We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of UR Palacio Avenida

Save Saved
You added UR Palacio Avenida to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
UR Palacio Avenida
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Alexander Rosello 42, 07002 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 65 hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We arrived in Palma late at night, so decided to stay here for one night, ready for the bus to soller the next morning. Perfectly clean, and large rooms. Great location, just next to the bus station & the train station

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar M, Director General at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mrs. Caroline,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Pilar Molina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    149
    62
    15
    11
See reviews for
15
160
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were very appreciative of the efforts which the staff made to amend our booking by one week.
They were prompt and accommodating. We arrived early to check in and they made arrangements without fuss. The location is great being on the Placa d'Espanya. Fantastic location for buses and trains which provide a great way of travelling in Palma and Majorca. Very clean and modern hotel. All types of amenities are nearby. Will definitely return to this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar M, General Manager at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are extremely happy to have been able to do so on this occasion.

We would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you on your next visit to Mallorca.

Kindest regards,

Pilar Molina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed in Palma as a treat for my birthday.

Hotel is in a fabulous location and great for good restaurants and shops. Plenty of buses can take you to the Marina or beach for not too much money. The City tour bus stops right across the road so really ideal for everything.

The hotel is very stylish and the staff helpful but the rooms we had were starting to show wear. The first thing that surprised us when we git there was how hot our room was that the aircon would not go lower than 24C and it was a sweltering 37C outside a call to the desk and an maintenance man visited to tell us he needed to reduce it on the main computer downstairs.

That done my husband went to take a shower to find a tap broken and when he got it to work the shower sprayed the whole bathroom and shorted the electrics on the bathroom mirror. The lovely receptionist tried to dry it out with a hair dryer and after we insisted on a room move we were placed in another room on the floor below the 4th floor. This room was also a little 'tired' the light in the mirror didn't work and the shower head was not very clean but we were so tired we didn't say anything. We just called down again to get the air con lowered. The air con system is not great, i guess it circulates the air around a number of rooms including where people smoke so at sometimes it was pretty un- bearable the smell if cigarettes and we had to leave. Not sure the hotel could do anything about it.

The pillows are of a pretty poor standard and the hotel does offer a 'pillow menu' but I don't believe in paying for a better pillow - you should get them anyway. The beds are pretty hard but I find that a lot in Europe so not surprised. Also be aware the small bottles of water left in your room, normally complimentary in this standard a hotel are not, we were charged €12 for 6 tiny bottles.

The breakfast in the morning is very good with a help yourself buffet and has a good selection of cooked to order items. The staff were always very helpful and nice. Although for some their understanding of English was not great, but we got by with sign language!

On the whole this is a lovely hotel which I would say is in need of some TLC! For the money we paid to stay there it just felt a little disappointing.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar M, General Manager at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Mrs Christine,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting the UR Palacio Avenida for your vacation, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express our sincerest apologies. At UR Hotels, we continuously strive to meet your needs and desires; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the items you mentioned about the maintenance and facilities and prevent any future occurrences.

We hope to take the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Pilar Molina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is the cutest hotel, with the nicest staff. When I booked, I realised that our flight came in at 9am & check-in was at 3pm. I sent the hotel an email requesting an early check-in & they responded promptly stating that they would do their best on the day, dependent on occupancy. We arrived & were checked in within 30mins of arrival, the room was small but the space was used very well, it was clean, well lit & the bathroom was a decent size & well maintained. The pillows are a bit of a strange combination, but I had been warned about this from other reviews. They do have a 'pillow menu' that you can order additional pillows from. The TV channels were limited. The hotel is in an amazing location, the bus stops & train station to EVERYWHERE are 5 steps from the hotel, including the 'The Big Red Bus' Sightseeing tour bus. Breakfast was good & doesn't end until 11am, which is rare nowadays. I would definitely recommend & stay in this hotel again. Thank you to the lovely staff that greeted us on arrival & looked after us throughout our stay.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, overlooking the park, noise was minimal, very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar M, General Manager at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you, on behalf of the employees of the Hotel and myself, all your comments about the hotel, which encourages and stimulates us to continue with the pursuit of the improvement and surmounting in the service for our clients.
We would like to welcome you at our hotel again in the near future.
Expressing again my gratitude to you, yours faithfully

Pilar Molina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was in many ways a perfect hotel for a city break and was well located for our travels to other parts of Majorca / Mallorca. The airport bus (2,50 euro per person one way; buy on the bus from the driver) stopped directly outside the hotel and pick-up point was across the road. Likewise when we took trips to Soller via the old railway and to the Coves del Drac & Portochristo all we needed to do was cross the road to the Placa d'Espanya where the intermodal transport hub is located. It was also well located for walks into the city centre (particularly the old town) so served us well for this.

The hotel itself is nothing special from the outside but when you walk in it's boutique styled with nice furniture in the reception area and a pleasant looking bar area (we didn't use the bar and restaurant so can't comment on quality or price). We had a room on the third floor with a view over the courtyard - it was quiet at night and the blackout curtains worked very well, as did the aircon which we needed due to the temperature outside, and the WiFi. The bed was comfy and the kingsize was probably a superking so nice and roomy. The bathroom came with bath and shower head but without a hook from which the hang the shower head - the bathroom was very design led as opposed to led by practicalities (ie a shower hook and a sink that drained properly). It was fine otherwise (except for a missing tap which would have been a problem if we'd wanted a bath but didn't bother us in this instance).

The biggest downside for us was the pillows. They were very slim (one each on the bed but two extra in the wardrobe). We ended up using the additional slim duvet folded over to make another pillow. There was the option to "buy" three types of other pillows - 2,50 euro per pillow - but it wasn't clean if this was per night or per stay. We didn't bother as we'd rather prefer that the hotel improves the standard pillows - they don't need to be fancy, just plumper.

Overall a good hotel - just a couple of niggles but it didn't ruin our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar M, General Manager at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Mrs Ellie
We would very much appreciate your time to share your experience. Your comments and thoughts about your stay are the most reliable source of feed-back that we have to ensure that our hotel is offering you the type of service you expect.
We hope it will not be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Yours sincerely,

Pilar Molina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Found this hotel offering great rates online when we were looking for an extension to our holiday in Mallorca. It is very conveniently located next to the main bus and train station in Palma.

Friendly staff made check-in easy. The room was very modern and comfortable. The powerful shower was a pleasure compared to what you get in many hotels.

Overall a really good end to our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar M, General Manager at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Peter,
Thank you very much for your kind commentaries, which are deeply appreciated. It is always a great pleasure to hear that our Guests enjoyed their stay at the Hotel UR Palacio Avenida. It really makes our work worthwhile.
Hopefully we will have you back at the Hotel UR Palacio Avenida soon.
Kindest regards,

Pilar Molina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel is discreet and unobtrusive when seen from Placa d’Espanya. However, upon entering the reception you are embraced by the stylishly adorned reception accommodating the ever so friendly and obliging staff.

Our room was modern and exceptionally well presented with good facilities and a view over the adjacent Placa. Although overlooking the road the traffic noise was imperceptible with the windows closed.

Being a centrally located hotel the ability to enjoy the fresh air whilst in the hotel is only available whilst using the restaurant. However, this was a minor concern as there is a large green space just next to the hotel and a plethora of coffee shops and restaurants with outdoor seating on the adjoin streets.

Shopping is available at El Corte Ingles, just 300 meters away, as well as other boutique and highstreet shops on the pedestrian streets radiating from the Placa d’Espanya.
The hotel staff are extremely helpful with any requests and have great restaurant recommendations. They cannot be commended enough.

Don’t forget to visit the hotel bar which is exceptionally well stocked (nineteen different gins on display!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar M, General Manager at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Client,
We would like to thank you very much for your kind commentaries, which are deeply appreciated. It is always a great pleasure to hear that our Guests enjoyed their stay at the Hotel UR Palacio Avenida. It really makes our work worthwhile.
Hopefully we will have you back at the Hotel UR Palacio Avenida in the not too distant future.
Best regards from Palma de Mallorca,
Pilar Molina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to UR Palacio Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UR Palacio Avenida

Address: Avda. Alexander Rosello 42, 07002 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#28 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UR Palacio Avenida 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel UR Palacio Avenida is a modern establishment, which opened its doors in 2009 after being carefully refurbished by the well-known architect Bruno Borrione, member of the Philippe Starck team. The result of his hard work was a perfect balance between comfort and design. The materials used and the great details that went into the conversion of this emblematic building, which originally and since 1942 had been the Cinema Avenida, to the current day UR Palacio Avenida, have led to the hotel being a highly considered boutique hotel in the city.The hotel remains open all year round and offers a personalised service to both businessmen and those who simply wish to enjoy their holidays.Its central location, with direct access to public transport makes it easy to reach any part of the island.A few meters away from the hotel is located the largest public parking of the city and only 300 meters away, is located the Hotel UR Misión de San Miguel where a private parking is available for hotel guests of both hotels (costs apply).The Hotel UR Palacio Avenida has 68 rooms, with extraordinary natural light, views of the centre of Palma de Mallorca and modern furnishing, which cares for the smallest detail.The hotel also offers a cocktail bar, a gastronomic restaurant and a coffee shop at street level with a dreamlike terrace where any kind of important event can take place. Wireless Internet access in all areas of the building and a safety deposit box in the room are both free of charge.The three modular conference rooms cover a total of 200m2 and have been perfectly designed to meet the needs of any event meeting, banquet, conference or presentation. The modern and comfortably furnished rooms can be divided by mobile panels and are also equipped with internet access, air conditioning, a projector and large screen, and direct access to an exterior terrace which is ideal for coffee breaks.Due to the unique location of the hotel, guests can enjoy the main shopping areas and cultural activities, excursions, golf, restaurants, etc.Also from the hotel reception can be arranged any special request of the guest, boat trips, rent a car, excursions around the island, winery tours, visit to the Caves of Drach, etc.For guests who wish a more personalized service Private Concierge is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your UR Palacio Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ur Palacio Avenida Hotel Palma De Mallorca
UR Palacio Avenida Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UR Palacio Avenida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.