We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sant Alonso 16, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“ok stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was ok;
Large room, situated at the back of the hotel, with a view over the Santa Clara convent & garden. I liked the sleek, minimalist style in our room. The room was very clean.

It is true the hotel is located in a quiet part of town, however we hardly slept due to noise within the hotel. You can hear pretty much everything going on around you (doors slamming, shower / toilets, music from next door) we heard steps - someone walking with heels in the room above ours - every single night. So not a restful stay.

The top floor terrace is a bit awkward; it was completely dark (where are the pretty lights from the website’s pictures?) which made it hard to see where you were walking and not very inviting to sit and relax, though the view is nice. Not sure how you are meant to order drinks - having to come down to reception perhaps? kills spontaneity.

Wifi was very temperamental, constantly going on and off.

In short this is a small pretty hotel, well located in a quiet part of the town. And maybe it’s because i didn’t get much sleep - but i just can’t seem to find the amazing factor everyone is raving about on tripadvisor…

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomeuescalas, General Manager at Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel and writing your opinion, we really appreciate your comments; they encourage us to keep improving our services and correct our mistakes. We strongly believe it is our duty to meet our customer’s expectations and it’s clear that however you liket it, due to the lack of sleep, we have not succeeded fully this time.

I appreciated that you liked the minimalist style in your room and the cleaniless overall, however you are not happy with the noise levels. Normally we do not have that problem, but I have to say that due to the quietness of the Hotel, any noise is magnified by the general silence. Having said that, I will look personally in putting some sort of foam to see if we can reduce the occassional slamming of doors and will look at the piping system. The Hotel has been completaly renovated and restored with the best quality elements.

Regarding the floor terrace, it has 5 fixed floor lamps that give a indirect light, plus we have 2-3 big candles to give a romantic ambience to the terrace at night, the pretty lights that you mention are in the Spa area. There is a phone upstairs and normally clients order the drinks by phone or tell the waiter or reception on their way to the terrace. But I will take note of your comments and see if we need more lighting on the terrace however no comments were ever made about this.

Wifi is normally working fine, sorry if you encountered some problems. In order to fulfill guests that download lots of information, we have now in place optic fiber, latest technology with more that 100 MB download in our search of improving our business.

Hope you book with us again, do not hesitate to send your booking to booking@santaclarahotel.es and we will take your request personally as a repetitive guest.

Best regards,

Tomeu Escalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    71
    15
    13
    4
See reviews for
33
166
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I am a little mystified by the fabulous reviews received by this hotel. Normally trip advisor is bang on but I am afraid that this review does not have a happy ending. We have visited Palma before and now know the city pretty well so the location attracted us and indeed it was very near the Cathedral and within an easy walk of the shops, marina, beach and restaurants. We arrived by bus from the airport and found the hotel fairly easily with google map. The entrance is bright and modern. Unfortunately the type of room we had booked was not available, (which made we wonder why they had accepted the booking at all), so we were 'upgraded' to the remaining room in the hotel grandly entitled a 'junior suite'. This turned out to be a larger than usual room at the front of the building on the ground floor. This was a surprise given that I had booked a superior room and emailed in advance to ask for a room upstairs with some view or terrace. In our room which was 004 we could not open the shutters at all as passers by could see right into the room. We were told that a move was not possible as the hotel was fully booked. There were no drinking glasses in the room and although they were provided on request they were removed the next day. The view from the terrace was lovely although not nearly as good as other hotels and the terrace was untidy and dusty which was a pity as it was our only access to outside space. After our visit the hotel emailed us directly to ask us to provide any positive reviews to trip advisor but to contact them directly with any negative feedback. This may explain the very positive reviews found on this site. To be fair to Santa Clara I did contact them as requested with our concerns, but 2 weeks later I am yet to receive any response. So sorry Santa Clara, very shabby and you did still charge us for a superior room on our departure. We will not be back and cannot recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid room 004
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomeuescalas, Manager at Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Joanna

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel and writing your mail directly to us which I have already answered. We really appreciate your comments; they encourage us to keep improving our services and correct our mistakes. We strongly believe it is our duty to meet our customer’s expectations and it’s obvious we have not succeeded this time.

I am happy that you liked the situation of the hotel closed to the Impressive Cathedral, shops, cafes, marina and restaurants as the Santa Clara its in a prime and unique location.

From your mail, you had booked a double superior room, at the checking in time, apparently there was no double superior available, and you were upgraded to a JUNIOR SUITE, which is a much bigger room, more expensive, and with a Ipod dock station and sofa area (in our Hotel we have the two SUITES as the best rooms, then we have our JUNIOR SUITES, after that we have our Double superiors and finally the more economical ones our Double standards). We never charged you for a JUNIOR SUITE, you were granted an upgrade and you were charged for an inferior room type.


It is true that the 004 is on the ground floor and I am really sorry you did not like it, however we would not charge you for the junior suite as this was a FREE UPGRADED that we granted you.



Regarding the other issues aroused on your letter I had a meeting with my staff regarding what you said about the glasses, they should have been there in the first place and not being removed especially if you had communicated that to Reception, if that was the case. We do get requests about being on a higher floor, and whenever possible, we fulfil the guests wishes, sometimes in the high season is not always possible. Sorry about that.

We have looked into the terrace issues and will look to improve tideness in general. Regarding the letter that you said, it is automatically generated for you to write any positive or negative comments either to us or tripadvisor, and the positive reviews, believe me, are fruit of a great boutique Hotel, with unique stonned walls rooms in an amazing location to discover Palma.

We hope to see you back soon, so we get the chance to change your mind about our hotel. If you book with us directly through my mail or the Hotel mail (booking@santaclarahotel.es), I will take personally your booking request to make sure everything runs smooth. We have lots of repetitive guests that enjoy our location, the restored boutique Hotel from the XVII century and our services, please give us the opportunity for you to be one more of the many satisfied ones.

Best regards,
Tomeu Escalas
General manager



Thanking you in advance,

Tomeu Escalas

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val-d'Isère, Rhone-Alpes, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I booked this beautiful hotel as a surprise for my partner for a last minute weekend getaway. I booked the hotel room (superior double) on a Thursday evening to be staying the next day for 3 nights. Whilst booking the room I requested a plate of meats and champagne to be in the room upon arrival. I received a reply from Paco at the hotel shortly after even though I made the booking late at night! Great speedy service. The next day we arrived late at approx 1am. First of all the street was beautiful, in the centre of the Old Town and a stones throw from the Cathedral and a beautiful church (which we later realised we could see the spire from our bedroom sky light - beautiful). The gentleman on reception was more than welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed (including separate WiFi codes for all our devices). We arrived in our room and WOW it was wonderful, exceptionally clean, quiet, large and romantic... and of course as requested the plate of meats and champagne - which were delicious. I'm a big fan of comfy beds, big bathrooms and powerful water pressure and this hotel had it all plus so much more. We spent our holiday wandering around the beautiful streets of Palma and sunbathing on the roof terrace (gorgeous views). On the rooftop we enjoyed tapas and wine on an evening served by the lovely Fernando, before we headed out for our evening meal. Between 7pm and 10pm the hotel offers a 'happy hour' offer of tapas and a large glass of wine for 2.50 euro pp. Definitely try the rioja, possibly one of the nicest wines I have ever tasted and the tapas was beautiful - green olives and serrano ham on a fresh tomato laced bread base. After our afternoons spent sunbathing we headed down to the spa downstairs which was tastefully decorated and always empty - such a bonus and the same with the rooftop most days it was very quiet, encountering maybe 1 or 2 other guests at the most. Unfortunately, we did not try breakfast or dinner at the hotel as we like to eat out on holiday. But I can only imagine that if the food is anything like the rest of our experience then it would be very tasty! A big thank you to all the staff that made our stay at Santa Clara and hopefully one day we may return.

Room Tip: Our room was directly above the front entrance. We had a lovely view of the street. Room no: 201.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have just returned from a 4 night break with my daughter to this lovely hotel and it was a perfect treat. So easy to get to from the airport, we took the number 1 bus and 4 stops later and a 10 minute walk we were there. The hotel is modern, contemporary and spotlessly clean mixing stone and white walls which is just the style we like, our room was on the 2nd floor and also had 2 loft windows, we overlooked the narrow street but the location is right in the centre of the old town so views would be almost impossible however the roof terrace more than makes up for this, just beautiful. The location was perfect for us 10 -15 minute walk to the cathedral, restaurants , shops and the beach - what's not to love. We didn't breakfast in the hotel as there were lovely cafés within a short walk so cannot comment on the food however Palma and this hotel made our trip one of our best yet, we loved the town and the choice of tapas bars was amazing also as we love the beach to be able to combine some sunbathing in our trip was lovely.
We would both thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who loves a little bit of luxury in the middle of the beautiful old town walls.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I spent 3 nights here and stayed in a Junior Suite. The room was big with a big bed, big lounge area and bathroom. The view was not great - it was towards the backyard with another building in front of you. The view from the terrace was amazing and nice for a drink.

The hotel is ideally located if you want to explore the old town, with nice restaurants and shops not too far away. I felt the room was a bit pricey, especially considering it was off-season, and feel breakfast should have been included.

Our biggest issue was getting there - the hotel is difficult to find by car (even with directions!). Getting lost in the old town is not great as the roads are very narrow and difficult to navigate with restricted access. You really do not need a car to get around in Palma town, so don't bother. Plus, the parking is far away, with the public parking at the Cathedral a much better option with easy access.

The hotel's parking was a major issue for us. We were directed there by one of the hotel's staff members (later found out she was new). We arrived at the garage and was worried that it was small (we had a Vito), but she insisted that "her boss parks there & his car is big so it is no problem". Needless to say, we should have listened to our instincts and stayed away. As we drove in, we realised it was a mistake & we ended up with badly scratched bumpers. Staff were helpful in dealing with Avis, but this should not have been an issue in the first place. A very stressful start to the holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the same floor as the breakfast room and reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We came here after reading all the great reviews but the hotel didn't deliver. Our room had a wall as the view and the staff were very cold and not welcoming. The size of the room was good but the bathroom was way too small and the shower pressure was poor. The location is not great because you have to park miles away and there is no parking near the hotel. I think if the staff were more friendly it could improve the quality of guests very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was a surprise trip for me, we got a taxi from the airport, only 20euros.Santa Clara is a great central location.
As we walked into reception we were greeted by a very helpful receptionist, the hotel is absolutely gorgeous. With a lot of the old stone walls being exposed, a wooden beamed roof and a skylight, the bed is enormous!
I fell in love. We only stayed for 3 days and I could have quite happily stayed for a lot longer.
The staff are extremely helpful and gave us a map of Palma town which isn't too far away. The cathedral is lovely and worth a look around.
The room was very spacious but the only thing that I would moan about was the smell of smoke as a non smoker I found it a little annoying, we contacted reception and the room was sprayed, we wanted to move but as the hotel was fully booked we were unable to do this, when returning to the room after a day on the roof terrace the maid had been to clean and the room smelt fresher.
The spa is small but as the hotel only has a few rooms we had it too ourselves whenever we used it. Towels are provided in the spa and on the roof terrace.

Had a great stay and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa

Address: Sant Alonso 16, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests fall in love with Palma, with our hotel, the charm of the old town and the beautiful views from our upper terrace. Come stay at Santa Clara Hotel to enjoy the proximity of the 10th century Arab baths, the Gothic Cathedral and the other host of attraction around the old town. Our hotel offers 4 star luxury rooms and suites with high ceilings, rustic stone walls and views to the surrounding sights of the old town. Relax in our urban spa featuring a Jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath or try one of the massage and beauty treatments. We also provide a conference room equipped with audio-visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Clara Urban Hotel And Spa
Santa Clara Urban Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Santa Clara Urban
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.