We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed in Palma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cellar Sa Premsa

Cellar Sa Premsa
Plaza Obispo Berenguer de Palou, 8, 07003 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
971 723 529
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #195 of 1,452 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Not to be missed in Palma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Cellar Sa Premsa is one of the very few restaurants still serving Mallorcean specialities such as Mallorcean fritto, tumbet and lomo con col in an original 1950´s setting where the waiters still wear black ties and have a cheerful attitude, It’s a fun eatery and it is a must for anyone visiting Palma.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    157
    59
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Authentic Mallorcan food at a fair price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Both my travel guide and my hotel recommended Cellar Sa Prensa - and it was one of the best meals I had in Mallorca. The restaurant is over 50 years old - and in some ways the ambiance and experience of the waiters makes you feel like it's been in business for 100 years. Locals and tourists seem to flock to this place. I stared with the artichokes vinaigrette and they were INCREDIBLE! I can't recommend them enough. This was followed by my entree - a leg of lamb that was gigantic. And the cost of the entree was only 8.45 Euros! My most expensive item on the menu was a fine 1/2 bottle of red wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best service and food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was choosing where to go, and I found this place. First of all, it did not made a big impression because it was full with the people. But service was nice, straight away waiter brought bread, olives, and asked me, what I want to drink. I ordered paella con marisco, and it was awesome! It was 12 euros, what I think is not expensive for one person. Dish was very tasty, and also it was, as for one person, a little bit too much. But as it is said, more is better. I suggest this place to everyone, who wants to try Spanish food in Spanish restaurant. And also, it is not expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Something a bit Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was staying in Palma de Mallorca with a friend. He was staying 6 weeks and discovered this place during his exploration of the town.

First impressions were that it was more like a Munich Bierkeller than any Spanish eatery I had visited.

There was a wide variety of food on offer from a range of cuisines, including Mallorquin. (Sopas Mallorquinas turned out to be a plate of pork bits and cabbage, not the soup I expected.)

The portions were huge. A veal escalope covered the whole of a very large plate. The wine was cheap and drinkable. The staff very convivial. The prices were very reasonable.

Not a place for those seeking out fine high cuisine, but great for those on a budget, with a hearty appetite after a hard days sightseeing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tipped of by the taxi driver.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

After finding a couple of restaurants on trip advisor we took a taxi to La Parada del Mar - closed!!! The driver suggested we went to Celler Sa Premsa for traditional, well priced food that is popular with locals and tourists. What a find - best restaurant we visited during our Palma break.

Great Starters of fried fish and vegetables and cheese and meats. Main courses of rabbit, lamb shoulder and chicken. everything was well presented and served with a smile by a fantastic waitress who let us try some of the puddings before we decided what to have. traditional building with no 'flash' finishing - it is all about the food. Three people, three courses, plenty of drinks came to 78 euros. fabulous!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cellar Sa Premsa also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Cellar Sa Premsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cellar Sa Premsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.