We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of UR Palacio Avenida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added UR Palacio Avenida to your Saves list
UR Palacio Avenida
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Alexander Rosello 42, 07002 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Ibiza Town, Spain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great little hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

The airport bus stops just outside this nice boutique hotel. The lobby is tiny but reception staff warm and friendly. Our room was not ready as we were very early but they even called us to tell us when it was available. They helped with directions. The room was spacious and very clean. No view as such but bright. the bathroom had a shower only but again very clean and all white. I'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: High floor to avoid any potential street voice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    138
    59
    14
    10
See reviews for
16
180
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

As I was travelling alone and wanted a totally hassle free break, I decided to return to Palma and the Avenida Hotel where I had stayed in the spring of this year. I arrived at Palma Airport and immediately walked to the bus stop where a No.1 bus was waiting. In a very short time I reached the Hotel where the bus stops just outside. I received good service from the receptionist, and was allocated a room on the 4th floor. Again the room was spacious and well appointed.
One of the main advantages of this hotel is the size of the bed. I do hate single beds in cramped rooms when one is travelling solo!
I discovered that there was no longer a bar or cafe service after 1pm. Dinner is no longer served either, and for some solo travellers, this might be a disadvantage, if one doesn't want to eat out alone. Having said that however, I was disappointed in the dinner I did have on my previous visit to the hotel, and I considered it overpriced. After being active all day, sometimes all one wants is to be able to go into the hotel bar for a glass of wine and know that if you want a snack, or a meal, this is available on site.
Around 8pm all the restaurants around the hotel were very busy and I resorted to buying a snack to eat in the evening and having a main meal at a late lunch.
As on my previous visit I could not figure out how to fill the bath except by using the shower attachment. It worked! The tap which was probably the one for filling the bath was broken so I couldn't try it. The wash hand basin is very shallow. Tissues are not supplied, and soap, a thin small bar. I was however prepared and took an adequate supply of both. Other toiletries are in good supply. One of the taps however was corroded with some material.
All in all I will almost certainly return to the Hotel, and would recommend it as the advantages greatly outweigh the very minor disadvantages.
I look forward to my next visit to the Avenida.

Room Tip: A room to the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Great location for walking around the old town. Car parking is at a local car park so if you are driving ask for directions before arrival.
We opted not to have breakfast as we prefer to walk out.
There is no restaurant in the evening but there are plenty close by. Ask the staff for directions to Tast. Only 300 metres away and just brilliant.
Room was large and comfortable with a balcony on the 7th floor.
No tea or coffee facilities, just a mini bar.
Not everyone's idea of a four star hotel but we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We stayed here for just the one night as we had a villa booked the following day. Great staff who upgraded us to the Penthouse suite! 1901 room number.

Recommend hotel nice staff and restaurant with great selection of items for breakfast.

Ideal for the Train and Coach terminus.

Thank you to all the team at UR

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Two nights stay while enjoying exploring the city. Location is excellent for walking around the city & using the buses (to get to the airport, castle etc). Very clean, professional & friendly feel to the place. Went for Superior room & very nice. Breakfast was a nice selection & plenty of it. Hot water tap stopped working in the bathroom but was fixed quickly. Would recommend & will return

Room Tip: Superior room was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

A very small lobby area, not helped by the fact check in isn't until 3pm, which turned into 3:25 due to a problem with laundry and a few couples waiting for their rooms.

We could have had a drink in the bar if it had not closed at 1pm and would not reopen until 7am the following day.

Having said that, the breakfasts were good with plenty of choice.

Oh and don't expect Tea & Coffee making facilities as there are none, just a mini bar in the room.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We booked this place as somewhere central to enjoy a few nights in palma at the end of a lengthier activity holiday in the north of the island. First off, the location was fantastic...now a few issues:

When we arrived (during a downpour) we were told our room was not ready. This also applied to a number of other couples. We went out, came back, and still not ready. We asked to sit in the bar and were told it was closed; the receptionist could give no reason for this. It was not a good start. We asked to speak to the manager as the nice looking onsite bar was something that really appealed to us and was a deciding factor in our booking.

The room itself was fine. A little tired in some respects. The taps were poor, as they were in the 'restaurant' bathroom downstairs where they were caked in lime scale. We had towels, but some had rips in them. Nothing that would bother me at home, or even in a 2star hotel, but not ideal if aspiring to 4star.

The black out curtains were fantastic, and the air con was fine. The road noise was minimal, so a good night's sleep can be had here! The bed was comfortable and very large. Again another plus.

The manager called us up, and after some persuasion we showed her that the hotel clearly advertised a bar as being onsite, and this was still the case on the official site and booking sites. We were upgraded to free breakfasts (12 euro per person per day) and we were provided with some wine glasses upon request. We accepted this, and I must thank the staff for being accommodating. That said, we did expect some compensation as we had been misled.

The breakfast was great. I would not normally spend 12euros on breakfast, but it would actually be good value at this price. As a free perk it was fantastic.

The bar/restaurant was actually breakfast only, and served coffee and snacks until 1pm. This is not what we expected from a 'cocktail bar'. There was no mention of this restriction that could be easily viewed, and is not something you would investigate given that most bars operate in the evening. The older reviews state the restaurant used to be great so it is a shame it is closed. If you can't get even a cup of coffee onsite after 1pm they should consider facilities in the rooms. I really hope they sort out these issues, or update their information soon.

Overall I can recommend this establishment, and I would stay there again. I would not go for a couples trip again though, especially when there is a possibility of storms. Whilst the location is great, it would be nice to have the option to stay in.

Perfect as an affordable business hotel. Great nights sleep, great breakfast, and affordable. Please stop saying there is a bar/restaurant as this can and has misled numerous clients as evidenced by the reviews here. If there are limited opening hours say so, so that people can make an informed choice.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to UR Palacio Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UR Palacio Avenida

Address: Avda. Alexander Rosello 42, 07002 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#8 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#31 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — UR Palacio Avenida 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel UR Palacio Avenida is a modern establishment, which opened its doors in 2009 after being carefully refurbished by the well-known architect Bruno Borrione, member of the Philippe Starck team. The result of his hard work was a perfect balance between comfort and design. The materials used and the great details that went into the conversion of this emblematic building, which originally and since 1942 had been the Cinema Avenida, to the current day UR Palacio Avenida, have led to the hotel being a highly considered boutique hotel in the city.The hotel remains open all year round and offers a personalised service to both businessmen and those who simply wish to enjoy their holidays.Its central location, with direct access to public transport makes it easy to reach any part of the island.A few meters away from the hotel is located the largest public parking of the city and only 300 meters away, is located the Hotel UR Misión de San Miguel where a private parking is available for hotel guests of both hotels (costs apply).The Hotel UR Palacio Avenida has 68 rooms, with extraordinary natural light, views of the centre of Palma de Mallorca and modern furnishing, which cares for the smallest detail.The hotel also offers a cocktail bar, a gastronomic restaurant and a coffee shop at street level with a dreamlike terrace where any kind of important event can take place. Wireless Internet access in all areas of the building and a safety deposit box in the room are both free of charge.The three modular conference rooms cover a total of 200m2 and have been perfectly designed to meet the needs of any event meeting, banquet, conference or presentation. The modern and comfortably furnished rooms can be divided by mobile panels and are also equipped with internet access, air conditioning, a projector and large screen, and direct access to an exterior terrace which is ideal for coffee breaks.Due to the unique location of the hotel, guests can enjoy the main shopping areas and cultural activities, excursions, golf, restaurants, etc.Also from the hotel reception can be arranged any special request of the guest, boat trips, rent a car, excursions around the island, winery tours, visit to the Caves of Drach, etc.For guests who wish a more personalized service Private Concierge is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Escapio, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your UR Palacio Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ur Palacio Avenida Hotel Palma De Mallorca
UR Palacio Avenida Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UR Palacio Avenida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.