We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food with a twist...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forn de Sant Joan

Forn de Sant Joan
Calle de San Juan, 4, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain (La Llotja-Born)
+34971728422
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 1,452 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Price range: $50 - $65
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: La Llotja-Born
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice food with a twist...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Service was a bit slow to begin with but warmed up later. Food was excellent...my 'Suckling pig with apple risotto' was divine. It's a must if you enjoy nice meal...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    191
    78
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A bit expensive but well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We came across this restaurant by chance and were not disappointed! The service was excellent and the food very good but perhaps a bit 'minimalist'. However we left very full and very satisfied ! Our waiter was Austrian and very friendly. We will definitely come again!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Amazing Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Visited in August 2012 and it was so good, we went back two nights later! Don't even imagine that you've eaten tapas until you've eaten here - the dishes are innovative, the menu extensive and the food is just excellent! It puts other tapas to shame.

I'd go back any time without hesitation! Make sure you try the local Mallorcan Sauvignon Blanc to accompany your meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
“Really nice restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A really nice restaurant with prime location in Palmas old town. Across the street is a "tourist trap" restaurant, and a "must see" bar.
The service and food at Forn is excellent and up to my expectations when visiting a good restaurant below the Michelin star level.
I was there together with my golf mates, but can also recommend it for a nice evening with your partner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A really great restaurant any time of the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten here on both evening and for lunch and I can really say it has been some of the nicest plates of food I have had. It was a rather expensive meal in the evening but to experience the food here on a budget go for the menu del dia (menu of the day) Three courses plus bread, water and coffee for €12. Add a glass of excellent vino del casa for only a couple of euro more. If you're in Palma and need some real food go to Forn!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forn de Sant Joan also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Forn de Sant Joan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forn de Sant Joan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.