We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive and would go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu La Mola

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu La Mola to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu La Mola
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Migjorn | Formentera - Islas Baleares, 07871 Formentera, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #6 of 27 hotels in Formentera
West Sussex
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very impressive and would go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

First of all I did read many reviews before we booked and had some reservations it could live up to expectations.
As stated by others, there is a double sitting for the buffet style dinner and you do need to attend at the same 30 minute window every evening. There are three chef stations (hot food) plus the cold meats, salads, deserts and breads. The food was very good with a nice selection that changed daily.
I can imagine that in season it would be very busy, but we were out of season, so was fine.
The hotel is split over three distinct areas (4 if you include the beach). The main activity is at the upper hotel area with main reception, bar, restaurant, entertainment and some rooms. We were aware of this and wanted to be near the beach so emailed our request before we arrived.
The clientèle are mainly German, Swiss, Italian and some Spanish. All very friendly, if not very good at please and thank you (but probably a cultural thing). The staff in the main were multi lingual, although English wasn't always spoken, we managed some basic Spanish phrases or found someone who did hablo Ingles!
The hotel runs Children's Club using an Animation Team, who also do aqua aerobics, boules, beach volleyball and a number of other activities should you wish to join in. They were all very friendly and didn't hassle you if you didn't wish to participate.
The beach did have some rocks amongst the sand, but the gently shelved sea was lovely and a real bonus.
We went for walks every day or hired a car and went to the beaches in the north of the Island, which are the best we've seen in Europe.
There is a laid back vibe to Formentera and nudity on the beaches is common place, as no one bats an eyelid as we probably would here in the UK.
All in all we were very impressed with pretty much all elements of the hotel. If we were to find fault, it would be around the WiFi charges and the fact you can only have one device connected per room before logging off and back on again.
It is geared up for families with young children. So if you want guaranteed piece, perhaps an apartment on the Island would be better?
The beaches are the main draw and given its only a 2 hour flight from Gatwick, it is a great winter sun destination. We will be back to the Island and assuming the hotel rates are good, back to Riu La Mola.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, then book a room near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    215
    43
    17
    14
See reviews for
159
259
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Hotel Riu La Mola is one of the most quality hotels in Formentera. The outer part is the most beautiful: the swimming pool is clean and large, sunbathing areas is very comfortable with sofas and gazebos.
My room was spacious and clean, but bare and with little attention to detail.
Very friendly the staff. The service are good but a bit expensive (such as wi-fi connection ).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Firstly I must make it clear to anyone considering this hotel that there are two hotels, one at the top and one lower down with several bungalows spread out either side of the gardens inbetween. From the top hotel down to the pool, the beach bar and the beach there are 97 steps with three seats provided along the way (some people definitely needed at least one to regain their breathe). This hotel is totally unsuitable for the elderly or disabled. I totally agree with others' reviews that the place is very clean, the staff work very hard, are always friendly and efficient and the food choices and quality are excellent. My husband and I love children but, like hundreds of others, chose to go after our school holidays. Beware! it was Swiss childrens' school holiday! There were over 400 Swiss people and some German people in the hotel, some Italians, Dutch and Spanish with a very few British. There is only a small pool. (There is a tiny childrens pool which was hardly ever used). At 11.30am a portable radio is brought out and loud music turned on for one hour of aquafit closely followed by a poolside game. No hope of relaxing on your sunbed here! Although no ball games are allowed, nobody stopped two big lads being a nuisance in the pool at the same time as children were deliberately splashing and getting in swimmers' way. As if this wasn't enough to put one off, the water was not warm. The top hotel (2) is spacious and beautifully decorated and furnished. The restaurant is very large. After the first evening, you are allocated a permanent table for dinner. If you want to avoid noise, children, rush and long queues for the various buffets, go to the second sitting at 9pm ( 8.30pm in low season) which is much more relaxed. There are no "leftovers", all dishes are constantly replenished. Unlike another reviewer, we were never seated next to anyone British and despite always saying good evening or good morning to other guests, we were usually ignored. We are world travellers and have never experienced such a miserable atmosphere in any other hotel. The large bar with stage is also in this building. The staff put on childrens entertainment early evening every night and later the team work very hard for the adult entertainment but the sketches and shows they put on are very childish or in pantomime style. There is a beautiful exterior area with comfortable seating where drinks are served and from where one can often see fantastic sunsets. Beach towels can be collected from the lower hotel (1) but don't expect a wonderful sandy beach with easy access into the sea!! Many, many rocks both outside and under the water! There are sandy beaches if one walks along to the right but there are still massive rocks in the sea. There is a boardwalk which is pleasant but one has to walk a very long way to reach an area with easy access into the sea. There is a bus service from the hotel and a timetable is available from reception. Formentera is very green and unspoilt. It is a pity that such a good hotel was built in the wrong location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A relaxing week on holiday by myself (last minute change).

Food in the restaurant provided excellent choices and quality. As others have noted, there are two evening sittings - I went for the 7:30pm option, but that did mean a rushed meal to finish by 9:00pm. The hotel did seem to try to place English residents (of which there were very few) close to each other for Dinner. There is a "speciality" restaurant (by the pool) in the high season, which residents can visit once during their stay, but I didn't try it.

Location is excellent - the hotel is at the end of a very long beach so you can find whatever you want somewhere along it - from busy with families (and noisy Italians), where you will be paying €6 a day for a parasol or recliner, to quiet private unspoilt coves, and all options for the amount of swimwear you choose to wear or not.

There is free WiFi in the reception areas - 90 minutes in one go, each day, per device.

The hotel is also on the island bus network, and there are regular services so you can explore other beaches.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floors in La Mola 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had an amazing holiday yet again in Formentera despite being regulars in Ibiza this is now a firm favourite.
Stayed at this hotel same time last year, this time we had a bungalow which was really nice , the food was fab the staff extremely professional, the hotel really clean bar prices very good we couldn't fault it in any way although our waist lines are groaning !! Very few guests from UK in the hotel or on the island but I see that as a plus .
We had planned to hire a moped but didn't bother got around by bus easily and walked a lot
We love everything about this Island it is unique close to perfection, we still go to Ibiza often 3/4 times a year and always will return there but we will make Formentera an annual trip if we can. On balance we will probably come back to this hotel although we would like an apartment in Es Calo only so we don't over eat (lack of self discipline!!) but the prices are VERY high for most accomodation on the island this hotel not too expensive for what you get . Enjoy but keep it quiet !! Secret paradise

Room Tip: We thought the bungalow was better than room although both are nice
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

OK .The good points.Staff incredibly friendly and work incredibly hard.Place is spotlessly clean .Director of the hotel is very visible and goes out of her way to check that everything is to your satisfaction.We were iniitially horrified to find we had a room by the pool but settled into it because for 6 nights out of seven it was very quiet -the exception being the weekly pool disco.Food excellent ( we are vegetarian so appreciated the variety ) ,beaches fabulous .
The not so good points because of the way it has been built ( in two distinct phases with bungalows in between) The hotel has really more guests than the dining room can accomodate so they have two sittings- the consequence being that the entertainment often doesnt start till 10:30 pm.For this reason would suggest getting accomodation in La Mola 1 as most of the entertainment takes place in La Mola 2.I would not recommend the hotel if you have mobility problems as the path between 1 & 2 is quite steep with numerous steps.Pillows not great although bed was firm.No inventory of room bar and we were initially overcharged - although this was dealt with quickly and effectively.

Room Tip: Rooms at La Mola 1 are further from the entertainment for 6 nights out of seven
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Riu La Mola. The hotel was very clean. The staff was very kind, speaking more italian than english or french but willing to help. The breakfast was really excellent, dinners were also good. The beaches around the hotel are nice.

Entertainment in the evening at the hotel was more for children than for adults.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu La Mola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu La Mola

Address: Playa Migjorn | Formentera - Islas Baleares, 07871 Formentera, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Formentera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Formentera
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Formentera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu La Mola 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Playa Migjorn beach * 2 four-story buildings, plus 1 and 2-story bungalows * 12 km from San Francisco and Es Pujols * 15 km from the port of La Sabina * Airport on the neighboring island of Ibiza * Bus stop in front of the hotel * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Riu La Mola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu La Mola Formentera
Riu La Mola Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu La Mola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.