostal Apuntadores, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks Rob. There are plenty of Hilton type hotels in Palma but nothing else like us. Location, value and views with a friendly service is our motto. I am happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Having arrived in Palma late with no accommodation planned we were left with few options but to book into this place. the hostel is slap bang in the old town down a narrow street. It's actually just off the main shopping street but could be difficult to find. because we rocked up last minute we were charged around 39 euros for a twin room. It may be much cheaper if booked in advance. the place didn't look at all busy. reception was friendly. We were given a room at the top of the building which was pretty basic with two beds a wardrobe and two doors opening onto a tiny balcony. if you stretched your neck there was a view over toasted the cathedral. the floor was tiled and the room was freezing cold. There was a shared basic bathroom in the hallway which which I assume was shared among the other three or four rooms. it seemed to me that we were the only guests staying that evening but obviously I can't confirm that. If you want to be right in Palmas old town then you can't get much better than this but the place is basic and lacked warmth. it was more a place to leave your bags and sleep in but not much else. I guess if you got the place for a really good deal and you want to be central it might work for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apuntadores, Owner at Hostal Apuntadores, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review us. I think it a little unfair that you don´t mention that there is client controlled heating in all the rooms and even if it was a little cold when you arrived the room would have been cosy within a few minutes of switching the heating on.
I am sorry you didn´t feel you got value for your €39
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have stayed here 3 times now - mainly to do Palma the night before traveling back home again. It is old fashioned, very 70ties decor in rooms or maybe even 50ties but it is clean and very good location in old town. Roof terrace fantastic and you never get tired of views. For the price having wifi - and good signals - and air condition is much worth. It is not Savoy hotel but it is great as a hostal!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room inwards as you will then get a window towards a very strange small court yard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apuntadores, Owner at Hostal Apuntadores, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
It´s always lovely to see guests who return year after year, even though its not the Savoy. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed in both of these. Don't confuse them since their entrances are right next to each other! We left Ritzi after one night because it was so bad. Hostal Apuntadores, next door, was wonderful.

Hostal Rizzi: C/ Apuntadores 6. No elevator/lift. No air conditioning. It was very hot and hard to sleep. WiFi only in the reception area from 8:30 AM to 11 PM. The Chinese-made fan they put in the room made a lot of noise. The sheets and pillows were very old. I imagine many people had sweated in these throughout the years.

Hostal Apuntadores: C/ Apuntadores 8. Everything has been remodeled. Comfortable sofas and new tables and chairs in the reception area. There was an elevator/lift. There was air conditioning (whew!) The roof was absolutely wonderful where you could have breakfast or relax in the evening. Strong WiFi signals throughout the hostal, available 24 hours for free (it seems that the hostal paid for more than one connection).

Prices:
Ritzi / Rizzi: 60 per night
Apuntadores: 55 per night

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apuntadores, Owner at Hostal Apuntadores, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for this comparison, many guests have had similar comments. We do try to be the best in our price range. Not the Ritz, not the Ritzi sums us up.
So glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Our room was basic but clean, we stayed there for two nights so it was perfect as the location was excellent because it was right in the middle of the old quarter down a lane where all the tapas restaurants are. The roof top terrace is lovely and the view is brilliant. Will be staying again for another weekend visit as its also near the shopping, bus top, cathedral...everything!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apuntadores, Owner at Hostal Apuntadores, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. The location of the hostal really does offer a great range of closeby options. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
Tryp Bosque
#41 of 69 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Hotel Amic Horizonte
#50 of 69 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Bons Aires
Hotel Colon Palma
Hotel Colon Palma
#51 of 69 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Dalt Murada
#40 of 69 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 69 in Palma de Mallorca
5.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#21 of 69 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Apuntadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Apuntadores

Address: Apuntadores, 8, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Apuntadores 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value accommodation in the heart of the old town. We offer basic rooms with heating /air conditioning, friendly, helpful staff with lots of local knowledge and the most fabulous roof terrace in town. Check in and check us out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Apuntadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Apuntadores Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Apuntadores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.