We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean rooms in fantastic location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Apuntadores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Apuntadores to your Saves list
Hostal Apuntadores
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Apuntadores, 8, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good clean rooms in fantastic location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed for a few nights in a double en-suite room. The room was basic but clean. The location is what makes me rate the hostal highly, situated next the cathedral in a small busy street, in fact i think it would be hard to find a better location in Palma. If your a light sleeper try to get a room in the back of the hostal as it can be quite noisy at night. The staff were friendly and the roof terrace is great for having breakfast on with great views of the bay. Some nice restaurants around, I would avoid the 'Mobby Dyk' restaurant, we ending up having an extra 4 euros added to the bill because we ate a slice of bread which was put on our table. Overall i would recommend this hostel if you are staying in Palma.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apuntadores, Owner at Hostal Apuntadores, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
I´m so happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us. The location is fantastic, isn´t it?
Next time ask the staff for restaurant recommendations, we all live in Palma and can tell you about our favorites and warn you off the tourist traps with their sneaky practices!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    59
    20
    17
    11
See reviews for
6
62
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

If you're in Palma, choose a hotel with a roof garden so that you can enjoy a view of the harbor and the city. Our favorite hostal had lost its access to its roof, so we chose the Apuntadores and were not disappointed. This is not a posh spot by any means, but it's conveniently located near the waterfront, the elegant old section of Palma, and -- most important of all -- Palma's enormous cathedral. This cathedral is one of the most magnificent in Europe, and the roof of the Apuntadores gives you an unforgettable view of its facade. Every morning we bought coffee at the front desk and took the elevator to the roof to savor the fresh morning air, and every evening we took drinks up to the roof to enjoy the spectacle of the cathedral's walls and spires shifting through a range of colors as the sun set. Our room was basic, but in good weather you'll be spending your time on the roof anyway.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apuntadores, Owner at Hostal Apuntadores, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The weather in February can be a little unpredictable but it sounds as if you were lucky being able to spend so much time on the roof. Winter is so beautiful in Palma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in September. The rooms are of reasonable size (this is a budget place after all), and have small en-suites, as well as small balconies at the front. I found the scottish chap on reception rather gruff and witty at the same time! Rooms were a tiny bit chilly, and at the front of the hotel you get a lot of noise in early (by spanish standards!) evening, as the hostal is situated right on one of the busy narrow streets of the old town. I found that atmospheric, but don't stay here if you are neurotic about your sleep. Overall, its a basic functional hostal that comes at a good price and in a superb location. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apuntadores, Owner at Hostal Apuntadores, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
I think your review sums us up very well. Thanks you for your insights. John the night porter is there to keep guests safe at night. He can seems gruff but have a chat and you´ll find he´s a sheep in wolf´s clothing. Thanks you and please come and see us next time you´re in Palma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

We booked this hostal for 10 nights, we had been given a damp room and a very noisy room, we asked to change to a better room, they promised they normally give the good rooms to the guests who booked over 7 nights. They refused to move us to any other rooms, I do not know why, just say all the other rooms are booked and they can not move people around. Well...we understand this is just a basic hostal not a hotel...But as a costomer we have right to make complain and they did not offer us any good rooms to us at all...the excuse is the other rooms are all booked, actually the new guest would not not which room they will be put in, why the manager can not move us to a good room???? Lazy old ladies, bad orgnizing skills, bad atitude...only the young girl and nighttime shift man are good here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apuntadores, Owner at Hostal Apuntadores, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Oh dear. This review dates back a number of years. I was not personally involved with the hostal at that time so I cannot comment.
I would like to say that we do try to put guests in rooms that suit them and move them if they are unhappy. We will also refund unhappy guests in line with the terms of the booking (usually 48 hours notice). There is no policy of giving long stayers the best rooms. It is obviously too late to make amends to this guest but I would not like readers to think this is normal practice under the current managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

Arrived from the airport via bus. Found the hostal easily. Checked in quickly and given the keys to find our own room. There is a very slow small lift, but we were on the first floor so not a problem. Small room overlooking the pedestrianised street below. Clean with plenty of coat hangers. Shower fine, always hot water available. The room was cold and we could not work out how to use the heater. Went down to ask and was asked if we wanted the remote control with a 10 Euro deposit, not mentioned on arrival. From then on the room was warm although the heater was very noisy.
The roof terrace was lovely with great views.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apuntadores, Owner at Hostal Apuntadores, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
This review is a number of years old and the management has since changed.
Actually the review is a fair picture of our current operation except that we no longer ask for a deposit for the a/c and heating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hostal Apuntadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Apuntadores

Address: Apuntadores, 8, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Apuntadores 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value accommodation in the heart of the old town. We offer basic rooms with heating /air conditioning, friendly, helpful staff with lots of local knowledge and the most fabulous roof terrace in town. Check in and check us out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostal Apuntadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Apuntadores Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Apuntadores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.