We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Artistic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Paraiso Super Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Formentera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Paraiso Super Club
Save
You added El Paraiso Super Club to your Saves list
Platja Mitjorn, Formentera, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Formentera
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Artistic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

Place art for art lovers of the kitchen and quiet life and eager to stay away from chaos. Environment decidedly brilliant choreography and rich in colors and good music. Not recommended for night owls and for tourists who can not live without telequiz or telefilms. Vito is the Hemingway of the kitchen. Environment very clean and orderly, furniture essential but decent. Staff pleasant and kind. It appears that the team manager has changed from the second half of July and I explained the reason for some negative comments that I read on this site and of whom sincerely sò not give reason. In summary: atmosphere very soft and romantic. Do not miss!

  • Liked — The softly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Return to home
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    1
    7
    15
See reviews for
5
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

Nothing about this hotel is what I expected. Many of my friends have stayed here over the years & raved about how wonderful it was. However on revisting this year, under new managemnet, each and every one of us was disappointed.

I'll start at the start:

They offer ferry collection. This didnt happen as they never answered the phone and our cab was 22euro.

The hotel is within walking distance to little or nothing. Hire a car.

Our room was basic to say the least. Clean but very very basic with no in room phone, tv, radio, fridge, hair dryer, chairs etc. Not all of these are vital however a room with simply a bed costing 165euro a night is hideous.......

Shower is salt water. Which despite what they say isnt the norm on the island.

Room service is an additional 10euro however with there being no phone you have to walk to the restaurant to order it!

The breakfast is offensive. There were literally hundreds of flies swarming all over what was cooked the day before. I think everyone staying there complained about it at some stage.

Dinner was nice. A really enjoyable evening & we had the special which was fish. When we ordered this we were told it would be 65euro. However when we got the bill we were charged. 91euro!!!!!!!!!! After complaining, we were told we got a bigger fish!!!!!!!!! They they offered to reduce the price to 75euro. Walking through the restaurant the next day, we overheard a table at lunch complaining about the same thing. Needless to say this was the one and only time we ate here.

There is no atmosphere anywhere around the property.

The menu is the same all day long. Lunch and dinner menus are the exact same. There are approx 4 starters & 6 mains which, if you're staying for a week, is BORING.

If you're lumbered with this place eat out every night. Andrea y Juan is the best on the island.

We cut our trip short & left for Ibiza (as did our neighbour).

Definately do not stay here unless you get a great nightly rate, are a student or are used to hostels!

  • Liked — Its proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — Most other things
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

I was there with my boyfriend the 1fst of agost and we really enjoid the place,the meal and the room!!Now it's called El Paraiso that means haven and I can assecure that it's true!! I want to go soon again.
Anne

  • Liked — confortable rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

The change of management and the subsequent leave of the new manager and kitchen staff in Spring 2008 basically tell the story of the place formerly known as LAS BANDERAS which is called EL PARAISO SUPER CLUB nowadays. My wife and I booked and stayed for 11 nights in July 2008 and, due to old raving reviews and fashion magazine endorsements from days seemingly gone by, we expected a trendy place to chill out, to use the well known lounge/bar and to have a ball.

What we got was a nightmare in terms of accomadation (the relocation to the private penthouse/master suite was the least they could do but could not really minimize our massive disappointment overall), in terms of service (except the self proclaimed new secretary-cum-manager and a nice Dutch lady who did the morning shift nobody of the staff could speak a foreign language, except maybe some phrases in Italian. Furthermore it was obvious that the young staff was totally disillusioned (as leaving staff proved during our stay) and mostly working "black" without contract or proper education ).

The breakfast was a horrific shambles and unfit for human consumption, the prices of the same drink changed daily without notice (i.e. a Martini glass of Bombay Sapphire went from Euro 5 up to Euro 9 in the three days we were foolish enough to use the bar) and the single dinner we had there was pricey but utterly awful. Thank God the famous "Blue Bar" was just a very short walk away - there we finally got the treatment, the F&B and the atmosphere we longed for.

Verdict: This was the most dissapointing stay in our whole long travel vitae... ever! This place might be appropriate for drunk and cheap youngsters having a school break or as a hostel for backpackers but not for any tourist with expectations, style or standards. Recommend it? Never, ever! Simply don't go there!

  • Liked — The day we left
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

I just left the hotel yesterday July 19th.
The hotel changed hands and in the process lost its charm.
The stuff is kind and friendly yet not experience. It feels like teenagers on summer break running it.

The breakfast is terrible(soft boiled egges cooked the night before your breakfast) the entire breakfast table is covered with flies.
Dinner can easily run 100 euro per person for bellow everage meal.

Salt water shower.

You can have room service (5 euro for breakfast and 10 euro for lunch but there is no phone in the room so you have to go and order it...

I would not go back unless it goes through a major improvement.
The guests staying next to me left the hotel feeling the same.

must be fair and note the good side. The location is wonderful rooms are super clean and the towels are ironed!

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea, Essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

Without doubt the best Mediterranean holiday we have ever had, thanks to a combination of comfortable accommodation, great food and really excellent service. The negative reviews below baffle us. If a little expensive (and what wasn't on the island?) we will definitely be coming back at some point and have already recommended las Banderas to a number of friends.
Anne & Richard Lee


  • Liked — Delightful aesthetic
  • Disliked — Not much, really!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guntalingen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

I stayed at an apartment a few meters behind the Las Banderas during a Yoga retreat. The staff were very attentive and nice and the food was excellent. The location is very romantic in the evening with nice sunsets, plenty of lit candles in the restaurant. The whole place looks like a cross-over between Marrakech and India, nicely colored and furnished in the Formentera Hippie Style so not too posh style. I had a great time and will certainly go back next time I come to Formentera.

  • Liked — Die Atmosphäre und Lage
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Paraiso Super Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Paraiso Super Club

Address: Platja Mitjorn, Formentera, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Formentera
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Formentera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Banderas is one of Formentera’s milestone, an oasis of peace and calm along the beach of Mitjorn. We offer 7 charming rooms with ocean views just reformed and decorated and a restaurant and a “chiringuito” on the beach to enjoy some of the most spectacular sunsets on the island. Las Banderas is not a hotel like any other, but a welcoming place for any guest who wishes to come: since your arrival to the departure, you will find the comfort of a hotel but enjoying the warmness and care of a private home ... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Paraiso Super Club Hotel Formentera
El Paraiso Super Hotel
Las Banderas Formentera
El Paraiso Super Formentera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Paraiso Super Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.