We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ditched Flipper and Chiller to come here - so glad we did” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Pirata Bus

El Pirata Bus
Playa de Migjorn entrada km 11, Formentera, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 176 Restaurants in Formentera
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ditched Flipper and Chiller to come here - so glad we did”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Cool little beach bar. Tapas looked great (didn't eat though). Drinks were cold and good value and we could have sat there all day long. Cool staff (once you spoke a little Spanish...) and a great beach music vibe. Just the place I was looking for.

As an aside, we came here after going to Flipper and Chiller first. Staff at F&C were dismissive and the vibe was very 'roped off VIP'. We had one beer and left for El Pirata which was bang on. I am SO over all that Ibiza VIP nonsense, especially when you can get great views, drinks and food without the attitude in many many other places.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    98
    22
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tomando nota de que el tesoro”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Has a virtual monoply on this wide sweeping bay and, boy, do they exploit it. The sun shining on the slatted, matted roof creates delightful shadows and one is reminded of laid-back beach restaurants in the Greek Islands before the drachma was ditched in favour of the Euro. The food is characterless .The waiting staff lurk. And the unspoken vibe is hurry up we want the table back.
And the prices are daylight robbery. The name Pirate is all too apt.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not what it used to be.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We went here for a sundowner as I remember it from the 80's as a child. Back then it seemed so cool, with its bearded rock crowd, excellent music and flags blowing in the breeze. Really relaxed and welcoming.
Now it's rammed and soulless.
The bar staff were very rude and arrogant .music rubbish. No shade, anywhere, and you need it when you've been on the beach all day. Drinks crazily expensive. Really not worth it .never again. What a shame!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Basic beach bar with unique ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The place is just a typical Spanish "chiringuito" bar with mainly choice of drinks but the setting is fantastic and it is great to relax during sunset or to go with friends for a drink

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best Mojito in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Besides the magic of Piratabus magnificient sunsets and eazy laidback atmosphere here lives my favourite Mojito...I wait 11 months to drink this Mojito.. :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pirata Bus also viewed

Sant Ferran de ses Roques, Formentera
Formentera, Balearic Islands
 
Calo de Sant Agusti, Formentera
Formentera, Balearic Islands
 

Been to El Pirata Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pirata Bus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.