We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Canciller Ayala

Save Saved
You added NH Canciller Ayala to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Canciller Ayala
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramon y Cajal, 5, 01007 Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #3 of 26 hotels in Vitoria-Gasteiz
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were unfortunate to arrive in Vitoria-Gasteiz on the eve of festivities "La Blanca" so hotels were mostly full and expensive leaving us with not much choice. So we went for NH Canciller Ayalar as we know that NH usually has a standard that we like. We also used Vitoria as a base to explore the Basque country so it was important for us to have a decent hotel to stay in.

Overall this NH is quite average at best, in comparison to other NH. We were disappointed with the room allocation as we were staying for more than one night yet we were given a room chosen without consideration. Not only were the room size very small but our only windows were facing a discotheque. Throughout our entire stay the quality of the sleep was bad as noises refused to die down until 3-4 am in the morning (even later hours still for the actual festivities).

The hotel's parking price is certainly an issue. It's very expensive considering that Vitoria isn't a city which is very much visited as Barcelona, Madrid, Bilbao or Sevilla. However since we didn't like the other parking lots so we accepted it as it is. Moreover, the parking is limited and can not be reserved, meaning regardless of whether you are already a guest or not the hotel makes no attempt to differentiate you from other guests who happened to pop by for a wedding in the hotel. Also the hotel's reception is ready to tell you to go park somewhere else even if there's a parking space empty (we checked out of curiosity once we left our car elsewhere). It's a shame really for services to be this disinterested in clients who are staying for the long haul.
The elevators are also few and as guests started arriving for the weekend, waiting could take a long while.

The best thing about the hotel? well the view of the park in front. Rooms with views towards this lush green garden would be happy to wake up to it. The location is excellent as it is only a short pleasant (never creepy) 5-10 minutes stroll into city center. It is also very near to museums.

So the verdict is this: if you have a better option, you can bypass this. If you don't, it's tolerable. Just make sure you got the room facing the street Ramon y Cajal (better than to the side alley).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    190
    66
    15
    12
See reviews for
56
178
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
München
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Recently I had dinner in this hotel restaurant and I have to say that especially the ENGLISH service from a waitress was very good and her service was impeccable.
That is for me a rare experience in Spain even in good restaurants.
The next time I go to Vitoria I am sure to visit that restaurant again to get another nice English meal description and a professional service from that waitress.
Just a pity she is the only one.............-

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma - Italia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The hotel is very clean, we had a room on the top floor with a small balcony and a great view. Modern furniture and bathroom with window. No carpet, real wooden floor(noisy but charming). The major downside was that the walls are very thin so you must bring earplugs or hope to have quiet neighbours. I didn't have any of them. Breakfast was too expensive for us, but the nearby bar opens only at 9, so for an early breakfast you have to walk towards plaza de la virgen blanca where a lot of bars open at around 8. We paid about 50 euros per night and that was good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We first stayed in this hotel in 1974 - yes, 37 years' ago when Spain was another country. NH Canciller Ayala was good all those years' ago but it is even better in 2011.

The location, just on the edge of the historic centre, is perfect, the rooms are really well appointed and the restaurant is excellent. The parking is on the premises.

I recommend this hotel unreservedly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel. Reasonable price for an okay sized room. Clean modern, standard NH decor.

I like the location of this hotel a lot. Across the road from a lovely park, which you walk through to get to the small compact city centre and all the attractions.

One negative: For the second year I was unable to park at the hotel and instead had to park a short five minute walk away from the hotel in the underground Cathedral carpark. The first year, I had a roof box on the car and was too tall to get into the garage, this year the car park was full.

Room Tip: Some rooms have baths, some just have a shower. We had two rooms next to each other - one with a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

A friend booked this hotel, and I was very happy with the choice. Very friendly, helpful staff, and the room was perfect for my needs. Extremely comfortable bed, strong a/c, nice toilitries, and a nice breakfast. If I were to return to Vitoria, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Will do this review in spanish and english. En español y en ingles.

First let me say that my family is from Vitoria and I know the area well, this is in fact the first time that I stay at a hotel and not at our home there. The hotel is in a perfect location, with the Florida park right in front of you and essentially in the middle of Vitoria. We were there during the city festival and had excellent views of the fireworks at night, the room looked towards the back of the property and was at the top floor so had no issues with noise. The main problem was that the rooms are fairly small, even for european standards and the AC barely cooled off the room, I think they turned it off at night. It definitely didn't blow cool air at night and I refuse to leave the windows wide open at night (bats). The breakfast was included and was very good. The hotel has parking in it's basement and we were lucky in finding a spot when we arrived, but don't be surprised if you don't, the hotel will direct you to public parking not too far from the hotel. Overall a good value for money.

El hotel no esta mal, el mayor problema que tuvimos es que el aire acondicionado no enfriaba por las noches, la localizacion es excelente. Los cuartos no son muy grandes pero para quedarse unos pocos dias no estan mal. El desayuno estilo buffet fue siempre muy bueno. Tiene estacionamiento en el sotano pero no muchas plazas, si esta lleno el hotel te dirige a un estacionamiento publico que no esta muy lejos. Nos quedamos duarante las fiestas de la Blanca y no tuvimos problemas con ruido en la habitacion, pero daba hacia la parte de atras, los fuegos artificiales a las 22h se ven perfectamente desde la habitacion. En fiestas este es el hotel que los toreros utilizan asi que todos los dias a eso de las 17h se les veia salir.

Room Tip: Good views rooms in back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Canciller Ayala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Canciller Ayala

Address: Ramon y Cajal, 5, 01007 Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Alava Province > Vitoria-Gasteiz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vitoria-Gasteiz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vitoria-Gasteiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Canciller Ayala 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your NH Canciller Ayala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Vitoria Gasteiz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Canciller Ayala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.