We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sant Alonso 16, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Location great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend in April. Location is great right in the heart of the old town, far enough away to be relatively quiet, but close to all amenities.

Reception were very friendly and knowledgeable -couldn't do enough to help and suggest places to see and eat. The rooms themselves are very nice -as the building is an old convent the ceilings are high. They're well furnished and appointed in a minimal style. You even get a set of mini toiletries.

The breakfasts were excellent - lots of choice, very fresh and the staff were quick to replenish things.

Sadly as the weather wasn't great we didn't make use of the roof terrace, but the views were superb.

Not the cheapest choice but overall very happy with the stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    76
    16
    13
    5
See reviews for
35
182
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during a trip to the island. We opted to spend a night in Palma and this is here we stayed. Good location and helpful staff. The rooms were of a good standard, but certainly not worth the €300 we paid for a fairly basic room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZRH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Hotel is located right in the downtown center. 5 Minutes to the next bus stop 5 minutes from the cathedral. You don't need a taxi from the airport. Just take bus number 1 and get off next to the hotel.
It's an renovated old house there has been no effort made in noise cancelling. you can hear every step every door all night long. The worst is if you get a street side room. Windows isolate pretty well but no chance to sleep with open windows. There are 4 metal plates outside the building build into the street (Telephon and Water System) each time a car passes by you hear 4 lovely bangs - all night long. So bring your earplugs (you will still ear it but less,) I don't understand why it cant be fixed the Hotel most make around 1.5mio EUR in revenue a year. You also hears the neigbours conversations in your room.

Spa looks nice didn't use it. Reception is friendly but inexperienced they learn on the job. Breakfast is basically just juice coffee and warm bread nothing fancy and with 15 EUR overprices.
Hotel has a great view on the terrace also means noise if people are drinking up there till late night (street away side) there is no rule for how long you can stay their.

Room Tip: Street away side top floor. Make sure you shut the people on the terrace. But you hear steps everywh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is without doubt one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. I had never been to Mallorca and had pre conceived ideas of what i thought it would be. I was wrong. The city has so much great art and culture. My main reason for deciding to go to Palma was to see the Fundacion Joan Miro. Which was worth the trip alone. An amazing collection of works and a real look at Miro's creative surroundings.
We stayed in the old town, and the Santa Clara could not have been a better choice. The hotel is converted from an old convent I believe, which gave the rooms a lovely blend of old and modern. Our room was spacious and comfortable and had everything we needed.
The staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. From the moment we checked in we felt that nothing would be too much trouble. Both receptionists helped us to find the best place to for buses and trains.
The bar manager Mariana was so friendly and nothing seemed to phase her.
The spa part of the hotel is quite small, but was very peaceful. My favourite part of the day was early morning and late evening on the rooftop terrace looking at the ocean and the spectacular view of the churches.
Breakfast offered a lovely choice of fresh fruit, pastries, eggs and bacon, yoghurt, basically anything you could ask for.
The menu for evenings isn't extensive but what we had was very nice. I can highly recommend the Philadelphia desert, doesn't sound great, but it was.
I really can't recommend this highly enough, and I am not easily pleased.
Do go to Es Baulard, the modern art museum, within easy walking distance.
Also a must, catch the little wooden train to Soller, beautiful day out. Try to get the very first carriage as the train pulls into the station, it's like stepping back in time with leather seats, and armchairs.

Room Tip: We were in room 102 which overlooked the tiny narrow streets. But there was very little traffic nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

As a fashion-buyer I travel a lot and get to see many nice hotels all over the world. But this one is one of those that you really want to return to. The sunny terrace overlooking the mediterranean, swaying plamtrees and the medieval Cathedral makes a perfect setting for afternoon cortado or a sunset drink. The beautiful and cool design in each room and the international hospitality is outstanding. This small family-owned hotel is really something outstanding.
Also I love the fact that you have walking distance to all the nice parts of Palma.

Can´t wait to get back in May!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely relaxed place to stay.The rooms are modern and very nicely laid out. I stayed eitha girl friend on a long weekend break and we totally would recommend this hotel. Staff are very helpful and attentive. We loved the bathroom with walk in shower and made use of the endless supply of towels! It was very hot , so one needed three showers a day! I would recommend this excellent place which is in a quiet old street a stones throw away from the magnificent cathedral. Palma has a lot to offer, especially for a 3 day break.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I got a great deal and stayed for 4 nights. I would thoroughly recommend it. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, any time of day. The hotel itself is an interesting blend of old stone, modern art and bright airy spaces. The roof terrace is perfect to relax on with splendid views across the city, even in January. The hotel location is in an atmospheric street by the Santa Clara convent. Minutes from the bustle of Palma city centre, but peaceful, pretty and quiet. The room I stayed in was lovely with stone walls, modern facilities a great bathroom and views of the convent. Just two very small gripes, although cleaned to a high standard every day, the level of service did vary. E.g. My bed was unmade on my penultimate day. Also would have been nice if the bar opened earlier than 6.00pm. But neither of this affects my view that this is a great place to stay in Palma.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.2 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 68 in Palma de Mallorca
5.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
3.5 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#4 of 68 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#26 of 68 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#12 of 68 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 stars 917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Can Cera Hotel
Can Cera Hotel
#2 of 68 in Palma de Mallorca
5.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
0.7 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#11 of 68 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa

Address: Sant Alonso 16, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests fall in love with Palma, with our hotel, the charm of the old town and the beautiful views from our upper terrace. Come stay at Santa Clara Hotel to enjoy the proximity of the 10th century Arab baths, the Gothic Cathedral and the other host of attraction around the old town. Our hotel offers 4 star luxury rooms and suites with high ceilings, rustic stone walls and views to the surrounding sights of the old town. Relax in our urban spa featuring a Jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath or try one of the massage and beauty treatments. We also provide a conference room equipped with audio-visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Clara Urban Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Santa Clara Urban Hotel And Spa
Hotel Santa Clara Urban
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.